Customer Reviews for

Alice in Lace

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Cool Book!

    This is the best book! I have read it many times. Phillis is an amazing author, and I love the Alice series. Rating: Outstanding

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    The best book ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This Alice book was the first I ever read and is still the best out of all the alice books I have read. All of the time there was some situation going on and it was always hularious!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Can you ever imagine getting married..... at 13?

    Alice is getting married as an assignment for a critical choices unit in health class. Alice and her husband Patrick have to plan a wedding and a honeymoon, and they have to set up a home all for five thousand dollars. But they are not the only ones facing tough decisions. Some of there classmates have tougher decisions, like burying their own mother. Could you ever imagine? This is not an easy assignment for any body, but it is a great experience to learn about our world, and how to make good and bad choices. Could you ever imagine yourself making a big and serious choice that may change your life forever? We will just have to wait until those days come. I really enjoyed this book there were some things that I didn¿t like. Sometimes I got confused when the book would talk about so many characters at one time. I loved how I could relate the book to my life. Alice is just my age and in the book she has some of the same problems I have. This book is part of a series. There are so many Alice books, but the good thing about them is that you don¿t have to read any of them in order. I think any girls out there would enjoy any of the Alice books because the entire Alice series is about her life growing up with just a brother and dad. Boys may like this book also to learn more about girls¿ life. I think if anyone out there can get their hands on any of the Alice books try to read it and see how it goes! Boys may like this book also to learn more about girls¿ life. I think if anyone out there can get their hands on any of the Alice books try to read it and see how is goes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I have read almost all of the Alice books and in this one I was laughing out loud in class. It was funny and very exciting!! I NEED TO KNOW WHEN MORE BOOKS ARE COMING OUT BECAUSE THEY ARE SO GOOD. I got all my friends addicted to the books so now we trade books with each other. I love how this book they have to make a wedding and stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    Alice in Lace is a great book!

    I definitely think that Alice in Lace is a great book! The whole series is terrific! I've enjoyed alice's adventures since day 1!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Great Series!!

    I think Alice in Lace is a great book and i really recommend it to a 10-14 year old girl!! Phyliis Renolds Naylor is a great author!!I love the great assinments that there teacher gives them!! A deffenet must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Suit Up In Lace

    As Alice prepared to hear what she was assigned to do for her health project, she glared around the room. Everyone in the class was anxious and anticipating to know what they would have to do. After a few people, next came Alice. Alice, you are assigned to be engaged. As Alice sat there thinking, she knew that this would be fun. This book that you are now hearing about is none other then Alice In Lace. Alice and her friends are in 8th grade now, and beginning to become more mature. The main settings in this book are at school and in Alice¿s house. Alice lives with her father and older brother. Her father and brother have discussed the project with her and have had many laughs. Not everyone has gotten assigned to what they wanted, but that¿s the purpose of their project, real life doesn¿t come how you want it. This book had real life situations that would occur to many young adults. I liked this book because it was very open with ideas. They talked about what would happen if you got pregnant in high school, young engagements, even what you would do if your grandmother died. The author had a very good idea about how she could connect to her readers, and let them know what¿s happening in the world. I also liked the fact that it wasn¿t too long, and the chapters weren¿t long either. My first impression of the book was that it was boring, but when I got to understand it more in the middle, it was interesting. I would recommend this book to young girls. Young girls should read this book because it gives you ideas of what not to do. After reading this book I¿m sure it would give you a different outlook on your actions. If you don¿t like reading long books, then this is definitely the book for you. Even though it is not long it brings out a lot of fun. You¿d be surprised with a book like this! Remember, don¿t judge a book by its cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    bookworm

    this book was okay but i was kind of disapointed because there was not as much stuff in it as i thought

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Alice in Lace book review

    Alice in Lace Atheneum books, 1996, 139pages, $15.00 By Phyllis Reynolds Naylor ISBN#: 0-698-80358-3 ''I¿m getting married!' she said.' Alice McKinley is faced with a hypothetical situation. It is an assignment Mr. Everett assigned his class to help them make good decisions. Alice and her fellow classmates are faced with marriage, shoplifting, teenage pregnancy, totaling a car, and organizing a funeral. Alice and her boyfriend, Patrick, have to plan a honeymoon, wedding, and buy the furniture with a low budget of money to spend. It seems easy but it is harder than it looks. Then, Alice spots the vice principle in Sylvia Summers¿ classroom. He was pleading her to give him another chance. This wouldn¿t be so bad but Sylvia is dating Alice¿s father. With her brother¿s old girlfriend makes a shocking announcement, Pamela¿s pillow pranks, and Elizabeth¿s car problems, and how to afford the wedding and honeymoon, there is also a new person arrives! This is such a great book for young teens. It tells about some teenage problems and how they solve them. This has a lot of humor and will make you want to keep reading. I love this series and it always makes me laugh one time or another. Other books in this series are 'The Agony of Alice', 'Alice in April', and 'All but Alice'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Alice in Lace-the best book ever

    This book shows the funny side to a class assignment dealing with the future. Watch as Patrick, Alice, Pamela, and Elizabeth deal with this assignment and plan their future! A very good book for teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    alice in lace

    Alice in lace, a truthful story of a young girl learning the mistakes of life. in this story a brave young adult experiances the challenges of marriage and sexuality. Naylor really expresses the harsh times of a young girl growing up, alice goes through everything we go through. i love it![:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    All Of the Alice books Are Sooooooo Cool. I Love Them.

    I highly recomend these books. You too will love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    Great!

    This was a really great book.. it was humorous, good hearted, and even had a lesson. I recommend this book to all the alice fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    The Best book

    I loved the book Alice in lace. Everyone one has to read the book.It's not confusing at all. I think Alica in lace was one of the best books i read. In the summer. I would aways read it again if I had lots of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    Alice in Lace- The coolest

    This book is great! Alice has lots of problems that relate to teens all over the world. Having a crazy brother and and pretending to be getting married is hard sometimes!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1