Customer Reviews for

The Alexander Cipher

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff!

One of a handful of book that i picked up in paperback @ wal-mart. I wasn't dissapointed. Like one of the other reviews here, i have a fascination for archaeology related stories. Thanks for a good book!

posted by 3484242 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slightly Different for the Genre

I liked the book. It has different subject matter from the usual Judaeo-Christian conspiracy archaeological thrillers, which in itself is refreshing. The characters are, for the most part, more everyday people rather than supermen and women. People get hurt and tired. ...
I liked the book. It has different subject matter from the usual Judaeo-Christian conspiracy archaeological thrillers, which in itself is refreshing. The characters are, for the most part, more everyday people rather than supermen and women. People get hurt and tired. Things break. Motives are, for the most part, believable. The author's writing style is clear, wry, and enjoyable. It's a great book for a rainy afternoon or two, and would make a decent movie.

posted by JediBoss on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Good stuff!

    One of a handful of book that i picked up in paperback @ wal-mart. I wasn't dissapointed. Like one of the other reviews here, i have a fascination for archaeology related stories. Thanks for a good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Turned into a great read

    I was a little concerned when I first started reading this book that I wouldn't like it--it seemed to start a bit slowly for me, but I am happy I stuck with it. I was soon immersed in the story. The plot moves the action ahead and kept me interested. The characters were well rounded and I cared about them. The setting of the story in Egypt fascinated me, especially the history of Alexander. I actually wanted to visit the area after reading the story. So I highly recommend this book, I almost gave it a "5". I plan on reading more by Will Adams.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Fast paced

    Totally enjoyed this book both from historical perspective as well as plot.

    Gives a good look at how people lived in olden times.

    Would recommend to anyone interested in archeology.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Fun!

    A fun adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review by www.cymlowell.blogspot.com

    Will Adams creates a new thriller character destined to be a long-running series of best sellers. Daniel Knox is a knock-around archaeologist in Egypt with a history of interesting relationships with his brethren and sponsors.

    The supervisor of a construction project in Alexandria stumbles onto a potential site of the final resting place of Alexander the Great, whose body was coveted as a justification for power by his successors in Egypt, the Ptolemys, Alexander's native Macedonians.

    The race begins in the fashion of an Indiana Jones movie. Knox is pursued by a bad guy for saving a young girl from being raped by the tyrant. Along the way, there is a budding love affair with a woman who blamed Knox for the odd death of her archaeologist father, an evil female colleague who seems easily seduced by lovers and sources of money, a little girl desperately in need of a bone marrow transplant, rich Macedonian nationalists intent on using Alexander's body as the means, after more than 2,000 years, of fomenting revolution to establish a separate Macedonia out of Greece and Balkan states.

    The Alexander Cipher beautifully blends the history of Alexander and his successors into an entertaining, rip-roaring, action-packed, page-turning adventure. The past of Daniel also will not remain there, as the female protagonist in the story, Gillie, moves from a hatred attributable to the strange death of her father to something more beautiful.

    This is an excellent, well-crafted story. It cries out for a sequel in the adventures of Daniel Knox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Indiana Jones & Lara Croft

    I really enjoyed this book. The search for Alexander the Great's tomb was a great topic. The writer infuses history with mystery, bad guys, a romantic interest and other interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1