Customer Reviews for

Alibi Man

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Builds Momentum

Alibi Man begins with the startling discovery of a body in the swamps of Southern Florida and continues at breakneck speed through the luxurious horse farms and exclusive polo clubs of Palm Beach in search of the killer. Once again, Tami Hoag uses her knowledge of hors...
Alibi Man begins with the startling discovery of a body in the swamps of Southern Florida and continues at breakneck speed through the luxurious horse farms and exclusive polo clubs of Palm Beach in search of the killer. Once again, Tami Hoag uses her knowledge of horses and her quirky, multi-dimensional characters to provide more than just your typical murder mystery. As we follow the rebellious ex-PI, Elena Estes, through a maze of viable suspects, we are pulled into her struggle to let go of the past that haunts her¡Xthe ex-fiance who betrayed her and the wealthy parents who abandoned her. With a careful balance of intrigue and sentiment this book explores big topics of trust, loyalty, and equal justice wrapped in a fast-paced adventure.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

only ok

I liked ella but its as if she havent grown. She almost seems worst off than when we first met her in the first book. I felt sorry for Laundry to the point where i almost didnt want them together. But hope Ms. Hoag will give us another story of ella and laundry and wrap...
I liked ella but its as if she havent grown. She almost seems worst off than when we first met her in the first book. I felt sorry for Laundry to the point where i almost didnt want them together. But hope Ms. Hoag will give us another story of ella and laundry and wrap things up for ella. MAybe one where she finally deals with her relationship with her parents, or where she can find some peace. Good suspence but no satisfaction to the reader.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    spellbinding

    A good read to pass the time quickly. As this was an audio book, the miles fly by as we listen to this story. Never stagnant or boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ, FAST PACED, HOLDS YOUR ATTENTION FROM THE START...

    Enjoyed this story. Setting was 'realistic', ... as a former female 'Law Enforcement officer', the activity and storyline keeps you thinking you 'are' really 'investigating a 'crime'; the community and basic story line depicted makes this an exciting, thrilling and believable read.

    Tami is wonderful writer; great at drawing her readers in, and holding your attention from start to finish. I have read both THRILLER NOVELS and ROMANTIC NOVELS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    A Real Page Turner

    Once again, Tami does NOT disappoint. The book is an easy read that keeps you turning the pages until the surprise ending. Tami Hoag is a 'must read'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Elena

    This story about Elena Estes was so good and I cant wait for the next book regarding her life. This kept me up at night and couldnt stop reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Rich guys kill and alibi for each other

    A thoroughly suspenseful story that was very hard to leave. I have read all of Tami Hoag¿s books and this might be the best. A group of rich men think they have devised a way to cover themselves from guilt by lying and giving alibi¿s for each other when one of them is in trouble. It works great for them as long as they all stay together when they give their alibi¿s for each other, but will they be able to continue to do just that? Elena Estes used to be a cop but she decided that she liked the company of horses much more than those she had to confront as a cop. A good friend of hers, Sean Avadon, owned a horse farm and Elena had gone to work for him after her time as a cop. Elena loved to ride horses, enjoying the freedom one gets while roaming the peaceful countryside. But when she finds the body of a woman in a canal during one of her rides, her enjoyable ride turned nasty all at once. An alligator and some of the many flesh eaters in a Florida canal were enjoying the body. Elena phoned her old police friend, James Landry, and he started the cops rolling to the remote area. The victim turned out to be Irina Markova, a co-worker of Elena¿s at the horse farm. Elena being an ex-cop was told by Landry not to start investigating on her own since she was no longer a cop. But Landry knew Elena would not listen and would delve into the case secretly, especially since she knew the victim fairly well. In the area was a famous polo club, the International Polo Club, where the rich loved to play. One of the rich star polo players was Juan Barbaro, a handsome man that loved good looking and rich women and while Elena was not rich, she was good looking. Barbaro was a member of the Alibi Club as was Elena¿s former fiancé. Bennett Walker. Elena hated Walker¿s guts and couldn¿t stand being around him and she knew in her mind that with all the bad things he had done when she was associated with him, he could have had something to do in the murder. Barbaro wanted Elena and she wasn¿t too unhappy being with him except for his alibi connection. When Elena is contacted in a far too menacingly way by a member of the Russian mob, Alexi Kulak, she got scared and knew there was much more to this murder along with the murder of another girl that showed up dead in the area. Now it appears to be a possible prostitution ring connecting the Russian mob and the Alibi Club rich guys. If all of the above doesn¿t spark your desire to read this book nothing will. Tami Hoag has written a non-stop action thriller that connects many facets of Palm Beach, Florida rich polo life, and Russian mobs with the police interaction keeping Elena in the action all the way. Though scared she was not one to quit when her friends were involved. A MUST read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    A Mesmerizing page turner... from classy mystery author Tami Hoag...

    In her acknowledgment, with class and grace Tami Hoag salutes those who assist in making a bestseller: 'My job [on a book]--which is conception, gestation, and birth--is only the beginning. There is a large extended family that sees me through my process, ¿from there¿ turns the daydreams and nightmares of my imagination into the book [you will hold in your hands] -- 'The Alibi Man'. As in Hoag's breathtaking 'Dark Horse' (one of my all-time favorites as an avid reader and reviewer), Elena Estes is back in another spine-tingling tale of a former undercover cop, murder, power, and interfering elements in Elena's past. The tingling begins with a ringing phone and a voice 'She was a dream¿ a siren¿ a vision, a mythical goddess¿ . She was a nightmare. She was dead.' And the voice placing the phone call says urgently: 'I need an alibi.' Elena rides Arli, always preferring the company of horses vs. humans, just as the 'sun was beginning to break', in layers of fog, where alligators waited¿ she sees first an arm reaching out of the black water¿ hair floating above the water. The victim is someone she recognizes¿ Irina Markova, whom she worked with at Sean's stables. Turns and twists lead to the 'Alibi Club', the Russian mafia, Elena's re-encounters with an ex-lover¿ Read it! You can't miss with a Tami Hoag novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    The Rich, the Privileged, the Murderous

    Once again Tami Hoag takes us into the world of Palm Beach with its polo clubs, priceless horses, and unscrupulous rich. Fans of Dark Horse will be rewarded with the return of Elena Estes, rich girl turned police detective turned horse trainer. Never at a loss for the snappy comeback, Elena trades insults with snooty upper crust power players who are trying to cover up a nasty crime. Add to the mix a vicious Russian mob boss determined to get revenge for the murder of his beautiful young lover. This is a powerhouse murder mystery with great dialogue, characters, and plot. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    loved it

    I read this in less than a week...I couldn't put it down. Tami is known for romance but this book doesn't have any so sometimes it is a nice break...I love Tami Hoag books and have my mom hooked on them too!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    This book delivers

    I had been looking forward to this book for a long time. I enjoyed Elena Estes in Dark Horse and was looking forward to getting reacquainted with her character. In Alibi Man I enjoyed the fast pace, the insights into the world of the wealthy, and the very well written characters. The plot twists were well done and I loved the surprises that came to the reader towards the end. It was interesting to see insights into Elena's past, and how her struggles in past relationships have molded Elena into someone who can be cynical and doesn't trust easily. As in the first book, the reader gets a glimpse of the softer side of Elena who will stop at nothing to get to the truth for people that she cares about. I also appreciated the struggles in her relationship with Detective Landry. During their struggles, they both learned a lot about each other's character. I would love for Tami Hoag to continue with this character and give us more books about Elena. Well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Great writer

    What a great book!! I couldn't put it down. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1