Customer Reviews for

Alexander Hamilton

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    A virtual time machine

    One of the best biographies I have ever read. It takes the reader back in time and surrounds you with the personalities and issues of the time and the formation of the United States in its infancy. There are few men in US history with the stature of Alexander Hamilton and his creative genius that still resounds today. A man with many faults, he was still able to rise above the withering political attacks to hammer out a constitution and Treasury Department that definitely enhanced his legacy and our nation.

    Nevadaschwartz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tremendous

    History and America in general have not given this great man the credit he deserves. We should have a national holiday celebrating his birth. He was the "MAN"..It becomes crystal clear why Hamilton and Washington worked so well together. The volume of words that Hamilton put on paper in a life to short is astounding. I recommend to all interested in early American history to read everything Alexander Hamilton ever wrote. Thank you Ron Chernow for this well though out and beautifully written masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Hamilton brought alive

    I have read biographies on all the Founding Fathers but none so good as this one. It is full of insights and stories, not just about Hamilton, but the rest of his compatriots as well. We see the greatness of Washington and the cowardice of Jefferson. The fight between Federalists and Republicans is brought vividly to life. Most of all, however, we see the genius and vulnerability of Hamilton. We get to feel his frustrations and pain and glimpse at his towering genius. I have not stopped thinking about this book in the two weeks since I finished it. I found myself staring at his image on the book's cover, amazed at what I had just read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Fascinating historical account of the most brilliant (if not perfect) Alexander hamilton

    Enjoyed it so much went back to reading it a second time as there was so much I could not remember of his younger life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    An Underappreciated American Hero

    One of those remarkable books that sends the reader back to the library wanting to know more about the principal players of the era. The countless hours of research and sequencing that went into study are worth five stars alone. Mr. Chernow's smooth style and ability to frame events for their historic merit makes every chapter an adventure. I had the privilege of reading A. Hamilton during the 2008 party conventions. The interaction of events more than 200 years ago with those of today had me doing doubletakes between the TV and the book. An outstanding job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    A Good Book On The Life Of Alexander Hamilton

    I Really enjoyed this book. Ron Chernow I would like to shake your hand because this book was fun and excellent from first page to last. He gives us a great book on the life of Alexander Hamilton. His Life as he aided George Washinton and was U.S Treasurer and was one of our great Founding Fathers. This is a pretty thick book and pretty long but it is realy interesting and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    A splendid rendering of Hamilton's life, achievements, and tribulations.

    My interest in Hamilton originated when first seeing his portrait on the front of the ten dollar bill made an indelible impression on me as a young child. As Chernow describes in his book, Hamilton's portraits generally exude confidence, self-assurance, as well as omniscience, and these were the qualities that triggered my curiosity in this founding father. Reading Chernow's biography, I find that Hamilton's talents were unparalleled even among the most distinguished of the founder fathers and superbly well regarded and admired by those who shared his views and judged him objectively, most notably George Washington. Hamilton's courage during the Revolution, unshakable honor and integrity, unrelenting effort to advance the republican government, and sheer brilliance in both ideas and managerial superiority make him a man with few matched peers. As the author notes in the book, Hamilton's footprints in the formation of the US government qualify him uniquely as one of the most influential figures in US history and arguably make him the founder of the US government. However, for all his brilliance and unmatched fervor for the new republic, Hamilton was not without fatal flaws. His lapses of judgment gave those who sought to discredit him plenty of ammunition and marred his accomplishments and undoubtedly helped to procure Hamilton's relative obscurity in US history. As is often the case, judgments rendered on historical figures are not constant and change with time, renewed interests, and additional narrative accounts 'i.e. this biography.' For me, Hamilton's exemplary devotion to the nascent republican government was so pure and rare that he was a true servant to the public in every way. I wish that through new reviews of Hamilton's life such as this biography by Chernow, more people will come to learn about the life of an extraordinary human being whose prodigious talents and assiduousness propelled him to personal heights and triumphs and whose personal insecurities, fueled by a dogged conviction to uphold his honor as all costs, also brought his nadir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Masterful

    Following in the steps of McCullough and Ellis, Chernow conducts a masterpiece of language and history. Though in my opinion just a small notch below McCullough (the ultimate historical biographer), Chernow writes as if it were literature and at the same time smacks you in the face with neverending, mind boggling facts and arguments. Altogether a wonderful biographer of an often underestimated Founding Father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Wonderfully Written

    I just finished this book. WOW! I couldnt put it down and it made me realize the importance of Hamilton in forming our country. Masterfully written...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    A very good read

    I found this book to be very interesting to say the least. All aspects of the book were written beautifully and full of detail, the vocabulary was very advanced. I was most interested in the childhood and early life of Hamilton in Nevis as well as in early New York. The special attention paid to the Political climate of the time has really inversed me in early American politics. I was most destressed when Hamilton, even though he was being blackmailed, continued to have his affair with Maria Reynolds. However, you can't help respecting a man who help shaped the great nation we now call the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Founder of the US Treasury

    He founded the most important government instition to every president. There is a reason the White House is next to the Treasury building in Washington DC. He lived an interesting life and was a lifelong abolisionist. Should have been elected to higher office but played an important role never the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Breathtaking!

    I am fascinated by Early American History and Ron Chernow has done all of us a wonderful favor in producing an exhaustively researched account of one of the most important figures in our history. This is a must read for anyone having interest in researching our founding fathers. While detailed, there isn't any part that I could imagine being left out. This book destroys any notion that there was not considerable disagreement between our founding fathers about the intrepretation of the constitution and establishment of the foundations of our government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Two Lives

    Chernow shines the light on a life that is an incredible story. I have been listening to the abridged CD-pack and I have been hanging on every word, often rewinding to make sure I miss no word. I am close to finishing the last CD and the tears have welled up. Hamilton's life is such the yin and the yang, the ebb and the flow. Chernow does such a great job in showing both sides of the coin. I knew Hamilton, the man, was great, but had no idea just how great he was at his greatest. My only personal wish is that Chernow could have told the last half of Mr. Hamilton's life first, then finished up with his resignation from the Treasury, just so my lasting memories would be of his greatness....(In my history studies, I had been exposed only to the greatness.) However, Chernow told it the only way he could have. Now that his full life has been exposed, I cannot put his humanity 'back into the bottle.' Yet, Hamilton will still always be my favorite founding father, and Chernow is a name that I will always seek out. Chernow's Alexander Hamilton has brought out my love of history and my quest for knowledge about the turbulent seas sailed by our early democracy experiment. It is never too late to start catching up. Now on to John Adams' biography...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    The Complete Story of the Most Underappreciated Founding Father

    This book is brilliant. It brings to light Alexander Hamilton's critical role during this nation's formative years. At the same time, Chernow does a spectacular job examining the many shortcomings and paradoxes of this great man- ranging from several questionable personal alliances to a baffling extra marital affair. Hamilton was a dedicated public servant with a work ethic and intellect matched by only a few throughout history. Alexander Hamilton was both a great visionary as well as a human being who could not escape his insecurities. This book is a great read and a fascinating character examination of the most controversial-yet perhaps the most important next to George Washington- political figure of the late 18th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Great Read

    This was an excellent book. As other readers say, 'I never knew anything about Alexander Hamilton before.' It also has lots of new words, so unless you have a fantastic vocabulary, keep a dictionary close at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Excellent! A must read for history buffs!

    I read a lot of American history and yet this book told me tons that I never knew about Alexander Hamilton. Like everyone, he was far from perfect but he was a great patriot. Rising from humble beginnings in the West Indies, he was George Washington's right-hand man for most of the Revolutionary War. He was also Washington's most important and influential Cabinet member. Amazing descriptions of how he set up the US Treasury Dept. and got the American economy on a stable footing. Terrific book. Rather long (over 700 pages) but fascinating reading for people who really love American history. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    WOW!

    Why didn't I learn about this guy in school. Hamilton is probably the most underrated founding father, while I was left feeling Jefferson was the most overrated. Hamilton would have been a great president. A great WHAT IF in American History. I couldn't help but wonder if there would have been a U.S. if it weren't for Hamilton. Our schools need to teach more about Alexander Hamilton. It would a travesty if he is forgotten more then he is now. I hope he stays on the Ten Dollar Bill for a long long time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    'The' book to buy on Hamilton

    I thoroughly enjoyed Chernow's extensive biography of Hamilton. My knowledge of Hamilton was limited to the genius who shaped the financial stability of our country, and started the first political party of the new republic. This was essentially true, but Chernow brings the flesh and blood Hamilton to life. We learn about Hamilton's harsh upbringing in the Caribbean and the seeds of his distaste for unchecked democracy. Hamilton advocated the use of national credit (deficit spending) to grow the influence and power of the new nation, as the practice had yielded England its preeminent role in the world. Hamilton didn't get to have the popular role that Jefferson was slated to have in history, the vigilant defender of democracy and individual liberty. Nevertheless, Hamilton's vision of America's future was more accurate than any of the founding fathers save perhaps Franklin. Chernow provides plenty of background information to allow you to see his subject in the time in which he lived. I definitely recommend this book as an enjoyable and insightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Wish I learned this in grade school

    All I knew before picking up this book, was that he was in a duel, and I wasn't too sure if he was killed. That is the sum total of what I learned in the school system of one of the greatest men in history. What a shame everyone cannot read about this man and the contributions he made to shape this country. This is a true patriot who was tireless in pursuing a vision of galvanizing the states. Chernow is to be complimented on a fine work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Alexander Hamilton

    Mr. Chernow has produced a treasure for those with the fortitude to plow through its 760 pages. In addition to learning of Hamilton's genius, I was captivated by Jefferson's negatives. He ran up tremendous debts just to acquire things for his home and offices. His indebtedness made it too difficult to free any slaves. He was WRONG as to the future he saw for the country (yeoman farmers) and Hamilton was RIGHT. He exhibited cowardice during the war and was never in the military whereas Hamilton was quite heroic. He always had others, like Madison or Monroe or Callender, do his dirty work in writing sharp critiques of policies and persons he did not like. What a bum!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6