Customer Reviews for

Algebra DeMYSTiFieD

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

absolutely phenomenal

I am a father who challenged his 5th grade son to take on algebra. My son attends a private school in Westchester and is way above average amongst his peers however in no way is he on the level of a 9th grader. For us chapters 1,3,and 4 were useless because they respect...
I am a father who challenged his 5th grade son to take on algebra. My son attends a private school in Westchester and is way above average amongst his peers however in no way is he on the level of a 9th grader. For us chapters 1,3,and 4 were useless because they respectively covered fractions, decimals, and negative numbers. The preceding topics were thoroughly familiar to my son thus unnecessary and should be to anyone who is looking to begin algebra. We began our endeavor 1/05 and it is now 6/05 and we have completed chapters 2 and 5-7 and my son has a complete understanding of all the covered topics. The topics we covered thus far were variables, exponents and roots, factoring (quadratics and many other aspects of factoring), and linear equations. Each topic is put in such a step by step fashion that it could almost be miscontrued as repetitive. It is so thought out that anyone who knows all their basic math (+,-,*,/,percents,decimals,fractions)can ease through this book. At first when I looked ahead to Exponents and roots, factoring and quadratics I thought it might be a challenge that was above us, I took one step at a time and my boy eased through it. Now I find myself looking ahead to chapter 8 (word problems), at this time it looks like a mountain to climb but I am comforted with the fact that when I looked ahead to roots I had thoughts that I might have to skip that section but on the contrary he took to it like a fish to water. I'd like to thank the author for this wonderfully thought out book and would certainly recommend this book for beginners and for review. I will write my final assessment of this book upon completion of chapters 8-11.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommended If you haven't been out of school long !!!

As someone who's headed back to college after a long absence, I bought this book hoping to refresh relatively quickly to get the math out of the way. Not with this book. This book is somewhat vague in it's approach in that it spend enough time filling in and reinforc...
As someone who's headed back to college after a long absence, I bought this book hoping to refresh relatively quickly to get the math out of the way. Not with this book. This book is somewhat vague in it's approach in that it spend enough time filling in and reinforcing whatever blanks you may have. If you're like me, and you need TRUE demysitfication, pick up one of the other workbooks.

posted by kls525 on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    absolutely phenomenal

    I am a father who challenged his 5th grade son to take on algebra. My son attends a private school in Westchester and is way above average amongst his peers however in no way is he on the level of a 9th grader. For us chapters 1,3,and 4 were useless because they respectively covered fractions, decimals, and negative numbers. The preceding topics were thoroughly familiar to my son thus unnecessary and should be to anyone who is looking to begin algebra. We began our endeavor 1/05 and it is now 6/05 and we have completed chapters 2 and 5-7 and my son has a complete understanding of all the covered topics. The topics we covered thus far were variables, exponents and roots, factoring (quadratics and many other aspects of factoring), and linear equations. Each topic is put in such a step by step fashion that it could almost be miscontrued as repetitive. It is so thought out that anyone who knows all their basic math (+,-,*,/,percents,decimals,fractions)can ease through this book. At first when I looked ahead to Exponents and roots, factoring and quadratics I thought it might be a challenge that was above us, I took one step at a time and my boy eased through it. Now I find myself looking ahead to chapter 8 (word problems), at this time it looks like a mountain to climb but I am comforted with the fact that when I looked ahead to roots I had thoughts that I might have to skip that section but on the contrary he took to it like a fish to water. I'd like to thank the author for this wonderfully thought out book and would certainly recommend this book for beginners and for review. I will write my final assessment of this book upon completion of chapters 8-11.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Recommended If you haven't been out of school long !!!

    As someone who's headed back to college after a long absence, I bought this book hoping to refresh relatively quickly to get the math out of the way. Not with this book. This book is somewhat vague in it's approach in that it spend enough time filling in and reinforcing whatever blanks you may have. If you're like me, and you need TRUE demysitfication, pick up one of the other workbooks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Good For Beginners

    I am just beginning an advanced algebra course, and this book is outrageously insightful! Not only for those who have learned it, but FANTASTIC FOR BEGINNERS!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Not for beginners - Good for improving Algebra

    I bought this book hoping it was going to help understand algebra better. This book has no explaination... just figure it out as you go along. If you do not understand Algebra - do not buy this book. If you have some knowledge of Algebra and would like to improve on solving problems.. This is the book for you. This book helped me practice my algebra.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    The best of it's kind!!

    This book is great for people who want to refresh their skills or for those who just don't have a clue what to do. By the end of the book you will be happy that you took the time to read it and learn it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    instant gratification

    I've tried tons of algebra books and i think this is the one that meet my needs- refresh my algebra memory! The best part about it to me is that it walks you through every step, has practice questions right after the examples and gives you the answers immediately after the practice questions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    i am very comfortable when i solve this book

    i am very comfortable when i solve this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    awesome

    this book is awesome!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Not for beginners

    If you are using this book, you should have already taken Algebra, and are looking for a refresher. It's a good refresher with lots and lots of examples and practice problems, but the explanations leave a lot to be desired, and some are just plain confusing. The cartoon on the front of the book is intesting, as the equation has an error in it, and had I spotted it while perusing the book I probably would have been reluctant to buy it. However, I didn't find a lot of errors in the book itself. If you are reviewing, then this could be a good book, but if you have no Algebra background, this is not the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Tigerjay

    Okay daddy anything for you *she smiles*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    To firestar

    Tigerjay says shell talk later-raintail of blazeclan

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1