Customer Reviews for

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Collins Classics)

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Of Facts and Chaos

Alice in Wonderland is an imaginative satire on the British education system of the nineteenth century. The unreasonable environment in which the story takes place exemplifies all the shortcomings of the British education system as seen by Lewis Carroll, evident in the...
Alice in Wonderland is an imaginative satire on the British education system of the nineteenth century. The unreasonable environment in which the story takes place exemplifies all the shortcomings of the British education system as seen by Lewis Carroll, evident in the often inverted situations Alice constantly encounters throughout the course of the story. It is clearly evident in this story that Lewis Carroll questioned the worth of British education. Pandemonium seems to omnipresent throughout the entire story. The fantastic qualities of the setting in conjunction with Alice¿s character traits allow for the most unreasonable events to occur. Thus, the conditions favor events that are more bizarre. Had the principles of a more solid education been engrained in Alice, the story would probably have ended abruptly as soon as she realized the ridiculousness of it all. However, because she was not adequately educated, the British education reflected in her actions and speech. Oftentimes, she refers to knowledge of subjects that she learns in school, but it would all come out wrong. Her knowledge of science is obviously incorrect and the verses she recites have substituted words that completely distort the verse. Yet through her warped reasoning and the aid of the chaotic environment, she is somehow able to make sense of it all! Clearly, these anomalies suggest that the British education system was far from useful and adequate during the nineteenth century. Although presented in the imaginative manner of a children¿s book, the message embedded within Alice in Wonderland is still clear. Only with British education of the nineteenth century can people go through an experience like that of Alice, unable to realize the ridiculousness surrounding them.

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Illegible

The formatting makes it impossible to read.

posted by PhilMarlowe on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 282 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    audiobook is not nook compatible

    The audiobook mentioned was a selling point for me. It isn't a file, but a text internet address on the very last page of the ebook that the nook does not recognize as a hyperlink. Apparently this guy Sam Ngo went and found the free ebook with illustrations and also found a free audiobook file on an archive website somewhere and wrote out the file's internet address on the last page of the book and epub'd it. You would have to look up the file online from your computer, download the audiobook and physically hook up your nook to transfer the file from your computer to your nook. So why pay this guy 1.99? Just go out and find the free files yourself. Probably deleting this. Oh and you have to laugh when the guy says "money back guaranteed... just email us" and then he doesn't give you and email address.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Calli

    Im tired so im gonna go to bed good night!!!(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Austin

    Night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Ok

    Why so short? It must be a diffrent version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Alices adventures

    I have not read this yet but does this book have 'Alice in wonderland' and 'Through the looking glass? If someone would kindly reply, please title the post 'About the book'. Plaese and thankyou!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Other Version

    I've never read this exact book, but ive read one with the same author. I bet it is good though. BTW my name is Allyssa Gardy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Welcome to MidnightPack

    I am Scarlet, your alpha female. If you would like to join as a pack wolf, go ahead to res 2 and ask me! If you want a rank, you may choose from the below and then write an application.<p>


    • Beta Female <br>
    • Beta Male<br>
    • Delta Female<br>
    • Delta Male<br>
    • Hunting leader<br>
    • Patrol leader<br>
    • Guard leader<br>
    • Guard<br>
    • Hunter<p>


    And write an application at 'midnight' res 1. Thank you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Catstar

    Reply if you want to be in my lolcats fan club!
    ^ ^
    (o o)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Ok

    Ok is alices advantures in wonderland the same thing a alice in wonderland?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Not bad

    Like its the same than the reaglar book
    "Ailce in wonderland" duhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Having never seen the movie or hearing the children's book, I en

    Having never seen the movie or hearing the children's book, I enjoyed this book very much. Charles Dodgson/Lewis Carroll does a great
    job at telling the story of young Alice in Wonderland. Describing her different quirks and how she acts with all the animals in Wonderland. This
    is a story of how Alice comes to find herself as a person, when traveling through Wonderland. Very naive and innocent, Alice makes her way
    through Wonderland, discovering odd animals and people that are all claimed to be &quot;mad&quot;.  Cheshire Cat a new friend of Alice, try's to explain 
    this to her and become a friend to her. But just as quick as Cheshire Cat is introduced he is taken out, as Alice quickly makes her way closer to
    getting out of Wonderland. It is very much so true, that all of the people in Wonderland are all mad, because throughout the story Alice encounters
    many different characters that are animals that are able to talk and act like people. It might be true that Alice is also mad but the difference
    between her and all of the animals and people that she met she was able to get out of Wonderland unlike them. To conclude I enjoyed this
    book very much and loved the way all of these characters have there own backgrounds that tie into Alice's Story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    DiamondSolace review #2 DiamondSolace review#2

    So apparently I was VERY wrong about my last review, there are more than a few errors, the whole thing is illegible (unreadable).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    amazing Amazing book

    I think this is the best book ever so far and who ever has not read this book i surgest that you read this book and that i hope you like the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Its a prety good book

    People should really read the book before you wach the movie. That was a huge mastake that I made. I wached all of the movies before I read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    bookworm

    I've always enjoyed the tale, and I am never disappointed with this book. well written, and runs with the imagination. a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Dont buy

    Not real book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    REALLY

    Do you know how many misakes there is

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Ummmm

    I don't even know why I gave this book a three. I didn't even feel like finishing it and so I didn't.... I guess maybe I just felt weird for judging it too harshly as everyone seems to love this book. Also I know how Alice Through the Looking Glass ends and so I find this world of Wonderland interesting.... But Alice I just did not find interesting at all. For a character that is partrayed as so powerful in the movies she sure is dull in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 282 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15