BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Timeless Topic

I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages o...
I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages of the Civil War are still present in the black community. Two separate communities, one black and one white, have lives that intertwine. And yet, fear is still the biggest obstacle to overcome as the country moves into the 20th century.

If you like historical novels, you will like this look into racial issues in the Deep South!

posted by Granny_book_lover on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WHO'S TRIAL???

I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic nove...
I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic novel about the south in the early 1900's, a lynching, segregation, and the Ku Klux Clan. I would really like it if Patterson would give over some of his ideas completely to his co-authors and let them run with it, while he concentrates on what made him so famous in the first place - ALEX CROSS. The few times he has chosen to use past history that needs reseach the results always seem to fall short and bring down the overall value of the novels. Read this one if you like most of Patterson's books, but be warned it is not great, merely good.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHO'S TRIAL???

    I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic novel about the south in the early 1900's, a lynching, segregation, and the Ku Klux Clan. I would really like it if Patterson would give over some of his ideas completely to his co-authors and let them run with it, while he concentrates on what made him so famous in the first place - ALEX CROSS. The few times he has chosen to use past history that needs reseach the results always seem to fall short and bring down the overall value of the novels. Read this one if you like most of Patterson's books, but be warned it is not great, merely good.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Alex Cross's Trial

    As much as I love James Patterson books and the Alex Cross series this was not one of my favorites. I also love history/genealogy but didn't expect this to be the one of those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I love James Patterson and if he had not stated that the book wa

    I love James Patterson and if he had not stated that the book was bein written by Alex Cross, I would have thrown out my second book, since I have become a avid reader. I have to remind myself that that nasty N word just will not go away. It's so bad that it's now consider slang. I liked this book as it gave us history and showed us that even back then the Presidents used any means nescessary to get re-elected. I was proud of Mr Corbett as he stood his ground in the end. I'm not sure why this would be part of the Alex Cross's series except it was one of this relatives. This should have been a seperate book. I agree the old James Patterson's didn't put books out so fast and now it seems to be about making money. He is still the most diversed Author out there. I guess if I start to notice the N word in his book thus follows, then I will have to stop purchasing his books, which would be a shame as I truly love this author. I will not stand by and watch us go backwards in history. The N word is not acceptable and I don't care who uses it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Completely Confused!!!!!

    I have been reading though Alex Cross series and this book sticks out like a sore thumb. The book itself was not bad but it seems to me that maybe a deadline needed to be met and a couple of names was changed and submitted in as an Alex Cross book. The book makes no sense at all to the series. I'm sorry to say because I fell in love with all of James Patterson books. So please stay focused thats how you will keep me buying your books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Mission not accomplished

    An interesting story about the violence and intimidation used against blacks in the early 20th century. A envoy and friend of Predident Theodore Roosevelt,a lawyer as well, is sent back to his home town in Mississippi to investigate the lynchings in rural areas and report to the president who is responsible. The story is long and involves many characters and has a somewhat plausable ending, but knowing the history of the south it certainly wasn't a "happily ever after" ending for african americans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good story...interesting read

    This was a good read but not one of Patterson's best. I thought at time I had accidently picked up a John Grishman book. It does offer a unique insight in the events that would have gone on in a small southern town during a time of great social unrest. All in all, I enjoyed the book but this won't be a multiple time read like so many other Patterson books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    good book

    this was a good book, but at times it was very hard to read. Sad to know that in our American history things like this happend. I am not really sure why this was an Alex Cross book. I don't think that this was needed for this series. This book has some very graphic details that are not like James Patterson writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Okay

    At first i was a lil disappointed being that the book wasn't about Alex cross but as i read on it was a great book and it made u think about that part of our history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommend it

    If you like reading about things from the past (History) this book takes you back to what the climate was like in the early 1900's. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, this was my first James Patterson ( Alex Cross series ) book I have read. I am definitely going to read some more books from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Disappointing

    James Patterson is one of my favorite authors and Alex Cross is one of my favorite characters. However, I was very disappointed in how pointless this book was. The concept of the story was totally unrelated to the Alex Cross character as we know it. This was just another story about the mistreatment of African Americans in the 1800s. I always look forward to James Patterson's books and always buy them the day they are released. I am looking forward to the next Alex Cross book in hopes that it returns to the previous format!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Just okay

    When I went into Barnes and Noble and saw this book I brought it. I was expecting the book to be in Alex's voice but I didn't get any of that from the book. The story was good and I was kept interested but if James Patterson name wasn't on the cover I wouldn't even know he wrote it. The end of the book was interesting and I was never expecting people he knew to be involved with lynching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Not an Alex Cross novel

    I bought the book the minute I saw it was an Alex Cross story. My only problem with the book was that it was not Alex Cross's character. It takes place 100 or so years before Alex Cross's time. The story was worthy of James Patterson's name, but don't dangle a character's name and then not use him or her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    A slow start and slower finish...

    This was one of Patterson's least exciting books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK, not the best he's ever written.

    Very different from what Patterson has written before. An interesting story and it held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Not one of his best books

    Not one of his best books. A little slow. Not what I expected. Wouldn't have read it if it wasn't a James Paterson book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    NOT AN ALEX CROSS BOOK

    This was disappointing. It was not an Alex Cross book. I guess it was about his ancestors. The book was good. Held my attention, but I really wanted an Alex Cross book. Dont' think I will be reading his next book "King Tut"!! Please bring back the old James Patterson writings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I have read all of James Patterson's books and especially look forward to the Alex Cross series. Enjoyed this book. Especially liked the setting of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great cover

    We have seen a lot from these stories...the writing is Patterson yet the story is similar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5