Customer Reviews for

The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Alexandria Library

Thought provoking premise with a political twist. Very good reading.

posted by 5993829 on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Story but Factually Flawed

In general, The Alexandria Link was good read. Berry's writing holds the readers attention as any good thriller should. However, I was somewhat disappointed in the factual accuracy of the book. Similar to the Da Vinci Code, the author takes significant license with ...
In general, The Alexandria Link was good read. Berry's writing holds the readers attention as any good thriller should. However, I was somewhat disappointed in the factual accuracy of the book. Similar to the Da Vinci Code, the author takes significant license with the facts. Repeatedly he states that no Old Testament documents now exist earlier than 1000 A.D. 'The Masoretic Hebrew Text'. Further, he states that the Septuagint 'OT in Greek' was the primary source for the OT translation. Both of these assertions are wrong. First, the oldest Old Testaments documents are the Dead Sea Scrolls 'in Ancient Hebrew' found at Quran and date from 200 years before Christ. Second, while the Septuagint has been used as a corroborative source there are numerous other OT documents from the period were also used. In short, A for a good story, F on the facts.

posted by Anonymous on December 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Historically,Archeologically Inaccurate and Anti-Semitic

    It might be an action thriller but it is a piece of fiction and any historic claims that are made are false. It is the most inaccurate book I've seen in a long time. Who was Steve Berry's research assistant?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Not a Book for Christians who value the Bible

    I was shocked by his character's attack of the Hebrew scriptures and threw the book away without finishing it. I do not appreciate the attitude that the Bible is incorrect and that is why Israel is in the middle east and how the Palestinians are being "picked on" by Israel. In 2001, Palestine attacked Israel so many times....suicide bombers hitting buses and coffee shops and killing men, women and children and to listen to this attempt to rewrite history, by this author, was disgusting. He obviously doesn't think much of Israel or the Christian faith.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    I just finished reading this book. I shouldn't have. And I ten

    I just finished reading this book. I shouldn't have. And I tend to enjoy fun novels, even if they aren't perfect. Matthew Reilly, James Rollins, yes even Dan Brown, if the writing is done well and the characters made to be believable. But this? I would have given it no stars.

    [there may be spoilers. you have been warned.]

    I had initial misgivings at, oh, page 2. The portrayal of the 1948 war in Israel was laughably inaccurate. I assumed that, maybe, Berry was writing that way for dramatic effect, to show you what the main character in that scene was feeling. However, as the pages went on, the historical inaccuracies and outright lies over what occured - and is still happening - in the Middle East was downright disturbing. How could he get all these facts wrong? A fully-armed Israeli army in 1948, murdering thousands of Palestinians? What books was he using for his research? Was he even using research at all, or just gobbling up the propaganda of "poor Palestinians!" that is so prevalant in American liberal society? It's a dangerous political zone to be messing with.

    I should have stopped there, but I always have a hard time putting a book down in the middle. Besides, I couldn't believe anyone could be THAT anti-semetic and still have so many books published. Maybe things would change.

    Then came the plot device based solely on Kamal Salibi's theory that Israel was never where it is now, but the ancient Jews originally settled in Saudi Arabia. Salibi based his idea on the similarity of the names of the region in the Arabian peninsula to the Old Testament names of places. Any person who enjoys history knows that whenever a radical theory emerges, there will always be those who disagree, maybe even the majority. But Salibi's crackpot theory was published in the early 80's and NO ONE agrees with him. A clue? Maybe because it's ludicrous. Not a single historian takes this guy seriously - except Berry tries to pass this off to us as a plausibility. Sure, it's plausible. As one reviewer pointed out, it's about as plausible as Atlantis being in Georgia because it sounds similar to Atlanta. Utter tripe. Not only that, but combined with the anti-semetic overtones it could actually further anti-Jewish or anti-Israeli sentiments among ignorant readers who absorb the information without doing any research. A little information - especially WRONG information - is a seriously dangerous thing.

    Not to mention the lack of character development. I honestly didn't care about any of them. This isn't Cotton Malone's first book, nor is it Stephanie's, Thorvaldsen's or Vitt's. And none of them interested me. They lacked dimension and likeability. I love books in which we get to see the same characters over and over again, because we get to know them better and better, see how they react, develop and hopefully attract our attention. But not these guys.

    Overall, don't waste your time. Read Orson Scott Card's response "Evil Fiction" regarding the historical inaccuracies and save yourself a ton of time. Find a different author, I know I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Really badly written, sensationalized, based on pseudo-facts. A total loss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1