Customer Reviews for

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(724)

4 Star

(375)

3 Star

(214)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Well Done

I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter fo...
I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter for hours. I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind and a wild imagination. Instant Classic on my shelf

posted by Bran on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A New Appreciation

I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to ...
I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to read the book and get the original story since I never read it before. I was not overly impressed by the story but enthralled with the imagination and creativity of the world that Alice "falls" into. However I now have more respect for the classic and I definitely think it is something everyone should have in their library as a reminder of what real creativity and imagination was like without being gruesome and gory.

posted by 3432638 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    Alice in Wonderland--8 years and counting

    I apologize in advance, to anyone who may be offended by my thoughts. I've tried a total of 5 times in the last 8 years to finish or appreciate this book. I just can't for some reason. I recently tried again; for the sake of bettering myself, reading any type of genre I can, and exploring classic literature. I moved down my list of "the must reads" and then came back to my old nemesis "Alice in Wonderland"; I took a deep breath and went in with an open mind. I've read hundreds of reviews for this story mostly all on glowing terms and love for this book. There must be something I'm missing, because it just doesn't pull me in. It's so odd, I love fantasy and fairy tales but Lewis Carroll's world just doesn't make me want to follow the white rabbit. I really don't understand, maybe I'm trying too hard. I guess I'll try again next year.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    Likely One of the Worst Books I Have Ever Read

    Alice's Adventure's in Wonderland was, to me, immensely tedious, as well as pointless. The main character, Alice, was an imbecile, and seemed quite self- centred. She had a one- track mind and continually made the same idiotic mistakes. None of the characters particularly grew on me, and they all seemed to have one side to them, as they were undeveloped. Overall, the characters, as well as the dull story line, make this book one that I wish I had never picked up.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Extremely Boring!!

    I mistakenly bought this book knowing it was a classic and figured that meant it was good. Wrong! This book is so boring I could hardly get through it. There is basicaly no plot or purpose, just a bunch of references you don't get because it was written so long ago. I recommend that you DON'T read this book if you at all value your time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    What was I thinking when i purchased this?

    Not what I had hoped. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wells

    YOU LIED!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    0 stars was not an option

    If u think the publishing wuz bad i know how u feel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Deyanira Semira

    Deyanira is a troublesome girl with a dark and devious mind. Her first name, meaning "capable of destruction," describes her in the most fitting of ways. Ever since she was little, she has been suffering through delusions of grandeur, swift personality changes, and dark-featured imaginary friends. Now fourteen-years-old, Deyanira has made a few terrible decisions
    .. <br>
    Which all led to her becoming more and more interested in the girl she knows to be named Alice. <br>
    Her outfits change as much as her personality, and that is saying something. Her most favourite dress reaches down to just above her knees with a full, child-like skirt. The sleeves are elegant and bell-shaped, giving a slight rise to her shoulders. A slit up the side of her skirt, which exposes a white ruffled petticoat, ends in a messily tied bow at her hip. She always wears a corset, often ripped, to show off her already naturally small waist. The dress matches the colour of glorious, freshly-drawn blood. <br>
    Deyanira takes pride in her accessories. Among her most worn and used? A crooked, frayed tophat that has chunks taken out of the brim, a lacy parasol, fishnet gloves that are typically ripped, and a black choker with her family crest. <br>
    Her eyes are a striking shade of blue; wide, innocent, and darkly-lashed. Blonde hair cascades down her back in choppy strands. Looks don't matter much to her, but she will use them to her advantage. <br>
    There is something about Deyanira that she would never share with a single soul. Perhaps it is where she is from, what she has done, or the things that haunt her jaded mind.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Version

    This version is not a very good one. I would not have purchased this book knowing the quality. I could not read the last sentence on every page , making the book very hard to read. Not good quality but i love this story. Ifonly i could find a good quality one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Ripped me off

    I bought this book but I was only allowed to read the sample. I will be trying to avoid any future business with Barnes and Noble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Blank

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Stupid

    U

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    hey peoples... please answer question above

    Has any body experienced the same thing that I have? When you go to this series of Free Alice and Wonderlands (you are there if you are reading this review) and you downlowd it... well... my nook frose up, I think it was a virus. One feature of my nook was gone after a while. The first thing to go was my internet... evan though I had perfect wifi conection. Then, next morning, I got up and was not able to unlock it.. luckly I called up B&N and my nook was able to recover... any simular experiances?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Haha

    You're one to talk being you spelled SENSE wrong. You spelled sence... thats not even a word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Typos everywhere

    I gave up trying to read it because typos are everywhere. Good luck trying to make some sence out of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Dull

    Dull, boring, pointless, rambling. So boring I had to force myself to read it and eventually quit without finishing. So glad I didn' t waste much money on it. Going to find something more enjoyable to read...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    !

    This book is soooooooooo boring and it doesnt make any sense

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    How

    How many pages r in it?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    Lewis Carroll had some good mushrooms on his salad.

    This is absolutely trite rubbish. A bizarre mess that seems to have been jotted down during some sort of drug-induced hallucination and pieced together when sober, Alice in Wonderland is a mixture of chaos and idiocy. All of the characters are various versions of insane, and that's not a good thing. Lewis Carroll likes to throw a lot of "advice" (as well as tea) at the wall, hoping some of it sticks. Most of it is garbled nonsense, and what isn't was obviously happened upon by accident. The Jabberwocky poem by itself might be considered acceptable literature in the same way that Picasso is considered an accepted artist; by making things up, it creates the illusion that it is of good quality. Complete nonsense without a structure or purpose, Alice in Wonderland would make a great children's book, if a 6 year old is reading at a 10th grade level. How this managed to become one of the all time classics, I'll never understand. I suppose simple things amuse simple minds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Alice in Wonderland = Terrible

    I know this may upset some people but as a read I found this book to be incoherent, without plot and inconsistent. This book appears, to me, to be a collection of short stories with new setting and characters in each one. In addition to this the flow between each story is hardly present. The serious lack of plot also grates against me, at first I thought trying to get home may be a goal of the book, then maybe trying to get to the garden through the little door but this either didn't materialise or was a useless attempt at binding the chapters. The inconsistencies in Alice's character seems too obvious to me to be overlooked, one moment she's crying her eye's out over nothing next she's standing up to people. The Duchess's character alteration is incredible first yelling and shouting next snuggling up to Alice as if she's an old friend? Plus, Alice accepts this situation all too easily. Anyone notice the morbid theme running through the end of the majority of the poems? something usually dies! As an aside, for today's child reader the language used might be a little difficult. Also they may have to use a dictionary occasionaly to understand a few words eg. hookah, comfit etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    I wouldn't recommend it!

    Alice in wonderland was one of my favorite stories growing up. The library has an audio book read by Flo Gibson (sp may not be correct) - But I wanted a copy for myself. And when I saw that this one had through the looking glass as well I was very excited. That was up until I got it. The reader, Chris, is terrible! He over dramatises everything. That in itself is tolerable. But his VOLUME *changes* every two seconds. One second you wont be able to hear him, another he'll be yelling! Buy if you like, but I'd try looking for a better copy. I can't *stand* listening to it. I tried forcing myself to and I was getting pissed off. Tes, -Matthew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7