BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Timeless Topic

I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages o...
I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages of the Civil War are still present in the black community. Two separate communities, one black and one white, have lives that intertwine. And yet, fear is still the biggest obstacle to overcome as the country moves into the 20th century.

If you like historical novels, you will like this look into racial issues in the Deep South!

posted by Granny_book_lover on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WHO'S TRIAL???

I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic nove...
I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic novel about the south in the early 1900's, a lynching, segregation, and the Ku Klux Clan. I would really like it if Patterson would give over some of his ideas completely to his co-authors and let them run with it, while he concentrates on what made him so famous in the first place - ALEX CROSS. The few times he has chosen to use past history that needs reseach the results always seem to fall short and bring down the overall value of the novels. Read this one if you like most of Patterson's books, but be warned it is not great, merely good.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Can't Put Patterson Down No Matter What He writes

    Being so thoroughly enamoured of Alex Cross, I was sceptical about truly enjoying members of the Cross family in another era, another setting as well, and still getting the thrill ride I so enjoy in Patterson's books. Not to worry. He's got it covered. Go back to the turn of the 20th Century and the deeply bigoted, deep south. Add a colorful touch of the larger than life Teddy Roosevelt, and a young impassioned humanist Harvard law graduate, to the racial pot boiling in small southern town, and you have recipe for terror, suspence, heroism, sorrow, and hope. Patterson has another central character who could be the motivation for a series of great stories that unfold around the old being pulled kicking and screaming into the 20th century.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Thought Provoking

    I have read all of Alex Cross Books. This was unexpected. I think the subject matter is relevant today. I love pattersons writing style.Of all of the Alex Cross books this will stay with me the longest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME - need to read

    one of the best Alex Cross books to date - the only thing is that there are many loose ends at the finish

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    alex cross's trial

    Excellent reading, Patterson is without a doubt one of the best out there.
    I would recomend the entire series for any one who enjoys a good book, just start reading and try to put it down. Waitng on the next Patterson book to be printed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    highly recommended

    This was a much different book than most of Patterson's books but it was really good. Sad that we have to be reminded that these things really happened. But it's good to be reminded that we have hero's in all walks of life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!! A great read.

    Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome book loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Best

    I love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This book is one of my favorite books form James Patterson. The

    This book is one of my favorite books form James Patterson. The books is a story told to one of James Patterson’s characters detective Alex cross. The story follows his great uncles struggle when the Ku Klux Klan was prominent and racism was everywhere. To be honest the book doesn’t feel like a James Patterson book. What I liked about the book was the fact that it showed a side of people that we normally ignore which is the cruel and evil side where man would do unspeakable things over such a small thing as skin color to his fellow man. Patterson’s writing in this book doesn’t feel the same as his normal books but what makes this book excellent is that fat that when you finish reading it you think about what happened because it’s about what . It follows Ben Corbett a lawyer who is tasked with investigating the reports of lynching’s in his hometown of Eudora, Mississippi by President Roosevelt. In Eudora ben meets Abraham cross and the events of the story to me shows that there has been more than one great person in his family. Also living in the south this pained a gruesome image of what could have happened right by my on home years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    EXCELLENT! I feel I know the Cross family as if it were my own.

    EXCELLENT! I feel I know the Cross family as if it were my own. Nana is a favorite character in the series. I was pleased to learn more history and family member is the Cross family tree. I first "read" this book on tape while driving long distance. It was so engrossing, it made traveling really short and pleasant. Couldn't wait to get back in the car to learn more about the Cross family and it's history that is also our country's history. I passed the audiobook onto friends. Now I'm buying it for my nook so I can read it again whenever I want.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    BIOS

    POST BIOS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Great Cross Historical Novel

    Loved this book, real page turner. A different kind of story, but in the hands of a master story teller, differenr is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    awesome

    Rivoting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Every ALex Cross series just adds to the lifelong storyline for Alex Cross. Just love every one of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Excellent from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Great book!

    This is a great book with a lot of history and insite into the 'old' south, but with easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    I would recommend it to anybody who loves history of the civil war era.

    I loved the book. It have very few boring parts and was able to show the true actions of the South after the Civil war. This book gives us an account of the treatment of colored people and is able to put us in the character's shoes. Anybody who loves history will love this book. Both James Patterson and Pichard Dilallo are great authors and I hope to read more of their books. This book really makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    positive

    Enjoyable although I felt the characters could have been developed more. Would read the next one though, very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ben Corbett's been asked to investigate the out of control lynchings in his hometown.

    From his grandmother, Alex Cross heard the story of his great-uncle Abraham and his struggles for survival in the era of the Ku Klux Klan. Now, Alex passes the family tale along to his own children in a book he's written - a novel called Trial.

    A lawyer in the early - 1900's Washington, D.C., Ben Corbett fights against oppression and racism - and risks his family and his life in the process. When President Theodore Roosevelt asks him to return to his hometown to investigate rumors of the resurgence of the Ku Klux Klan there, he cannot refuse.

    In Eudora, Mississippi, Ben meets the wise Abraham Cross and his beautiful granddaughter, Moody. With their help, Ben discovers that lynchings have become commonplace. He vows to break the reign of terror - but the truth of who is really behind the killings may break his heart. Written in the fearless voice of Detective Alex Cross, Alex Cross's Trial is a gripping story of murder, love, and bravery. (excerpt back cover).

    My Review:

    "Let her hang until she's dead!"

    "Take her out and hang her now! I'll do it myself!"

    Bam! Bam! Bam!

    Judge Otis L. Warren wielded his gavel with such fury I thought he might smash a hole in the top of his bench.

    "Quiet in the court!" the judge shouted. "Settle down, or by God I will hold every last one of you sons of ******* in contempt."

    Bam! Bam! Bam!

    It was no use. Warren's courtroom was overflowing with disgruntled white citizens who wanted nothing more than to see my client hang. Two of them on the left side began a chant that was soon taken up by the others:

    We don't care where. We don't care how.
    We just wanna hang Gracie Johnson now! (page 3).

    Alix Cross's Trial by James Patterson and Richard Dilallo is a heart moving story of a white prosecutor who defends the rights of the poor and oppressed within the heartland of Washington. Most of his clients are colored since no one else by Ben Corbett will take their case.

    When Ben is asked by the President to investigate the reports of out of control lynchings in Ben's hometown, its not all at the homecoming he would ever dream of. Ben once more finds himself in the heat of battle with the towns prejudged white citizens who feel that trials only waste time when lynching is the best for the convicted.

    What Ben doesn't realize is that he is about to fall victim himself in a town that no longer holds any respect for a man willing to defend the colored people in Quarters.

    I found this book wonderful and profound in the fact that one man was willing to stand up for his beliefs in what is just and right no matter what it would cost him in the end. Ben Corbett's character is truly believable and I found myself standing in his shoes wondering just where the deceit in the town would end. I rate this a 10 out of 10 and would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves story about defending the underdogs in any situation. This book is a reminder of the story of To Kill a Mockingbird in a more present day format.

    I received this book, compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my review. This book is available in HardCover, Paperback, eBook and Audiobook formats!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another outstanding book by James Patterson

    I am an avid reader of all of James Patterson's books. This one like all the others does not disappoint. It's a little different than James' usual writing. This time Alex Cross is telling the story. But it is still the true James Patterson. I recommend any of James Patterson's books. He has written books for children, teens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8