Customer Reviews for

Algebra I For Dummies

Average Rating 3
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, simple and clear explanations

I am 55 years old and re-taking math classes so I can take Trigonometry and Calculus. I was scared to death (like many other older students) going into my college Elementary Algebra class because I had done so miserably in Algebra in high school 40 years ago. Our coll...
I am 55 years old and re-taking math classes so I can take Trigonometry and Calculus. I was scared to death (like many other older students) going into my college Elementary Algebra class because I had done so miserably in Algebra in high school 40 years ago. Our college textbook for Elementary Algebra didn't always explain things clearly enough for me. I went to this Dummies book a lot. It is easy to read as well as humorous in places. I found it particularly helpful in learning to solve word problems and I have that chapter in this book marked up as much as my textbook! If you already know Algebra pretty well you may find this book too easy. But, for someone like me who was scared to death because of my past failure this book was a godsend. Like any subject you are trying to conquer, you must put in the study time. I learned many years ago that using supplemental books like this give me a little bit of a different perspective on a subject that just may help tweak something in my gray matter to cement a concept in. Please note that I also used this along with the two other books I recommend below.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Buy this book but read what I have to say.

I have already learned more within the first week of having this book than I did within the last month. The bad thing is that the author strays too much from what she should be talking about. If you can look past the fact that almost every other paragraph isnt about mat...
I have already learned more within the first week of having this book than I did within the last month. The bad thing is that the author strays too much from what she should be talking about. If you can look past the fact that almost every other paragraph isnt about math then buy the book. If it is going to piss you off, dont buy the book.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    Wonderful, simple and clear explanations

    I am 55 years old and re-taking math classes so I can take Trigonometry and Calculus. I was scared to death (like many other older students) going into my college Elementary Algebra class because I had done so miserably in Algebra in high school 40 years ago. Our college textbook for Elementary Algebra didn't always explain things clearly enough for me. I went to this Dummies book a lot. It is easy to read as well as humorous in places. I found it particularly helpful in learning to solve word problems and I have that chapter in this book marked up as much as my textbook! If you already know Algebra pretty well you may find this book too easy. But, for someone like me who was scared to death because of my past failure this book was a godsend. Like any subject you are trying to conquer, you must put in the study time. I learned many years ago that using supplemental books like this give me a little bit of a different perspective on a subject that just may help tweak something in my gray matter to cement a concept in. Please note that I also used this along with the two other books I recommend below.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant guide for both the first time student, and the returning grad looking for review.

    This is an absolutely brilliant book for those who desperately need a guide in Algebra II. I have a very bad history with mathematics, to put it simply-my education was pretty badly torn off track somewhere around 7th grade. I'm now a senior in high school, and just got back on track last year. (To give an example of just how badly I was behind-Until my junior year, I didn't know how to distribute or how to solve relatively easy equations.)

    My point is, if this book helps *me*, it can help anyone! I'm currently in a Algebra II class, however I want to finish it early and go on to precalc. I went through the Algebra II book, took notes, did problems, and generally studied it. It took me around two months to go through the whole thing and make sure I actually knew it. Tomorrow I'm going to take the test-out option to jump directly into precalc, and I'm very sure I'll pass it.

    Not only did this book teach me Algebra II, but it also taught me techniques for doing things I've done before, but in a clumsy way. For example, I've always used a slow method of handling exponents, but the book taught me the proper method to manage exponents quickly and properly.

    Finally,the best thing about this book-It makes math FUN. I can't describe how great that is, but trust me, it's wonderful. Having the math explained in a "human" way, with all the relevant information but none of the dry textbook "voice" is brilliant. It lets you jump directly into the math, without feeling like you have to crack a code to understand.

    Over all, 5/5, and definitely worth the money.

    PS-I'd highly suggest that anyone buying this book get the workbook with the same title. It'll give you problems to try and practice on. This is the absolute best way to learn, so don't pass it up!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Setting Expectations is Key . . .

    note: The '...' in the title are an algebra pun! O) p When I hear or read a book title that includes the phrase, 'for Dummies', I easily pull together the concepts that this book is not likely a foundational text for building one's doctorate upon, and that there might very well be some non-standard methodology in its construct. How is it possible to mistake a book titled, 'Algebra for Dummies' as something other than that?!? p In any event, had my high school algebra teacher(s) approached the subject in this vein, I would have never developed a fear of the subject, and by now, my adult income would [approximate] be about quadruple what it is/was/has been. It took more than twenty years and three math-gifted offspring to discover that I have an aptitude for algebra, but was too afraid to pursue it. I have successfully and convincingly discussed 4-plane time and space theory with literal rocket scientists - naturally figured how to solve for a proportional unknown, blah-blah-blah. In other words, I had the goods, but was delusional about being any good at it. p I say this to point out that most everyone that lives in fear of 'higher mathematics' need not do so. That most all those folks could be and would be hysterically excited to discover that their understanding of math is there, just waiting to be coaxed along a bit. p The author's assertion that the knowledge of algebra is power is not far off the mark, if off at all. Even if you never use it (although you will, or will have the opportunity to do so), the provable fact that you are not a math retard after all is worth considerably more than this book costs. That you will be able to pursue algebraic exploits without fear is just gravy.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Buy this book but read what I have to say.

    I have already learned more within the first week of having this book than I did within the last month. The bad thing is that the author strays too much from what she should be talking about. If you can look past the fact that almost every other paragraph isnt about math then buy the book. If it is going to piss you off, dont buy the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Not worth the money

    This book is impossible to understand. It has been 15 years since I have taken an algebra course and bought this to brush up on math, before a chem course this summer. I thought I understood the basics, then I read this and became completely confused. My husband who is a scientist and works with algebra on a daily bases, agreed that the teaching technique in this book does not make sense. There are no examples to test what you have learned. All the examples are worked out for you step by step.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    This book has good math problems

    This book has a way of teaching you before you actualy have too do the problem, the math problems are great too

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Can someone please reply?

    I know this isn't for chatting but I need help with some work. I am in 8th grade algebra 1 but im supose to be in pre-algebra but im in a advanced class . The textbook we're using at my school is Beginning Algebra Sixth Editon; Gustafson Frisk I dont understand alot in it sometimes when the teacher explains it I dont underdstand her clearly. Right now we are learning point-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I need some feedback please!

    I took the advice of some of the reviewers and purchased the hardcopy and the workbook that goes with it. I'm really surprised and proud of how far I'm come in just a few days! I'm on Chapter 9 in the workbook and think/hope I've come across a typo because simplifying and factoring algebraic fractions has caused me to hit a wall. I'm looking at problem #9 in the ninth chapter. They show where they work it out and my answer agrees with that, but what they show as the answer in bold differs by one power in the variable. Can anyone verify this? Many thanks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Where are the problems?

    I, like many people, learn by doing. As far as I can tell this book does not offer any practice problems to test your knowledge. It seems to just spout off concepts and rules but doesn't offer the reader a chance to apply what they've learned. This book could be improved greatly if there were worksheets at the end of each chapter. This book reads more like an informational textbook instead of a lesson book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    watch out for switch

    I recently purchased this book but returned it because I paid $14.36 for it and it came used with a bargain book price of $5.95. Customer service refused to reimburse me the different claiming that it was no longer a bargain book yet if you go to the website it clearly says that you can buy the book used( which I did not) So watch you bill closely because they do not honor their charges or claims

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    It's so well written. In a normal textbook you have to spend tim

    It's so well written. In a normal textbook you have to spend time trying to decipher what half the material means and how it relates to the rest of the book, but in this book it's almost as though you are listening to a person explain it to you at a party. The book also makes it very easy to understand the way algebraic expressions, equations, and formulae are written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    NEED HELP

    Will this help my sis she is in 5 th grade and gets bad grades in math she got an 8% in matg on a 10 qusetion plz tell me if it workz

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Didnt have half the stuff i needed to learn about algebra1

    Didnt have enough problems or didnt show me examples so i could get better @math

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Should I buy this book???

    I am a high school student and I'm currently taking Algebra 1. I am really interested in this book, but I don't know if I should buy this one or the Algebra 2 book. I just need to know the difference so I don't waste my money on buying something I already know a lot about.
    -Thank you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    No Galois theory?

    How can you call it an algebra book if it doesn't include Galois theory?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    NOT COMPREHENSIVE ENOUGH

    Too general in its explainations. Does not go deep enough to really give reader an understanding of the concepts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    my review

    this book rocks! It really helps me with Algebra! This book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2