Customer Reviews for

Alice in Zombieland

Average Rating 3
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Its a great book

Its actually the best book I ever read. Some parts would be gross but its actually suppose to be nasty becuase the title is "Alice in Zombieland". If you like mystery and zombies like me this is your book. Some kids will love this book trust me because I'm a little girl...
Its actually the best book I ever read. Some parts would be gross but its actually suppose to be nasty becuase the title is "Alice in Zombieland". If you like mystery and zombies like me this is your book. Some kids will love this book trust me because I'm a little girl

posted by 8637261 on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

It had its moments, but falls short

The book certainly had its' fun moments! Zombieland was well written and well thought out. It certainly put a funny twist on Wonderland (even though Wonderland is quirky to begin with anyway). It's definitely not for the squeamish, as body parts are flying everywhere an...
The book certainly had its' fun moments! Zombieland was well written and well thought out. It certainly put a funny twist on Wonderland (even though Wonderland is quirky to begin with anyway). It's definitely not for the squeamish, as body parts are flying everywhere and Alice gets a craving for a bite of flesh once very so often. The characters are all there, they're just zombified. The only difference I have seen is instead of a White Rabbit, you have a Black Rat instead. (If I am wrong, forgive me, it's been a while since I've read the original Alice in Wonderland).

The zombie element does not really get in the way of the plot, so nothing much has really changed. My favorite moment was the croquet game between the Queen and Alice - it's more of a croquet game with body parts which was laughable and was fun to read through.

Even though it was a fun idea, I felt like there just could have been more to this story. There just wasn't enough to it that I could fully enjoy the book. To me, it felt as if they just copied and pasted the zombie bits of the story and added it to Alice in Wonderland, and just changed the title appropriately. It just felt like a very haphazard read.

Perhaps what I wanted to see was, a twist to the plot to enhance the zombie aspect of the novel. Not just zombies added. It did feel like all you got was a simple add on to the story (something similar to an expansion pack for a game). More could be done with the combination but sad to say, there really wasn't anything to it.

It was a clever idea, and it had potential, but a lot more could have been done with this book. Instead, what you got was a few cut and paste moments of zombie goodness. Some parts were good and fun to read, but it just seemed to be lacking in something big to make this book exceptionally good and read worthy.

posted by Sensitivemuse on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It had its moments, but falls short

    The book certainly had its' fun moments! Zombieland was well written and well thought out. It certainly put a funny twist on Wonderland (even though Wonderland is quirky to begin with anyway). It's definitely not for the squeamish, as body parts are flying everywhere and Alice gets a craving for a bite of flesh once very so often. The characters are all there, they're just zombified. The only difference I have seen is instead of a White Rabbit, you have a Black Rat instead. (If I am wrong, forgive me, it's been a while since I've read the original Alice in Wonderland).

    The zombie element does not really get in the way of the plot, so nothing much has really changed. My favorite moment was the croquet game between the Queen and Alice - it's more of a croquet game with body parts which was laughable and was fun to read through.

    Even though it was a fun idea, I felt like there just could have been more to this story. There just wasn't enough to it that I could fully enjoy the book. To me, it felt as if they just copied and pasted the zombie bits of the story and added it to Alice in Wonderland, and just changed the title appropriately. It just felt like a very haphazard read.

    Perhaps what I wanted to see was, a twist to the plot to enhance the zombie aspect of the novel. Not just zombies added. It did feel like all you got was a simple add on to the story (something similar to an expansion pack for a game). More could be done with the combination but sad to say, there really wasn't anything to it.

    It was a clever idea, and it had potential, but a lot more could have been done with this book. Instead, what you got was a few cut and paste moments of zombie goodness. Some parts were good and fun to read, but it just seemed to be lacking in something big to make this book exceptionally good and read worthy.

    37 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Its a great book

    Its actually the best book I ever read. Some parts would be gross but its actually suppose to be nasty becuase the title is "Alice in Zombieland". If you like mystery and zombies like me this is your book. Some kids will love this book trust me because I'm a little girl

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Book sucks

    It was the most horrible book ever


    Ps i loved it

    22 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Interestsing and disturbing

    This was a very interesting and disturbing book. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that can handle gore!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    The story is fine. it's Alice as a Zombie. But the great thing a

    The story is fine. it's Alice as a Zombie. But the great thing about this mash-up is that it comes with illustrations! The original John Tenniell classics re-imagined. So cool!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alice In Zombieland

    A lot of classic novels are being retold with a horrific theme, and Alice in Wonderland is one of them. This retelling has Alice following a black rat and falling down an open grave and into Zombieland. Although written with a humorous bent and following the original somewhat, I did not find this to be as exciting or interesting as I first hoped.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a gorey-fied version of Alice In Wonderland. I wonder what the age appropriate is for this book. It certainly doesn't come under the category of a bedtime story. Are the free Friday offers books that no one wants to read or buy, because I would not buy this book for myself or for my child. Since it was offered for free, I read it and did find it amusing.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    THANK-YOU, HARRIET!!!

    I hope the ragging on you dies down soon; you have made my selection process SO much more-informed than before I found you! Your reviews are THE FIRST THING I look for whe faced with an unfamiliar title! HOORAY FOR HARRIET AND HER CONCISE YET ENLIGHTENING, WONDERFUL REVIEWS!!! You go, Girl!!

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good book!

    I loved this book. It good for the people that are into the whole zombie, weird & funny kind of stuff.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Harriet Klausner needs to be banned from writing reviews.....she spoils the plot of the story everytime....no need to get this book now..thanks again Harriet!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Missed potential

    Brief take on the classic Alice story with altered characters that seem to fall short of the potential from a story like this. I found myself wishing that the author had been more creative instead of randomly switching out words for "zombie" and the like. Very quick read; glad it was a freebie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great!

    Great B&N, another stupid free book. Can we get a free friday with a quality book?

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    You know...

    I have watched a Face Off episode and they did "Alice in Zombieland". Maybe that's where Makenzie got the idea from.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love this book!

    I loved this book! I would really like to see this as a movie, it would be crazy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    needs some changes

    ok i have 2 problems with this book. first off the sample is way too short to even get an idea of wether or not you want to buy it. second $10.00 is way too much for a nook book. there are way too many books for the nook that are less than $5.00. i wont spend that much!!! it needs a much longer sample. this book was recomended to me by fellow reader.....needs some changes!!!!

    2 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Bad

    This book is awful.

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Alice in zombieland

    Its a very good book if you love books that are about the dead

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Amazballs

    Love this book !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    0_0

    It was creepy in the middle and beginning but the author may have gotin a little TOO crazy at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Cool

    Its gross but entertaning and cool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11