Customer Reviews for

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Camille Rose Garcia Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 733 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Its alice in wonderland!

Who cares if there are mistakes? I KNOW i dont. :)

posted by 17687968 on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

DON'T USE THIS VERSION! spelling and formating errors

The misspelled words in this version can be distracting. Also, the line breaks are awkward. Some sentences stop halfway across the page and begin again two lines down. (distracting isn't it?)It takes a lot away from an otherwise great book. Ex: Pm instead of I'm Ahce in...
The misspelled words in this version can be distracting. Also, the line breaks are awkward. Some sentences stop halfway across the page and begin again two lines down. (distracting isn't it?)It takes a lot away from an otherwise great book. Ex: Pm instead of I'm Ahce instead of Alice

posted by 5898316 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Good

    Good. Slightly boring. Bit good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Very good read but Many typos

    Very interesting book but all the typos make it very hard to read. Takes a lot of personal creativity to work around.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Very onapropiate!!

    This book is exteremeley inapropiate!!! I could not belive how terrible and x rated thus book is!!! I let my 15 year old son read it and now he's scared for life! This worse than the twilight books and worse than pornagraphy! Yea I'm taking about alice in wonder land! Do not ever ever let your pure child read this horrible perverted book! This book is the worst in the stack!I tried to read it but I freaked out and cracked my nook screen with a hammer! It is so gross. I hilgey do not recomend.. god bless you! Amen

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    hsh

    thsis is a little weird tgere is the same xomments on here as the otber alice in wonderkand book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    ?

    You mean the movie is way differnt from the book -_-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Kb

    Do you wantto do this all night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    DiamondSolace Review

    Great overall, but there were lots of spelling errors when I read it. In this case, the book was better than the movie.
    Recommendation: 11-18 yrs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review for the Norton Critical Edition

    This NCE contains Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Through the Looking Glass, and The Hunting of the Snark. I was pleased with the footnotes, which were helpful in clarifying many of Carroll's jokes. The critical information included some interesting biographies/diaries of Dodgson (Carroll), as well as a few critical essays. I was disappointed in these because although they were mostly good, the editor clearly has some negative feelings about Dodgson's morals and included many unnecessary Freudian-finger-pointing passages. If I were younger or more impressionable, I'd have been left with a very negative view of Dodgson indeed! Because of these attempts at manipulating the readers' good opinions of Dodgson, I wish I had gotten The Annotated Alice instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    So many mistakes!!!!

    There were so many spelling and grammer mistakes it drove me crazy!!!!!!!!! The storyline was great, I mean,who doesn`t love Alice in Wonderland? I just wish someone could have revised and edited better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    To kitty cat

    No

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Minor....

    Some minor typos. Its fine and also has pictures. Not in its best but certainly better than others i have witnessed.it follows the original okay. Like i said typos and some parts that are a lil confusing. Its average but im positive there is something better out there than this copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    It's okay... lots of typos though

    There is alot of typos so far, and i'm only on the 1st chapter!!! I really hope the mistakes and random print lessen throughout the book, because this is one of my favorite stories and a classic for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    REVIEW

    this is a great book for little kids and an action filled book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    find a different one

    The misspelling of Alices name so many times is annoying. It can confuse children if they are the ones reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magic Potions?

    Hadn't read this since childhood and thought I would give it another try with the movie and all the publicity. I found I had the same questions now that I had when I was 11. Maybe it portended the whole psychedelic era? It did make me have Jefferson Airplane in my mind for a week.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    An interesting book, but not exactly what I had imagined...

    Alice in Wonderland, a magical tale of a small girl¿s journey into a land filled with imagination, was not quite all that I had expected. While this book¿s descriptions of the Cheshire cat, a monarchy made of playing cards, and the Mad Hatter were magnificent, the content of the story did not live up to the hype. At times, the plot skipped from place to place without so much as an explanation and several of Alice¿s actions seemed utterly random. As a character, I did not find Alice to be credible or interesting, she seemed two dimensional and self-centered. While I didn¿t much enjoy the plot of this book, the writing was truly inspiring. Lewis Carroll managed to convey this far- fetched world without a shadow of doubt being cast in the reader¿s mind as to what Wonderland looked like. His ability to write such vivid descriptions alone is a reason to read this book. While describing Alice¿s odd and twisted game of croquet, with hedgehogs in the place of croquet balls, and all the players pushing for their turn, the author managed to convey the humor while not sacrificing any description. For any aspiring writer, this is a worthwhile read, if just for the purpose of observing Lewis Carroll¿s exemplary talent for writing. When I selected this book, my rational was that I had never read Alice in Wonderland, and I felt as if I would be missing something it I didn¿t experience it. After finishing this classic, I believe that I would have been better served by reading it when I was younger. The fantasy aspect of this book is geared towards smaller children, who would probably enjoy this book much more than I did. I felt that the short length of this book did not work to its favor. I would have appreciated a more in depth and complex look at Wonderland. One of the reasons that I did not fully appreciate Alice as a character was that the reader never fully came to understand her. Her actions seemed random, because I did not truly understand her motives. An extra twenty pages could have vastly improve the quality of this book by allowing the reader to obtain a more three dimensional view of Alice and the world around her. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy fantasy or are looking for the overall experience of this classic. I found this story to be enjoyable, but not one of the best I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Adventures in Confusion

    Adventures in Confusion Many people have fond memories of watching Disney¿s adaptation of Lewis Carroll¿s Alice in Wonderland, however, the wonder and amazement encapsulated by the movie is not found in the book. The characters are just as weird, and the setting just as fantastical, but the book comes off more as a random assortment of events rather than a magical journey. Alice¿s adventures seem so random and haphazard that it¿s hard to find meaning in her actions. One moment she is having tea with the mad hatter while the next second she¿s talking with a hookah smoking caterpillar or listening to the laments of a sad donkey like creature. Most events are rather random and could be interchanged with each other and not create a major disruption to the story. The fantastical nature of the characters and setting also adds to confusion. It¿s this randomness and seemingly purposeless propelling of the story that makes the book rather unenjoyable and confusing. A reader who enjoys thinking very hard and deeply about what he/she reads could find Alice in Wonderland very enjoyable, especially when he/she finishes the book, but I found the process to be confusing, hard, and made the reading more of a chore. Also, I¿m not sure if the theme that I have departed from the book with is actually correctly deduced or something that I forced from the book. Alice in Wonderland suffers because the events of the story seem to have no point and the unusualness of the setting and characters adds to the difficulty of finding meaning. Alice in Wonderland is more famous for its adaptation as a children¿s cartoon than as a novel. The difference in the depth of reading between the two is very high, making reading the book more of a chore than a joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Alice Falls Down A Hole and Discovers New World

    I think this fictional book for young readers is a three star book. It has alot of action and is a magical story. It grabs the readers attention right away with Alice falling down a huge hole that seems like it will never end. The action contin ues as she observes a new world in which all the creatures that talk. She drinks and eats different things that make her shrink, grow tall, big, and stretches her neck. Luckily she can always shrink or grow back to normal. There is also danger in this book. An evil queen orders almost everyone's (including Alice's) head to be cut off. Alice must do something fast or she'll be beheaded! Then something magical happens to her. How will she escape?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5