Customer Reviews for

Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 486 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Timeless Topic

I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages o...
I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages of the Civil War are still present in the black community. Two separate communities, one black and one white, have lives that intertwine. And yet, fear is still the biggest obstacle to overcome as the country moves into the 20th century.

If you like historical novels, you will like this look into racial issues in the Deep South!

posted by Granny_book_lover on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WHO'S TRIAL???

I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic nove...
I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic novel about the south in the early 1900's, a lynching, segregation, and the Ku Klux Clan. I would really like it if Patterson would give over some of his ideas completely to his co-authors and let them run with it, while he concentrates on what made him so famous in the first place - ALEX CROSS. The few times he has chosen to use past history that needs reseach the results always seem to fall short and bring down the overall value of the novels. Read this one if you like most of Patterson's books, but be warned it is not great, merely good.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Timeless Topic

    I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

    This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages of the Civil War are still present in the black community. Two separate communities, one black and one white, have lives that intertwine. And yet, fear is still the biggest obstacle to overcome as the country moves into the 20th century.

    If you like historical novels, you will like this look into racial issues in the Deep South!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Wonderful Deviation!

    I was sceptical of a novel in the Alex Cross series that wasn't following our usual protaganist. This was a pleasant surprise, however, which really drew me in and had me just as commited as any other. Highly recommend this one, either as part of the series or a stand alone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Very different

    Not in line with the current series, so wondering if it will have something to do with upcoming books in the series. Good book and worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Different

    I read almost everything that James Patterson publishes, this book is a little different in the cast of characters. Just started to read, so I cannot give a total review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    :)

    Hi

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting tangent to the Cross saga

    Now we understand Nana a bit more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    Jacket Cover Error

    I noticed the minute I read "A PreFace to Trial" that the jacket cover refers to Moody as Abraham's "beautiful daughter" but the preface refers to Abraham as her grandfather. Who did the review & editing for this book, certainly not James Patterson himself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Recommended -- A good diversion from Patterson

    This is unlike any of Patterson's other books. It is a story that could well have been true about the roots of the civil rights movement, and the "trial" involves Alex Cross's great-grandfather.
    A little slow at the start, but the story becomes riveting because of Patterson's masterful character building. Gives the reader a chance to see what it may have been like to be in the midst of the unrest between whites and blacks in the South in those times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Alex Cross does it again.

    I felt that this book reminded me we have a ways to go to be equal under many laws. It kept my attention and I thought it was different from many of his others. I have enjoyed all of the Alex Cross books and look forward to his next one coming out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Love it

    Enjoying it a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A Different Look

    Very good book. It's different than any of the other Cross books, that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Not actually part of the series. Still a good read

    I have been reading the Alex Cross series and was disappointed that this book is not actually part of the series but is presented as a book that Alex has written about some of his family history. I don't want to give away any of the story but as someone who has read the earlier books in the series I enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Gripping History, NOT Alex Cross Mystery

    Set in 1906, this book presents an interesting perspective on turn-of-the-century life and social mores and tells a well-written, attention-holding story. Do not, however, expect a classic whodunit or investigative thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    well written timely historical thriller

    His grandmother used to tell Alex Cross when he was a child the heroic tale of his great uncle Abraham who battled against the terrorism of the Ku Klux Klan in the first decade of the twentieth century in Mississippi. Now Alex as a father tells the same story to his children, but not as an oral saga, but as a novel Trial.

    In Washington D.C., Ben Corbett is a crusading attorney fighting in court against the suppression of freedom. President Teddy Roosevelt asks Ben to return to his hometown of Eudora, Mississippi to investigate rumors that the Ku Klux Klan has returned with a fiery vengeance. When Ben meets Abraham Cross and his granddaughter Moody, he asks for their help on achieving his presidential assignment. They introduce him to the terror side of Southern living for people of color with the myriad of burnings and lynching Blacks suffer with. Already considered a traitor by the people he grew up with including his father for his passionate defense of Blacks and other suppressed people, Ben vows to end the terror.

    This is a well written timely historical thriller that will remind readers America still has a cross to bear as violent intolerance towards others still remains. The title is misleading on two fronts as Alex has a cameo appearance and Ben is much more the hero than Abraham. Still though no classic Cross or Women's Murder Club detecting, fans of early twentieth century thrillers will enjoy this early twentieth century Mississippi Burning.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    HEARTBREAKING STORY OF INJUSTICE AND SURVIVIAL!

    ALEX CROSS'S TRIAL by James Patterson & Richard Dilallo is a intriguing thriller set in 1900 Eudora, Mississippi. It has betrayal, racism, lynchings, friendships, trust, prejudices, and bravery. When Ben Corbitt, an attorney from Washington, DC, is sent to his hometown by the president to investigate the alleged lynching and KKK involvement he encounters betrayal, horrible discoveries, new friendships, near death and survival. He also encounters the trust and friendship of Abraham Cross and his granddaughter, Moody. This is a compelling, heartbreaking, fast paced, page turner story. It will pull you into the story and engulf you, you will see the injustice of the time. This is a story of survival of the African American family and the hardships they endure in the South. It is about the trial of some of the KKK that was involved in the death's of three men, and the injustice that occurred with that trial.
    I would recommend this book. I must warn you it is heartbreaking, but also a part of our history. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Grand Central Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    A nice perspective on Alex Cross' life

    I have always enjoyed Alex Cross as a character. Naturally, when I learned there was a new book out, I jumped on the opportunity to read it. Alex Cross really isn't "in" the book. Instead, the story takes you back to some family history during the time of the KKK in the deep south. It's a good story and kept my interest throughout.

    If you enjoyed "A Time to Kill" and "To Kill a Mockingbird" you will likely enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Great read about racism in the South.

    Great read about racism in the South.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Listening to your history is often difficult

    As a descendant of southern blacks, I found the first CD hard to get through then each CD that followed pulled me in deeper and deeper. My emotional reactions were intense. I recommend the CD version, it is very well orated, well acted, well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    A look at history

    Another good book by Patterson. This is a snapshot into our past that we don't like to look at. I would have liked a bit more meat to this book, to brin gmore of the past to life. I would like to see more written about this time period in a factual manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical Alex Cross Book

    This book is an interesting look back at a sad time in our history but it is not your typical Alex Cross book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6