Customer Reviews for

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass

Average Rating 4
( 1517 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(725)

4 Star

(376)

3 Star

(215)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Well Done

I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter fo...
I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter for hours. I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind and a wild imagination. Instant Classic on my shelf

posted by Bran on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A New Appreciation

I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to ...
I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to read the book and get the original story since I never read it before. I was not overly impressed by the story but enthralled with the imagination and creativity of the world that Alice "falls" into. However I now have more respect for the classic and I definitely think it is something everyone should have in their library as a reminder of what real creativity and imagination was like without being gruesome and gory.

posted by 3432638 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1524 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 77
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Nice try.

    An admirable effort at making literary classics available to the masses, but I had two major problems with this copy.
    Item 1: TYPOS! The transfer from the page to digital file is atrocious! I have read these novels over twenty times each and I was having to stop and re-read sections for the misspellings, incorrect grammar and odd spacing. I had to stop reading at page 4 because the format was so distracting.
    Item 2: No page turn technology. I could possibly have gotten over the fact that I needed to use my mouse to turn the pages as opposed to using the arrow keys, but its not that hard to fix.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!

    I am a 10 year old homeschooler and I absolutely loved this book!! I could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a classic for a reason--excellent and timeless

    Lewis Carroll has given us an extremely witty and creative tale that is completely delightful. On the surface this may appear to be a children's book, but it is not. It is too sophisticated for young children and the humor would simply be "over their heads." The characters behave exactly as you would expect--unreasonable and illogical--once you finally understand their setting (learned at the end of the story, and I won't spoil it for you here). This is a wonderful book deserving multiple reads. I hated the introduction by Tan Lin, and wish it had been written by someone else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    love it!!

    This book is great; it is a great escape from life. I recommend it to anyone!!! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Surely Capture the Reader's Heart!

    "Alice in Wonderland," by Lewis Carrol is a truly amazing book, filled with imagination and creativity. While reading, the reader will find that the author truly has a wonderful gift of being able to transport anyone anywhere with his words. Alice's adventure in Wonderland is like no other, a tale which will surely capture the reader's heart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Always loved it.

    I had Alice in Wonderland read to me often when I was little, and watched the Disney movie constantly, so when I reread it again recently I was pleased that it still made me feel the same way it did when I was little, and I enjoyed it just as much. It's so dreamy, and reminds me of when I was just a little girl.

    Everyone should read this book. It's just one of those things that everyone HAS read, you know?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    never mind what a jabberwocky is.

    Carroll has always had a misunderstood legacy. He was an man who had such as vivid imagination that only children can truly comprehend the man behind the myth. despite what some people say, this book was by no means dark or Creepy. it was a light-hearted romp through a land with wacky rules and even goofier characters

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Ultimate in fantasy

    These are the kinds of books that add to a child's already creative and imaginative nature. However, they are also for adults as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Suberb!! Exquisite!!

    The wierdness and abstract perspective depicted in Lewis Carroll's engaging novel may seem like complete and utter insanity at first, but when you take the time to really read between the lines you find that...you were right!! Sometimes it's good for your mind and health to just stop worrying and enjoy a nice bout of good-humoured insanity once in a while. Even still, you may find some worthy life lessons to follow in this book of glorious nonsense, such as the symbolism of the dream rushes in Through the Looking Glass. All in all, an excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Great

    It is understanding how a much younger person would find this book boring without being able to relate to it at all. But I think that that is what makes this book golden, as it has been for years. Many people have seen the Disney version of 'Alice in Wonderland.' However I found it to be much more thrilling to read the original, therefore you should too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Extremely Boring!!

    I mistakenly bought this book knowing it was a classic and figured that meant it was good. Wrong! This book is so boring I could hardly get through it. There is basicaly no plot or purpose, just a bunch of references you don't get because it was written so long ago. I recommend that you DON'T read this book if you at all value your time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Off With His Head!

    Starting with Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, I thought it was a strange,but good book. The Mock Turtle, Queen of Hearts,The White Rabbit. They're all good characters! Through the looking Glass I liked better than the first. The idea of going through a mirror into another world I think is wonderful! The poems Jabberwocky,The Lion and the Unicorn and Tweedledee and Tweedledum were great! This book will expand a child's imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    All mimsy were the borogoves...

    Such begins the insane, beautiful poem 'Jabberwocky' in Through the Looking-Glass. Alice In Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass are both splendid. I will choose to focus on Through the Looking Glass, however, as it has remained my favourite for several years. I believe it is a tale for all ages. Every time I read it, I gain some new little bit of insight. The imagination poured into the story will amaze you, as you hop through a mirror and into a world of living chess pieces and epic poetry told by weird little dancing men. In the end, I realized that it is very much like a crazy dream that you wake up wishing you could remember more of. Its really marvelous, so you must read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely love this book! Such a great read, and the book itsel

    Absolutely love this book! Such a great read, and the book itself is so pretty. Love the pink edged pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Star's Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Aubrey

    I hate the cartoon kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Alice's Adventures is wondetful!

    A great fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Awesome

    I love this book so much it is just one of my favorites just the first part was abit slow.......but ethir way its still an awesome book tha i will read my kids when i have kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Hi

    Hi i havent read this yet but im gonig to this year and ive seen all of its movies and i know it should be good bacuse its a indnty search and those are awesome i mean my fav prieceness is actually Malun and thats a indetny serch and ive always loved it, so i know i will love this because its a indety search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1524 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 77