Customer Reviews for

Alexander Hamilton

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Outstanding but long

    An excellent book, full of interesting information on Hamilton and the times. However, it was a bit long.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Recommend

    Magnificently detailed biography about major figure in early American history. I learned many facts and much background that I (a history major!) had not known or appreciated before. The book shows thorough research and is well indexed. Only "fault" might be that there are just a few too many detailed lists of people attending this or that meeting, etc. Well worth while reading for serious students of history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly remommend

    I could hardly put the book down. He was an amazing man. His life was one of total dedication to the American way of life as we now know it. It is right that his portrait be on our ten dollar bill. In my estiamton he ranks among the top five greatest men in America. If you are inclined to read about the America Revolution and its time frame, don't pass up the opportunity to get this book and read it. In our libray system in our state we have the unabridged book on tape of this man. I have listened to it twice. It has twenty nine CD'd. What an amzsing man. Once you have read it you may well feel the way I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chernow gives credit to a least known patriot.

    In my opinion, Ron Chernow's book on Hamilton was a great study into one of the many least known patriots of the Revolutionary War. If the man hadn't died in his dual with Aaron Burr, he probably would have been relegated to the back pages of our history books.
    Once you get into Chernow's book you soon get the sense that he had done a tremendous amount of research into the life of Alexander Hamilton. He covered everything about Hamilton including; his intellectual mind, writings, poor judgment, loving father, creator of the US banking system, a true believer in democracy and the constitution. It's sad in a way to read about Hamilton when you know that he will die in a duel just when he is at the peak of his calling. The book is an easy read and it's not cluttered up with a lot of details. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    A very good read

    I found this book to be very interesting to say the least. All aspects of the book were written beautifully and full of detail, the vocabulary was very advanced. I was most interested in the childhood and early life of Hamilton in Nevis as well as in early New York. The special attention paid to the Political climate of the time has really inversed me in early American politics. I was most destressed when Hamilton, even though he was being blackmailed, continued to have his affair with Maria Reynolds. However, you can't help respecting a man who help shaped the great nation we now call the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Terrific

    Chernow did an excellent job researching this historic figure and keeping bias to a minimum. It's interesting that Hamilton's name rarely comes up when the Founding fathers of our Country are mentioned. Read this book if you enjoy American history and I'm sure you will agree that Hamilton deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as the other fathers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Great Book

    Ron Chernow did a wonderful job of bring Alexander Hamilton to life. The Washington and Hamilton team forged the new government into a workable practical institution from out of the constitutional concept. I agree with the author's assertion that if Washington is the father of the country, Madison the father of the constitution, then Hamilton is the father of the American Government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    Excellent

    This is an excellent portrait of arguably the most important of founding fathers. Hamilton is a rich character study because he is flawed, because he is outlandish, because he is opinionated, and because he is combative. By not placing him in some rarefied air, Chernow does an admirable job of capturing Hamilton as a flawed genius; bestowing upon him well-deserved platitudes for his financial and political accomplishments, while no forgetting to remind us that Hamilton, not unlike the other founders, were not without serious character flaws that plague all politicans -- huburis, overconfidence, and a serious lack of judgment at times (Reynolds and Adams' pamphlets). Chernow's best accomplishment as an author is engendering for the reader an awe for Hamilton's genius and accomplishments. Only the most cynical could not be dumbstruck by how much Hamilton accomplished in a short period, especially given his lack of wealth and prospertiy as a child. Chernow does not hide his own unabashed astonishment for Hamilton's intellectual accomplishments (i.e. Federalist Papers, U.S.' financial system), as well as Hamilton's insatiable appetite for information and knowledge. What was most striking in reading about Hamilton is how he uniquely could operate in both theoretical and practical spheres with equal successes. Finally, Chernow highlights (repeatedly) Hamilton's steadfast abolitionist position, which placed him in stark contrast with the other founders (sans George Washington). Hamilton is well-served by this biography, for it captures his genius, his excesses, his spirit. A rich and textured biography, it is as much about one man, as it is another informative history about the founding period. At the end, Chernow accomplishes his task of capturing Hamilton because this reader felt saddened by Hamilton's demise and the foolish and wanton way he ended his life. The only reason I withhold a five star rating is because at times Chernow's language and points become repetitive, and the book begins to take on an almost textbook-like quality.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Meet the nation's godhead

    Wow. It's amazing that Hamilton wasn't elevated to deity in the 80s. Now, as business is unashamedly the new religion, AND just when people are looking for mentors and guidance and affirmation, this book comes along as reassurance for the well-moneyed class. Regardless, I enjoyed it as fascinating read. For a book that breaks new ground in biography and human examination, may I suggest you check out Peter Hillary's in The Ghost Country which the respected Sydney Morning Herald recently described as ``a superb dialogue on human frailty.'' Provides a nice balance and contrast to the Hamilton study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2