Customer Reviews for

Alias Grace

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A True Classic

I read a review, maybe on the cover, that claimed this was written like a classic with the pace of a modern novel. That is exactly how I felt about this book. The writing was incredible. I felt completely sucked into that time period as I read. One thing that did help m...
I read a review, maybe on the cover, that claimed this was written like a classic with the pace of a modern novel. That is exactly how I felt about this book. The writing was incredible. I felt completely sucked into that time period as I read. One thing that did help me anticipate the ending was that I read the Afterward before reading book. I really think it helped me not go overboard with all the possible ways it could end, and I was very satisfied with how Atwood chose to end the story. The pacing was a little slow at first, but once Grace began telling her story I could not put it down.

posted by Anonymous on May 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Alias Grace

The worst part of the book for me was how the author wrote it and her style. I always got confused on who it was talking about or who was doing the talking. Also, there were parts that seemed like they didn't have a purpose in being in the book, such as when the narrato...
The worst part of the book for me was how the author wrote it and her style. I always got confused on who it was talking about or who was doing the talking. Also, there were parts that seemed like they didn't have a purpose in being in the book, such as when the narrator or Grace would randomly talk about certain people. It seemed more like rambling random facts that weren't necessarily important to the plot. As far as the end went, I'm still not sure as to if she actually killed them or not. It talks about her experiences throughout the book but never if she was actually guilty or not reguardless of what other people thought. Even though the style of writing was a little weird, it made the book fun to read.

posted by 8086376 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    A True Classic

    I read a review, maybe on the cover, that claimed this was written like a classic with the pace of a modern novel. That is exactly how I felt about this book. The writing was incredible. I felt completely sucked into that time period as I read. One thing that did help me anticipate the ending was that I read the Afterward before reading book. I really think it helped me not go overboard with all the possible ways it could end, and I was very satisfied with how Atwood chose to end the story. The pacing was a little slow at first, but once Grace began telling her story I could not put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful display of a writer's craft.

    The beauty of Alias Grace lies not within the plot, which is mysterious and based on a true story, nor within the voices of the characters, but within the artistry that Atwood has demonstrated as the true craft of a writer. The ability to take a story and turn it into something more, create a world based on ours, where the characters step from the page.

    Atwood based Alias Grace on a true story. The celebrated murderess, young Grace Marks, was a real person in Canada in 1843. She was arrested, along with a man named James McDermott, accused of murdering their employer, Thomas Kinnear, and his pregnant housekeeper-mistress Nancy Montgomery. Grace told three different versions of the murder throughout the trial and was sentenced to life in prison, while McDermott hung. In the novel, Doctor Simon Jordan makes it his mission to lead Grace through her life leading up the day of the murders. The question remains: was Grace telling the truth in any of her questionable versions? Did she knowingly participate in the deaths of two innocents and one unborn child? Why can't she seem to remember the events, but remember dressing in the dead woman's clothing and escaping to the States?

    Margaret Atwood's novel is based on historical documentation and news articles which are prevalent throughout the book and serve to ground the novel, but they also uplift the story into a living tale. No one knew for certain if Grace was an innocent bystander, or a devilish accomplice. Petitions for her release are routinely submitted and rejected. The power of this novel is that I want Atwood's version to be the real thing, but that means I question Grace's motives; is she really as naive as she seems? I am still not sure what I want of her. I want her to be innocent, but I want her to be guilty. I want her to escape with Jeremiah the Peddler, but live happily ever after with a husband and normal life. I want Mary Whitney to live, but I want her to have never lived.

    Alias Grace is a dark, intriguing, and haunting mystery which stays with us after the last page and for that I must give it 5 stars. I encourage you to read it, and formulate your own thoughts on Grace Marks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Compare with Jamaica Kincaid, Lucy: servant think.

    Alias Grace is a psychological/ detective novel for me. Grace's interview with the dudding alienist reveals to the reader things like: if one wishes for something it won't come true, if one talks openly about things it jinxes them. These are the constraints that "lower class" working people live with. I suppose these powerful voodoo cultural limits are everywhere. But Atwood makes them visible. In Lucy by J. Kincaid the novel also deals with a servant and her relationships with her social environment and how with her employers it is bitter and full of class hatred or indifference. Unbridgable. And it is not from lack of exposure, or lack of mingling, it seems innate to the higher and lower relationship. I read somewhere that friends can only be on equal terms perhaps the reverse is true. Inequality breeds bad things. Maybe a support group would help or medication.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Dark Deeds in Young Toronto

    Alias Grace is Atwood's best effort to date. A dark and absorbing story starting almost two centuries ago and tapping into the human psyche from the first page. This one will keep you turning the page right to the end. Well deserving of it's awards, not to be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Margaret Atwood is a literary genius

    Alias Grace is by far one of the most superior literary masterpieces of the 20th century. Complex, intriguing, spellbinding and engrossing are just a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this novel. A true murder mystery set against a historical backdrop, Ms. Atwood clearly does her research and places the writer 'back in time' to experience the harsh and cruel realities faced by the novel's 'antiheroine' Grace Marks. I strongly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books, it draws you in from the beginning and

    One of my favorite books, it draws you in from the beginning and you just want to know everything about every character every nuance of the story. She has a hit with this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Daddy

    [Hey! This is Wyld. I'm going to go as Daddy. Do you want me to be the stepfathr, or real, honest-to-goodness biological father?] He opened the door, stepping inside. His eyes widened slightly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Kaira

    Hi..sorry when I saw her post I just had to come see if you were doing it..could you do that to me in the next res. Setpdad?please I'm so fu.qing hor.ny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Alia

    (I think stepfather would probably be better.) Alia stopped, and looked up at him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Amiti

    Cool……… also, I think you should continue Broken Shadows if you'd like… I forgot to mention that back there in my rambles… haha… ~Your Buddy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love this book

    Scary and engrossing! I'd read it again. One of Atwood's besr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great read

    I read this in a day because I couldnt put it down. Well written victorian era story. Enthralling story that will keep you reading to find out what "really" happened all the way to the end. Women, especially, will be interested and surprised at the inner thoughts of the main character. WHO IS SHE REALLY? A must read...suspense filled drama....not overdone.....very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    The book looks awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book looks like a girl thats locked up and she is trying to get out.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2