Customer Reviews for

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A great book for children and adults alike!!!!!!!!!!!!

I bought this book for my granddaughters, and it had also been a favorite of my daughters as they were growing up. It is always nice to know that other people are having a "terrible, horrible, no good, very bad" day, once in a while. It does not dwell on the negative,...
I bought this book for my granddaughters, and it had also been a favorite of my daughters as they were growing up. It is always nice to know that other people are having a "terrible, horrible, no good, very bad" day, once in a while. It does not dwell on the negative, and is very realistic, making it a good balance for children and adults both.
As an adult, one day at work, we were all having a challenging time, and the next day, this book mysteriously appeared, and we all re-read it, and laughed about our previous day.
I highly recommend this.

posted by idahoreader on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Sends an awful message

It should have been called Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Attitude. It was awful. I kept waiting for the mother to say something about his own negativity causing most of the problems he had, but it didn't happen. At the end of the book the lesso...
It should have been called Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Attitude. It was awful. I kept waiting for the mother to say something about his own negativity causing most of the problems he had, but it didn't happen. At the end of the book the lesson turned out to be, 'some days are just like that.' No mention of accepting the consequenses of his actions at all. The book was just whiney whiney, whiney! I read it with interest because I heard alot of good things about the book in my education classes in college. But now that I've read it I can't find a single good thing to say about the book. It was just so negative. Not fun to read. No good lessons or morals. Not at all interesting. I guess I'm just not the type of person who likes to hear someone complain on and on, without accepting responsibility for their own actions. My three year old son picked up on it, though, and said, 'he's not being a very nice boy.' Hah. That's an understatement. LOL. But I'm glad he was able to see it.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book for children and adults alike!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I bought this book for my granddaughters, and it had also been a favorite of my daughters as they were growing up. It is always nice to know that other people are having a "terrible, horrible, no good, very bad" day, once in a while. It does not dwell on the negative, and is very realistic, making it a good balance for children and adults both.
    As an adult, one day at work, we were all having a challenging time, and the next day, this book mysteriously appeared, and we all re-read it, and laughed about our previous day.
    I highly recommend this.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Sends an awful message

    It should have been called Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Attitude. It was awful. I kept waiting for the mother to say something about his own negativity causing most of the problems he had, but it didn't happen. At the end of the book the lesson turned out to be, 'some days are just like that.' No mention of accepting the consequenses of his actions at all. The book was just whiney whiney, whiney! I read it with interest because I heard alot of good things about the book in my education classes in college. But now that I've read it I can't find a single good thing to say about the book. It was just so negative. Not fun to read. No good lessons or morals. Not at all interesting. I guess I'm just not the type of person who likes to hear someone complain on and on, without accepting responsibility for their own actions. My three year old son picked up on it, though, and said, 'he's not being a very nice boy.' Hah. That's an understatement. LOL. But I'm glad he was able to see it.

    8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Great fun to read aloud to my young granddaughter and help her understand that SOME days, everything seems to go wrong!

    The title says it all... having a "Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day" describes exactly what kids feel when and they think they're being slighted and nothing seems to be going right! This is a delightfully written story that can remind a child that it happens to all of us, and "some days are like that"!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    First Grader's Review

    Our teacher read this book to us.It is about a boy named Alexander and he is not happy because everything bad is happening to him. He wakes up and is in a bad mood and can tell it is going to be a bad day. He wants to move to Australia. Nobody cares if he is having a bad day and he looks very mad. Then he goes to bed and his mom says some days are like that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Classic

    Another classic. One of my spouse's favorite stories growing up and now one of our son's favorites. Not the happiest ending but realistic.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Self-acceptance tool

    Good book for opening dialogue with children about bad experiences in life. We all have them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    A must for every child!

    This was one of our kids' very favorite books. We read it over and over again. They would ask me to read it when a day had gone bad. I just bought it again for a friend's daughter who has been struggling to get used to her preschool - she asks her Mom to read it again and again too.

    Some days are just like that. . . ..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a generational thing!

    I read this to my children and now I am reading it to my grandchildren. It stands the test of time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious Classic

    I've loved this book since I was a kid. Really Funny

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    A delightful little story, this helped my children understand th

    A delightful little story, this helped my children understand that some days things go wrong. After reading it together we developed the habit of saying, "I think I'll move to Australia," whenever one of us was having "one of those days." It never fails to get a smile, even if it's a bit of a wry one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kid Recommended, Mom Approved!

    This has quickly become a bedtime favorite for my son, especially when he's having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.
    The story is simple, sweet but makes a nice point that bad days happen to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Loved this book so much as a child, I named my son it.

    This was one of my all time favorite books growing up. My mother read it to me all the time. When I had my first child, I wanted to name him Alexander if the baby was a boy. Well, I had a girl and named her Marissa. So four years later when I had my first son, I named him Alexander! I read this book to him all the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun read

    This book is a great way to teach your children, that they will have many bumps in the road. You will have difficult days just like Alexander. I have purchased a dozen copies for family and friends who have young children.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just One Of Those Days

    Alexander is just not having a very good day. In fact, there's nothing positive about it at all! Funny and frustrating at the same time, it's just the kind of day many children feel they are having. A classic that children relate to and have some fun with. After all, misery loves company. Despite it all life goes on and it's really not so bad. Enjoy!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL book about a TERRIBLE day!

    A true classic. Readers will love the misadventures of the main character as he goes through "one of those days" that we all have from time to time. I also recommend Pumpkin Guts and Runny Babbit. All of these books are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    An awesome book!!!!

    I am an nanny and I've read this book to all my kids I've taken care of!! Especially ben and zach's kindergarden class they laughed a lot!!!! They would always ask me to come in and read and this book, was their favorite!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    The absolute very best book ever!

    I love love love this book! My mom read it to me when I was little, and she still tells me now when I have a bad day that at least I did not have lima beans! I have given to all of my friends who have had kids and they love it too!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    amazing book for kids of all ages

    I read this book to all three of my children...to this day, they will call me and tell me about their 'no good, horrible, very bad days' and how they are able to get through them! I am now buying this book for my grandson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Good read and some humor

    My daughter read this book to me and she could understand exactly what Alexander was feeling. Everyone has bad days and he obviously was. The sentences are long and for young readers they really have to paraphrase to make everything flow, but the book as a whole is recommendable because we all have bad days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    A Good Feeling

    I believe that Alexander is a little boy who is struggling with a case of very bad luck one particular day. The more his mood gets worse, the more bad things seem to be happening to him. This is a cute children's book filled with irony, some laughs, and a great bedtime story to start off tommorrow with a new and improved positive attitude. When I was little I felt good to know that Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Days like the one Alexander had make the OK days seem much happier!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5