Customer Reviews for

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

unique tale is sure to delight paranormal and zombie fans

Alice in Zombieland was a deliciously humorous romp into the paranormal world and I quickly found myself enthralled. Her unique twists on Zombies, endearing characters and action packed tale had me screaming for more. “Off With Their Heads!” There is a white rabbit but ...
Alice in Zombieland was a deliciously humorous romp into the paranormal world and I quickly found myself enthralled. Her unique twists on Zombies, endearing characters and action packed tale had me screaming for more. “Off With Their Heads!” There is a white rabbit but fans of the childhood fable Alice in Wonderland who are looking for a retelling, will find themselves disappointed. This unique tale is sure to delight paranormal and zombie fans. The tale begins with a horrific tragedy and the realization for protagonist Alice Bell, that her father’s whispered fears of monsters in the night are indeed very real. As Alice embarks on her new life, home and school she must decide whether to fight or hide. Moving through the motions of living, she is forced back into reality by her snarky friend Kat and bad-boy Cole. Visions, visits from ghosts and monsters quickly have Alice taking sides and in a fight to survive. This well paced tale was filled with danger, romance, hilarious moments and zombies. The characters in Alice in Zombieland were fun and likeable. Ali Bell’s world has been totally rocked and I initially felt sorry for her, but I came to admire this head-strong, protective, loyal, zombie kicking chick. Cole Holland is a bad-boy and head of a group of teens who are notoriously late, getting expelled and have girls swooning for them. While I would not call the relationship between them insta-love, there were some unusual supernatural elements that caused their initial attraction to each other. We quickly learn there is a lot more to Cole then his persona. Kat becomes Ali’s bestie and quite frankly I adored this snarky, outspoken wisp of a girl. If you ever need someone to be in your corner, Kat would be perfect. I found the secondary characters to be entertaining and hope to learn more about them. Showalter offered up her own unique twist on zombies and I found it interesting. The zombies are not the kind we typically see, but exist in the spirit world. They cannot be seen by everyone, you cannot touch them and yet they can kill you…Eep! I really enjoyed this aspect of the tale, and while the storyline itself is not wholly original, Showalter’s twist on battling these zombies was. I loved how they fought the zombies, the rules and the abilities that developed. She introduced Watchers and I am hoping we learn more about them. Two teams battling these zombies, we learn an epic battle is coming and that both sides have different motives. This created plenty of tension and cool battle scenes. We learned about the two sides as Ali did, causing you to question who to trust. The romance was volatile, sweet and moved at a nice pace. While this is YA, there are plenty of hot steaming scenes that push this genre to the limit. The characters were not as fleshed out as I would have liked and at times the tale felt a little cliché but I walked away wanting more. I am anxious to see how the tale develops. I want to thank Harlequin teen for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

posted by kimba88 on October 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hatefull Wonderland*+*+*+*Part One

*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*Prolouge*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+* ...And so Alice fell down the rabbit hole. She had lost everything she loved. She remembered her fathers soft smile. She couldent beleive that some cold,heartless,killer had murdered her father. The day of the...
*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*Prolouge*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+* ...And so Alice fell down the rabbit hole. She had lost everything she loved. She remembered her fathers soft smile. She couldent beleive that some cold,heartless,killer had murdered her father. The day of the funeral she didnt smile. She cried over her fathers death. She knew the killer was still out there somewhere. She didnt like the idea. The next day she smiled. Not a single moment where she didnt. She had her fathers blue eyes and button nose,now all she needed was his smile...*+*+*+*Please tell me if you like it and if i should continue! I wont put part two out until i get five reveiws. Sorry. But thanks!-Fuzzypelt. Aka F&F

posted by fuzzypelt_the_meddie on October 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    unique tale is sure to delight paranormal and zombie fans

    Alice in Zombieland was a deliciously humorous romp into the paranormal world and I quickly found myself enthralled. Her unique twists on Zombies, endearing characters and action packed tale had me screaming for more. “Off With Their Heads!” There is a white rabbit but fans of the childhood fable Alice in Wonderland who are looking for a retelling, will find themselves disappointed. This unique tale is sure to delight paranormal and zombie fans. The tale begins with a horrific tragedy and the realization for protagonist Alice Bell, that her father’s whispered fears of monsters in the night are indeed very real. As Alice embarks on her new life, home and school she must decide whether to fight or hide. Moving through the motions of living, she is forced back into reality by her snarky friend Kat and bad-boy Cole. Visions, visits from ghosts and monsters quickly have Alice taking sides and in a fight to survive. This well paced tale was filled with danger, romance, hilarious moments and zombies. The characters in Alice in Zombieland were fun and likeable. Ali Bell’s world has been totally rocked and I initially felt sorry for her, but I came to admire this head-strong, protective, loyal, zombie kicking chick. Cole Holland is a bad-boy and head of a group of teens who are notoriously late, getting expelled and have girls swooning for them. While I would not call the relationship between them insta-love, there were some unusual supernatural elements that caused their initial attraction to each other. We quickly learn there is a lot more to Cole then his persona. Kat becomes Ali’s bestie and quite frankly I adored this snarky, outspoken wisp of a girl. If you ever need someone to be in your corner, Kat would be perfect. I found the secondary characters to be entertaining and hope to learn more about them. Showalter offered up her own unique twist on zombies and I found it interesting. The zombies are not the kind we typically see, but exist in the spirit world. They cannot be seen by everyone, you cannot touch them and yet they can kill you…Eep! I really enjoyed this aspect of the tale, and while the storyline itself is not wholly original, Showalter’s twist on battling these zombies was. I loved how they fought the zombies, the rules and the abilities that developed. She introduced Watchers and I am hoping we learn more about them. Two teams battling these zombies, we learn an epic battle is coming and that both sides have different motives. This created plenty of tension and cool battle scenes. We learned about the two sides as Ali did, causing you to question who to trust. The romance was volatile, sweet and moved at a nice pace. While this is YA, there are plenty of hot steaming scenes that push this genre to the limit. The characters were not as fleshed out as I would have liked and at times the tale felt a little cliché but I walked away wanting more. I am anxious to see how the tale develops. I want to thank Harlequin teen for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    WONDERFUL

    I totally fell in love with the book! As well as developed a crush on cole. It will keep you so youll never be able to put it down!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great book. read it in less than 24 hours. Loved it this much.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Zombies, Zombies, and more Zombies

    If you like Alice in Wonderland and you like zombies, then this is the perfect book for you! The book starts out in tragedy and keeps you interested in what's going on.
    The characters:
    Alice aka Ali was sent to live with her grandparents. Who by the way, I loved! Their interactions and lingo with Ali were hilarious. While she was in the hospital she meets and became friends with a girl named Kat. She was awesome! The things that she did and said were always entertaining. Flash forward to the first day of school, she spots Cole and had an instant connection. Cole is the typical bad boy - hangs out with a rough group, has tattoos, and is intense. But prepare to be fanning yourself whenever he's in the book. Oh, let's not forget out Ali! She is a tough chick. She's been through a lot but she never turned into the mopey, whiny girl.
    The zombies:
    The zombies were grotesque and creepy. They are different and can't be killed the same way they are in other books and movies. It's a cool concept.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) The first thing that stood out to me was the la

    What I Liked: 1) The first thing that stood out to me was the language. It was hilarious. Ali and her friends have very good senses of humor, so their jokes were funny, but it wasn't even so much what they said, as how they said it. Also, probably some of the funniest comments were made by Ali's grandparents who were looking up teen slang online and then trying to use it. It will keep you laughing throughout the book. 2) Cole. I don't know what it is about Cole - actually, no, I do know what it is. It's the black hoodie, the ninja moves, and the who-the-hell-cares attitude. This is a guy that the more you need to stay away from him, the more you can't, and that's the way that Ali saw him! 3) Kat - probably my favorite character. She was unapologetically egotistical - okay, let's call it confident, she was funny, and the kind of person I would like to be friends with. She's got some issues (issues is completely the wrong word, but I'm using it to avoid spoilers) that I hope get resolved (if that's possible) in the upcoming books. And it's obvious in her name who exactly she represents from the Alice story. 4) Zombies. This is a different kind of zombie than I've encountered in other books. They seem to be...evolving. Smarter, faster. It's actually kind of creepy!

    What I Didn't Like: I didn't make some connections to the Alice story. I'm sure there were a lot more than I found, and our characters represented other characters from the Lewis Carrol story. I think, honestly, this is my fault. I think I was too excited to find out what was going to happen to pick up some of the more subtle hints. I know I'll be reading it again, and maybe I'll change this once I do!

    Overall Thoughts: For my first Gena Showalter book, Alice in Zombieland hit this one out of the park. There are some vibrant characters and a completely unique story, with subtle nods at an old favorite of mine. I loved getting to know these characters and seeing a new kind of zombie coming into this popular subgenre. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves Alice, or zombies, or both!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    loved this book! couldn't put it down. I love all Gena Showalters books! No surprize that I loved this one too. Looking forward to book 2 in this series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    What an amazing and unique story!!! Gena Showalter really outdid

    What an amazing and unique story!!! Gena Showalter really outdid herself - and with a zombie story! And if you know me at all, you know that I am not a fan if zombies, I really don't understand the craze behind it, sorry! But the whole concept of this story being inspired by Alice in Wonderland really drew me in - and did not disappoint. Most of the time, I was able to pick out which characters were who and what imagery's where taken from the original 'Wonderland' story. A few where not so easy to figure out until after I finished reading it and had some time to think about it...

    Alice is your typical teen, for the most part she is happy and loves her family, especially her little sister. And even though her father is 'disturbed and paranoid' and doesn't allow the family to do certain things because of it, she seems to handle it well... most of the time.
    In a blink of an eye, Alice loses her family in a tragic car accident... was her father right? Were his nightmarish monster fears true?... but Alice is in too much pain to think twice about it. Her family is gone and now she has to go live with her grandparents in a neighboring town next to hers. Which also means she has to go to a new school, make new friends and try to live a life without her family. Without her little sister. She will just have to do what she can do for now...

    Until she meets Cole.

    The minute Alice's eyes land on Cole there is a fierce connection - but do not be discouraged, this is no insta-love in the making. This is something else, something more that needs to be figured out, and soon... it doesn't help that Cole is a badass with swoon-worthy good looks even with the tattoos and constant bruises. He is strong, a leader and will fiercely protect what is his. But don't let him fool you and push you away, there is a well-meaning and soft side to Cole that takes a while to poke into and get used to. He knows things, things that Alice has been guessing at and she needs him to tell her if she's right or if she is as crazy as her father was.
    Alice is strong and an amazing heroine - she is not afraid to feel her sadness, do what's right, speak her mind and surprisingly, with all that she's been through and continues to go through, has an amazing sense of humor. She will not be told what to do nor be backed into a corner. She is prepared to fight back to honor her family and protect her new family and friends.

    There is never a dull moment in 'Zombieland' - set at a great ongoing pace and never a predictable moment - the zombies are everywhere. And not in the way that you think they are. Few can see these zombies. And even fewer people can stop these zombies from killing, or worse, creating other zombies.

    A zombie-story like no other! Gena Showalter met all of my 'Wonderland' expectations and gave me so much more! Whether your a fan of fairy-tales or gory zombies, this is definitely a book to read and add to your shelf!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    OMG you gotta read this series

    Yes it's YA but you will absolutely love this series. I cannot gush enough about it!!! Just pick it up and read it! It's got zombies and hotties....what more do you need??? Oh and Gena is an amazing author. I promise you will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I first have to start by saying what a clever concept this book

    I first have to start by saying what a clever concept this book has! Who would have thought you could combine zombies with a children's story?! Gena Showalter did a wondeful job of it and this book is soooo awesome! Full of endearing characters, wondeful action, and of course Ms. Showalter's signature wit you can't get a better book! The story has well thought out layers and depth and great character development. I recommend this book to everyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    So worth reading!

    Not usually a fan of YA but this doesnt dissapoint! Leaves you wanting more and cannot wait for the next installment. Characters are interesting and engaging and the chemistry is amazing with it being YA but you wont be left feeling cheated even though its mild in the steamy area, still great stuff! Still thinking about this book, and now keep staring at the clouds!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    First things first, this book has nothing to do with the origina

    First things first, this book has nothing to do with the original story... there is an appearance of a white rabbit which is significant in the book but this is nothing like Alice in Wonderland. This book is infinitely better!!

    Alice Bell is not your typical teenager, she doesn't stay out late, has never been on a date, she is always in before dark. There is a reason for this, her father can see Zombies and refuses to allow his family to leave the house after dark. Alice, or Ali, wants one thing, to see her sister's recital, despite the strict family rules she convinces her family to leave the house. By doing this Alice’s life completely changes.

    Ali goes to live with her grandparents which means a new school but her life, I can assure you, becomes a whole lot better when she meets the lush Cole Holland (swoon!) He is the leader of a gang within school, a gang most people stay away from. He is your typical bad boy and I thoroughly enjoyed Ali and Cole's interactions. They have such great chemistry :-)

    I know many people will think, oh my god, zombies! Not again! But for me this book doesn't use zombies stereotypically. Gena takes zombies and makes them something completely different. This book has a fast pace mixed with great romance. The appearance of zombies in Gena’s YA book is very refreshing! This book is 5 stars for me! I can't wait for the sequel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    4.5 stars The Good Alice in Zombieland sucked me in straight awa

    4.5 stars
    The Good
    Alice in Zombieland sucked me in straight away. I was dumbfounded by the beginning. I like books that surprise me from the get-go. It really got my adrenaline pumping and even gave me the chills sometimes. The chemistry between the characters was spot on and the storyline has major potential in regards to the rest of the series. The little references to Alice in Wonderland only made it that much more fun to read.

    Alice...
    Alice, I think, handles her family tragedy very well. I would have probably responded the same way. I felt her heart-wrenching emotions as she dealt with her loss and tried to pick herself back up. Then once she submerges herself into zombie training, she gives it her all. She becomes strong and determined. She is not one of those whiny characters. She does what's best for the majority, even when it puts herself in more danger. But it's her connection with Cole that really brings out her personality.

    Cole...
    Cole starts out as a hardcore badass. He is the kind of guy you run away from once you see his many tattoos and dangerous eyes. His attitude isn't much better either. But every time he looks into Alice's eyes, we see a different kind of Cole. One that is hard but sweet, dangerous but protective. His life has made him tough but he is the best person to have protecting your back. The more you get to know him, the more you fall in love with him. He is a total jerk to Alice in the beginning, but we soon realize that all he is trying to do is protect Alice from the fight that has taken many of his friends.

    Hot With A Capital H...
    What makes this book so fun is the fiery relationship between Alice and Cole. Their back and forth humorous banter will make you laugh out loud. The tension between them is thick enough to cut with a knife. And HOT. Can't forget HOT. I even had to fan myself a time or two.

    Gena's Forte...
    Awesome secondary characters are Gena's forte. Kat is like the perfect best friend for Alice. She is loud, self-absorbed (in a cute way), and freakin' hilarious. I was watching out for her in every scene.

    This is not a book to be taken seriously. It's a fun, sometimes scary, and exciting read that has action galore. It's not the most skillful writing ever but that didn't take away from the story at all. I read it in two days and had a smile on my face in the end.

    The Bad
    However, there are one or two things I thought about since setting down the book. Though I liked Gena's version of zombies, I also didn't like it sometimes. I don't want to give too much away, but suffice it to say, to me the zombies were less frightening than I expected.

    Also, the ending finished too fast for me. The build up was good then the climactic end just lasted for about 5 pages.

    The Snuggly
    This is one of the hottest YA books I have ever read. No sex or anything but there is some hardcore making out and petting. If you are looking for a YA book that will make your toes curl, you have found it.

    Overall
    If you are looking for an entertaining YA read, this book is for you. If you are looking for a twist in the zombie genre, this book is for you. If you are looking for amazing characterization and a story that will keep you reading, Alice in Zombieland is the book for you. Highly recommende

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A GraveTells review: Good ole monster-slaying fun! Alice in Zom

    A GraveTells review: Good ole monster-slaying fun!

    Alice in Zombieland is riveting and addicting... from the very first sentence. Ali loses her family to a zombie attack in the beginning of the book; that's no spoiler, she mourns about it in the prologue. What completely blindsided me, however, was how deep and intense her grief was and how much it affected me. Here I am sniffling and tearing up on the train on my commute home, barely 10 minutes after picking up the book! I probably looked as funny as the lady across from me who was talking to herself.

    Ali's friend Kat is a veritable whirlwind, a tornado of peppy energy and urban slang of her own creation. Just listening to her talk makes me feel exhausted, but she is so vibrant and engaging, she really shines out of the pages. Ali's first friend after the accident, Kat manages to weave her way into just about all of Ali's personal business... meaning we get to see a lot of her. She's a freaking force of nature, and hella fun.

    On to Cole Holland, the mysterious bad boy of the school who is both a fearsome leader and a classic gentleman. His periodic scrapes and bruises, thunderous scowls, and devilishly handsome serial killer face make him a force to be reckoned with... or persistently avoided... and he somehow has a strange otherworldly connection to our Alice, transporting them off into dreamland whenever they see each other every morning.

    Of course, you can't talk about Alice in Zombieland without a huge nod to our fearless heroine, Alice aka Ali. Quirky and driven, Ali has a spine of steel and a heart of gold. She's self-sufficient and more than a little skilled as a fighter, and her guilt over her family and friends' deaths keeps her determination rigidly focused on ridding the world of zombies. Not every author can pull off believable (and enjoyable) modern teenage slang (Ali & co.) while also humorously bastardizing it into something my grandparents might try to use to talk on a teenager's level. It helps give the characterization, which is already brilliant, depth and engaging humor.

    This might be a young adult book, but the sexual tension between Ali and Cole is palpable and electric, and the scenes are blazing with chemistry even though its all relatively tame. I found myself pushing on just for another taste of that addictive connection between them, not even considering the expert writing skills Ms. Showalter brings to all her work. This is a book every lover of PNR and YA will want to read... and even some who have turned up their noses at the genre. Alice in Zombieland is just good ole monster-slaying fun!

    These zombies are not your typical brain-eating, slow-moving, grunting and stupid automatons with a shuffling gait. They are scary, fast, and feel frighteningly real. I'm not a zombie kind of gal. I don't like horror, gore, or things that go bump in the night. I find rotting flesh and nomming brains way more disgusting than entertaining, and I like my action books dosed with a healthy heaping of steamy, sweaty naughtiness. Based on all that, you'd think Alice in Zombieland is definitely not my kind of story, but this book is GOOD! With very little sexual content, Alice and Cole steam up the pages (can I have my own Cole? Pretty please?), and even the down and dirty zombie scenes had me wanting more, more, more!

    If you like paranormal romance and urban fantasy and only read 5 books this year, Gena Showalter's Alice in Zombieland should be on that list! In a genre where 'original' is quickly giving way to 'same old regurgitated plot', AiZ is fresh and unique, and a "must read"!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I was excited to read this being the first in a new series calle

    I was excited to read this being the first in a new series called “The White Rabbit Chronicles”. It was amazing from start to finish.

    Alice Bell ~ call me Ali she says, is a typical teenager if not being able to go outside after dark is typical. Her dad sees monsters he says and no one is safe at night.

    Ali absolutely loves her younger sister and her mom and dad, so when a car accident takes them away from her she is devastated. When she rethinks the accident and what she saw that night, her dad was right….no one is safe at night…and yes she did now believe there were monsters because that night she saw them for the first time.

    Ali is now living with her grandparents, starting a new school and trying to carry on without her sister and parents. If she could tell them she loves them once she would be happy.

    She meets new friends and enemies and comes to understand the monsters a bit more. Oh did I mention the monsters were Zombies. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series to follow Ali and her friends fight the zombies and find out what’s in store for them.

    Of course there is a little romance in this book and Ali has more than one admirer. Will she go for the good guy or the bad guy and which is which? You will have to read it to find out. You don’t want to pass this series by.

    Gena Showalter knows how to show you a good time with her awesome storytelling.
    Twists and Turns are only a little excitement she has in store for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I was so excited to have this land in my review pile. Not only i

    I was so excited to have this land in my review pile. Not only is it the latest YA offering of one of the best (in my opinion) paranormal authors in the market, it also has zombies!

    Do not be confused by the book or series title; this is not a supernatural re-telling of the Lewis Carroll classic Alice in Wonderland. Yes with the world Alice suddenly finds herself in, she could be forgiven for thinking she had somehow fell down a hole through a looking glass but this is a truly original story that pays homage to the classic.

    Those of you who have also spent many an hour immersed in the pages of a Showalter epic before will certainly not be disappointed, and for those of you who have not encountered her work before- well this is the perfect place to start!

    Alice in Zombieland is an epic adventure that will leave you breathless, wanting to kick some nasty zombie butt of your own and quite possibly developing a crush or two.
    The writing style is the perfect balance between descriptive and narrative, the action full on the zombies a whole new frightening breed and the romance sweet and heartfelt. And of course there is plenty of humor and sarcastic quips to help balance out the fright factor.

    In fact the only downside for me was that the ride was over too quick! The pages flew by in an absolute blur and I found myself reaching the last page mere hours after starting the first.

    Alice in Zombieland will enthrall both YA and adult readers and leave you desperate for the next installment. This is THE best YA I have had the pleasure of devouring this year and one certainly not to be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This sounds like a cheap copy of Lewis Carol's AMAZING books. I

    This sounds like a cheap copy of Lewis Carol's AMAZING books.
    I don't even want to look at it! What is the point of writing a book that has almost the EXACT title as an amazing classic!?? I am disgusted. I cannot believe the nerve of the author. An almost copyright infringement fine should be issued!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Kate

    The plot was was weak and it seemed to focus around how hot the main love interest boy is. I do not recommend. Alice's reaction to the death of her family was not very realistic. Throughout the book i was waiting for something more than a girl fan-girling o how hot this guy is and starting cat fights with her competition. The zombie action seemed corny and it read like any other cheap zombie book. I am sorry if this affends any one, but this book was not worth the money i paid for it. If you do not like overused amd tirering teenage plot i reccomend that you do not buy this. But if you like terrible works like Twilight, The Host, or Divergent (yes, i did read them all); then this is the next terrible book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Alice in zombieland

    One of the best very good book I recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Title: ¿Alice in Zombieland¿ Author: Gena Showalter Publication

    Title: “Alice in Zombieland”
    Author: Gena Showalter
    Publication date: 9/25/12
    Type of book: Teen paranormal romance/zombies.
    Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? Yes, this is book one. Book two is called “Through the zombie glass”.
    Summary: Alice Bell and her little sister have lived a very sheltered life. Alice’s father believes in zombies and as a result he keeps a tight hold on his wife and children. Alice believes her father is crazy until the day that her life is shattered before her eyes. With nothing left to lose, Alice decides to join forces with the only people who can teach her to fight back and live. 
    Characters: *Alice is a character that I really liked. Her emotions felt real and I liked how strong she was in the book.
    *Cole is a great guy and a very sexy character. I love how devoted he is and how he isn’t afraid to say what he feels. 
    *Kat and Frosty are very fun characters. Kat is feisty and has a very interesting story of her own. Frosty is strong and sweet when it comes to Kat. I can’t wait to read more about them.  
    Favorite bits: I like the interesting take on zombies. The romance felt real and I am excited to see where it goes. It had some great fight scenes and the danger felt very real. I just really like anything that Gena writes. 
    Problematic bits: I have nothing negative to say about this book. Like I said, I like all of Gena’s books.
    *Go out and get this book today, you will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9