Customer Reviews for

Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

-megan smith

UNBELIEVABLE! That is the only word that comes to mind at the mention of this FABULOUS book! I was hesitant at first, but now I can't imagine what I could've read in that time that could've been better. Great job, and congrats to Ali Wenworth on an AMAZING and ENTERTAIN...
UNBELIEVABLE! That is the only word that comes to mind at the mention of this FABULOUS book! I was hesitant at first, but now I can't imagine what I could've read in that time that could've been better. Great job, and congrats to Ali Wenworth on an AMAZING and ENTERTAINING book.I hope the people who read this post will read this book and enjoy it as much as I have.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Funny but Snarky

I always thought that Ali was funny and easygoing, and would be a nice person to know. However, some of her writing comes across as condescending and portrays an entitlement attitude. ( the whole third world artisans part, as an example, and her somewhat snooty descrip...
I always thought that Ali was funny and easygoing, and would be a nice person to know. However, some of her writing comes across as condescending and portrays an entitlement attitude. ( the whole third world artisans part, as an example, and her somewhat snooty descriptions of friends). Generally, she comes across as a poor little rich kid whose life experiences aren't nearly as substansive as she thinks they are.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    -megan smith

    UNBELIEVABLE! That is the only word that comes to mind at the mention of this FABULOUS book! I was hesitant at first, but now I can't imagine what I could've read in that time that could've been better. Great job, and congrats to Ali Wenworth on an AMAZING and ENTERTAINING book.I hope the people who read this post will read this book and enjoy it as much as I have.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Super down to earth.....

    I couldn't put this down. She is funny, witty, brilliant and just plain honest. Nothing sappy about Ali and I love that. Just matter of fact and a no BS kind of woman! Kudos!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    DYING FOR A SEQUEL... This book is just like reconnecting with

    DYING FOR A SEQUEL...

    This book is just like reconnecting with an old friend over cocktails, MANY cocktails....time flies by, you laugh your ass off, and are left wanting more. Wentworth is raw, dead on, laugh out loud funny and a natural, gifted story-teller. Perfect for an airplane, at the beach or anytime you need an escape read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Recommend!

    I don't know why I like Ali so much, as I actually had not heard of her before I found out she was married to George Stephanopoulous. I watch her Daily Shot on Yahoo Shine, so when she was touting her book on Good Morning America, I bought it for my Nook. I was not disappointed. She is funny and the book gives a candid look at her life with her mother, her career, and her personal life.

    I recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Read this!

    Read this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Ali Wentworth has a very quirky sense of humor and some people will probably not get it, but I really enjoyed the book. Especially like the briefer, independent-but flowing, short story approach.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Funny but Snarky

    I always thought that Ali was funny and easygoing, and would be a nice person to know. However, some of her writing comes across as condescending and portrays an entitlement attitude. ( the whole third world artisans part, as an example, and her somewhat snooty descriptions of friends). Generally, she comes across as a poor little rich kid whose life experiences aren't nearly as substansive as she thinks they are.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Well written, entertaining, and funny!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious and Thoroughly Enjoyable

    I requested this book after reading the reviews, particularly the quotes from Kathy Griffin and Chelsea Handler, because I know that if they think someone is funny, so will I. I was right – Ali Wentworth proved to be quite the comedian and storyteller in Ali in Wonderland. I’m not sure everything in this book is true, as the title states, “and other tall tales”, but this "memoir" is hilarious anyway. Her descriptions of people are so ridiculous that I found myself rereading those parts to my boyfriend, hoping he’d get a kick out of them as well. I believe this was one of my favorite lines:

    “Abigail was an anemic blonde from Winnetka, Illinois. Abigail was light on the outside, but dark on the inside. She had a face like a fetus and wore Fair Isle sweaters, knee socks, and clogs.”

    Hah – I love that. Surely not everyone will appreciate her sense of humor, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It’s all in the little things she says – things you might overlook if you are waiting for the next big joke. There’s no buildup, there’s no punch line, this woman is just funny. Period. I definitely suggest reading this one. 4/5 stars for the occasional dull moment, but they are few and far between.

    Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Love it

    Best read this year

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Super funny book even if you don't like ali wentworth you'll lov

    Super funny book even if you don't like ali wentworth you'll love her book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    sk

    good read, laugh out loud funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Laughed

    Great read. Ali is funny and pokes fun of herself. You cant help but fall in love with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    C Loved this book

    Loved this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great book!

    This was a fun, witty read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Ali is hysterical! The stories of her childhood left me wanting more! She also shows what a great mother and wife she is. She is able to laugh at herself and shows she loves her life, no matter how many curve balls she is thrown.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Entertaining

    Great!!! Hard to put it down, very entertaining, Ali rocks... I recommend this to everyone who enjoyrs reading. Hope she writes another book soon...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Fast read.

    Funny and interesting. There was a lot I didn't know about her family that was very interesting. She is so naturally funny and a good story teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    BIOS

    Name &star Mystillia <br>
    Age &star 6 <br>
    Gender &star Mare/filly <br>
    Appearance &star A chubby (don't judge) crystal alicorn filly with a sparkly silver coat and a blue mane. She is a Blank Flank. <br>
    Relatives &star Celestia (mother), Luna (aunt), Panic, Nightmare, and Incubus (cousins). <p>
    Name &starf Metalshy <br>
    Age &starf 16 <br>
    Gender &starf Mare <br>
    Appearance &starf A lemon yellow pegasus with a light pink and black messy Fluttershy mane. She has four peircings in each ear. Her eyes are turquoise, Fluttershy style, and they are lined in eyeliner. She wears a harness with a bull on it and a black cape that only covers her Cutie Mark. <br>
    Relatives &starf Why do you ask?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Very entertaining

    This was a good read, several laugh out loud pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5