Customer Reviews for

Alibi

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific crime caper

    In 1986 in Philadelphia, two punks believe they can rob the illegal drug stash of drug lord Simon Shuller. They capture one of the guards Poncho, but fail to take control of the man's more violent partner Nard. When the dust clears Nard is the only person left breathing.

    Nard pays twentyish African American stripper old Daisy Fothergill two thousand dollars to provide him with an alibi during the time of the deadly face-off. A witness informs the police that Nard killed the three men, but soon after telling his story to the cops that man is dead; a warning to others to keep their mouths' shut. Meanwhile Daisy visits her mother, Abigail, but finds her dead from natural causes. Her windfall pays for her mom's funeral. She becomes pregnant but her boyfriend Reggie Carter dumps her. Needing time to regroup, Daisy visits her aunt in Murfreesboro, Tennessee knowing she will have to face the music in Philadelphia soon.

    This is a terrific crime caper starring an intriguing cast especially Nard (short for Bernard). He makes the story line work from the onset as he methodically cleans up the dead scene and establishes his alibi so that if any of the witnesses speak to the cops he has his counter testimony. Fans will appreciate Teri Woods' strong thriller as the fascinating focus is on a unique anticipated High Noon with fans wondering whether the hit man will soar like a predatory eagle on its prey when Daisy returns to the city of Brotherly Love.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Very Good.

    I read this book in ten hours. Maybe less. Just waiting for Alibi II in eBook format!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Horrible

    I usally enjoy this author but i couldn't even finish this book. Don't waste your time or money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Teri is such a excellent author!

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    It was a good crime thriller but......

    I read this book in one day, and I do agree that it jumped from character to character and to correct the last reviewer (Harriet) Nard (Bernard) was in jail, it was his man Sticks who committed all the murders. Overall, I think it was a good read and I will purchase Alibi II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not super great

    to much bouncing around from character to character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    Alibi

    This was her best book! Her writing has improved tremendously, it seems as if she is writing with a screenplay in mind. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait until Alibi II is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Recommended reading

    If you are into African American fiction, this book is for you. It certainly falls along the lines of "hood drama," but if you are into these novels, you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Teri Woods

    ok i haven't read the book yet, but i was online reading a lil snippet of the inside and im confused......i have all of the teri woods books (true to the game).....i thought the alibi was the continuous of the last true t the game book.....but im confused because the characters int he book are not the characters in the last few books......who is Nard? and Abigail? they were not in the last book. unless they are in a book that i havent read of hers....but then again in the last book...true to the game III it tells you to look for the book the alibi...which i would have thought was the extension of that story. well im not buying it until i get it straight....because that book the alibi sounds boring its not what im looking for....i dont think?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this was NOT one of TW better books

    i have ALL of teri woods books but this one and i'm glad i went to the library for it. the story was weak. it wasn't grimmy at all. i really don't see how learning how abigail grew up had anything to do with the story (just filler). even the synopsis about the book is wrong. nard wasn't trying to rob a rival drug dealer, he was being robbed. this book was just BORING!!! this book was nothing like her previous books. i really can't see how there will be a sequel and i won't be buying it if there is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Happened with This One?

    I must say that I was deeply disappointed with this book. As an avid fan of TW, I expected to "see" the story unfold as all of the other books in the past have. This book was "watered down". There was no real grime or suspenseful voilence or drama like there usually is in her books. BIG disappointment. Hope the next book is in the original TW style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wowwww....

    I picked it up at the Library because it was in the new section never expecting it to be so not what i expected it was greattt... I finished it in less than two days my boyfriend and i were actually reading it together and fought over who was ahead...lol it was great i recommend it to anyone who loves to read and i especially cant wait for alibi II

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great crime thriller

    I love Teri Woods and enjoyed this crime thriller as much as all of her other books. This novel was a quick read with 239 pages. I am looking forward to read Alibi II and wonder if we hear more about Daisy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2