Customer Reviews for

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(727)

4 Star

(377)

3 Star

(214)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Well Done

I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter fo...
I've never read the book before last week and must say that disney must have had something against Lewis Carroll because they butchered this amazing book by making that cartoon. This book has an amazing amount of detail that will keep you imagining about each chapter for hours. I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind and a wild imagination. Instant Classic on my shelf

posted by Bran on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A New Appreciation

I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to ...
I decided to read this book after seeing the Tim Burton movie. It had been years since I had seen the Disney cartoon Alice and Wonderland and I remember seeing a Disney version of Alice Through the Looking Glass. In order to remind myself of what I hd seen I decided to read the book and get the original story since I never read it before. I was not overly impressed by the story but enthralled with the imagination and creativity of the world that Alice "falls" into. However I now have more respect for the classic and I definitely think it is something everyone should have in their library as a reminder of what real creativity and imagination was like without being gruesome and gory.

posted by 3432638 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Barnes and Noble Classics=Perfect

    I own the physical copy of this book and I have to say it was wonderful. The book was a little fast for me; I found it hard to follow at some points. One second Alice was talking to the hookah-smoking caterpillar, the next she's God only knows where. At times, I found myself hating Alice for her foolishness. I mean, seriously, who follows a rabbit down a rabbit hole? The plot over all was all right, it's the significant detailc the story's told in that makes this story a literary classic.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Original Alice

    I was very happy with this book. As a child through adulthood, I had heard and seen the "Alice in Wonderland" story numerous times. However, reading this book gave me a different perspective on Alice's story. I had always thought Alice in Wonderland was one story that told of Alice's adventures in Wonderland. After reading this book, I learned that wasn't true. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland was written years before Through the Looking-Glass and they are actually 2 separate stories. I thoroughly enjoyed traveling with Alice through her Adventures and I also learned quite about a Lewis Carroll in the introduction of this book. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass is a must-have for a classic readers library.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Befuddling Brilliance

    This is one of the deepest works of literature I have ever perused. Deep, taking the meaning here of perplexing and complicated, yet thoroughly enthralling. Both works take on the same general shape (fantastical worlds of surrealism) but with completely unconnected plots. However, this point lacks relevance--as does most of the plot line (if one can find it.) What relevance and meaning there is to be found comes from what one decides to glean from it.

    The conclusion I arrived at was this enigma of a tale is worth a read, if for no other reason than to challenge one's own thought processes and interpretative capacities. Put simply, Alice/Looking Glass is an infinite enigma of pure imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Hey its me again!!!!!!

    I just startd to read it and saw they called chapter 1 chaptee 1!!!!!! i thought it was so cute i still think it a great book though.
    From,
    A book worm (again)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Good read for adults and older children

    After seeing the images in the recent 3D movie, I wanted to read this book, again. The forward and appendix provided explanation of Lewis Carroll's life which helped me understand the context of the book better and clarified some of the recent controversy about his relationships with children. Additionally, there was a translation of Jabborwocky which was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Surely Capture the Reader's Heart!

    "Alice in Wonderland," by Lewis Carrol is a truly amazing book, filled with imagination and creativity. While reading, the reader will find that the author truly has a wonderful gift of being able to transport anyone anywhere with his words. Alice's adventure in Wonderland is like no other, a tale which will surely capture the reader's heart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    After watching the movie many times, this time I decided to rea


    After watching the movie many times, this time I decided to read the book. I think I'm speaking for more than just me as well, the book is great. Basic plot: Girl sees something weird, girl follows it, girl falls into unknown hole, falls deep beneath the earths crust, dose some stupid stuff (eating the cake and drinking the drink), goes the the tiny door, etc. Although Alice dose not know what she's getting herself into, its pretty easy to predict the outcome. My favorite character was the caterpillar. That is because he got to be a beautiful butterfly, but he didn't change who he was, at all! Alice was everywhere though. She kind of got foolish in the middle of the book. Very hard to stay focused, but, I have to say, Lewis Carol did a fine job of fulfilling the characters. This is a book I will end up reading again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I read Alice in Wonderland hoping for a mesmerizing journey thro

    I read Alice in Wonderland hoping for a mesmerizing journey through the mind. What I got was a story that seems to mostly survive on nostalgia and a subtle disturbing undertone. It is a story that seems to try and push subtle messages, with Alice drinking and eating various foods with unknown consequences, while making little to no sense. As it is though, I can respect it for being a very original work for its time that almost spawned a sub-genre to fictional literature. As a means by which to view this writing style in with the most basic features of a mental journey it is one of the better classics one can read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    yu-gi-oh fanlover1003554

    These books are not bad,if u like classics. They make u enter into a strage world. In my opion,people, who likes classics, would like to get these books, for school, or sonething.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Different

    Good to read the book of a story that I have heard sense I was a kid. Really different but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Weird

    I like it because it's weird.i like weird books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    A Classic

    If you like a book that has funny word play like the phantom tollbooth, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Online Book Review

    This book has a very interesting plot line with many characters and adventures. The main character named Alice is very nice but is impatient at times. She goes through many adventures meeting new people like the mad hatter. The mad hatter helps Alice through her troubles in Wonderland. When Alice goes through the looking glass, she meets the red and white queen. They are very impatient, disrespectful, and rude. In Through the Looking Glass, the main conflict is for Alice to find her way out of the looking glass. With the many obstacles that face her, she finds a way to overcome them and finally get out. One specific event that helps her get out is when she goes on the train, where she meets a Goat, a Beetle, and a Horse-Fly. They seem to mock and tease her as she is trying to find her way home. Another adventure that occurred is when she came along the road in the forest and met Tweedledum and Tweedledee. They are two very extraordinary characters with a wild imagination. They told Alice this weird poem that made no sense and had a fight when Tweedledum freaked out about his rattle. I believe this book is an average book with complex literature and an extraordinary plot line. The many adventures kept the book interesting but the transitions from one adventure to another is sometimes confusing if the reader is not closely paying attention to the literature, especially during Tweedledee and Tweedledum's conversations. Another example of complex literature in this book is when the Red Queen and the White Queen ask Alice a bunch of questions that make no sense and when the Lion and the Unicorn have a disagreement about the battle. Most of the conversions in this book are confusing at times but the reader will eventually understand it if they continue reading the book. I would recommend this book to people that will read the book thoroughly so they can understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    It's a funny story actually (no joking)

    This book is for kids and adults, it has many many points that really make you think as you read it. It can be read two ways as a simple storybook or as a philosophy class pointer either way this book is fun and simple to understand. You can delve as deep as you want to in this classic as you want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Alice in Wonderland and Trough The looking Glass

    Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass

    This book tells a story of a girl named Alice who falls down a rabbit hole into a fantasy world called Wonderland. She¿s really intrigued with everything she sees but is worried about being able to find her way home. She begins wondering around to find her way back to where she can get home but along the way Alice meets many interesting people and characters that both help and hinder her on her journey home. One conflict she faces is she comes across the Queen of Hearts while she is painting the Queen¿s roses, as the soldiers told her to do, but the Queen catches her. She then is faced with a trial and the punishment of being beheaded. But, the soft-spoken King of Hearts persuades the Queen to let Alice play one game Croquet to try and save her life. She later wakes up and soon realizes all these experiences were just a dream. Then the story continues in Through the Looking Glass, Alice is an older young woman when she finds herself stuck in Wonderland again as she steps through a mirror. She doesn¿t remember anything of when she was there last time. All of the characters are telling Alice that they know her but she does not believe them. She becomes scared by the fact she is trapped in a place she doesn¿t know of with people all around her saying they know who she is. She tries to find her way home but once again many interesting characters get in her way. The Madhatter and her old friends tell her about a prophesy where she has to kill a huge mythical beast called a Jabberwocky. She wins the fight against the Jabberwocky and the queen of hearts. She later regains all the memory of her first time in Wonderland and returns home a more confident and changed girl. The major themes of this book are curiosity and innocence. Because she is naive in the fact that she doesn¿t realize repercussions of her decisions. She does the things that the people in Wonderland are telling her rather than making decisions on her own. This relates to her curiosity because the whole idea of the book based around Alice being curious and going to look for a rabbit then falls down a hole. The book is huge in curiosity because almost all of Alice¿s actions are because of her insatiable curiosity. I liked that this book was so farfetched and bizarre; it¿s like nothing else you will read keeping you intrigued the entire time because every chapter is full of Alice¿s Adventures. I didn¿t like that the book didn¿t spend much time at the beginning explaining Alice¿s real life. Someone should read this if they enjoy fantasy and action stories. If you enjoyed this book I would recommend some of Lewis Carroll¿s other popular books such as The Wasp In A Wig , Sylive and Bruno, or A Book Of Nonsense. Overall I would give this book a very good rating. It is very well written and holds the reader¿s attention throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Love it!

    I read both books when I was younger and loved them both. They are a childhood classic and are a perfect read for anyone who doesn't mind a little nonsense. Alice herself, is a wonderful character that I believe every little girl can relate to. The worlds she visits and the characters she meets are enchanting and extraordinary. It's a great adventure for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Forget team Edward and Jacob, Im now team Hatter!

    I really like the book, its funny, some people say its not good cause it leaves you thinking about total nonsince- but then agin, isint that the point? Curiouser and curiouser :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    awesome!!

    I liked through the looking glass more than i did wonderland. Very trippy story its part of the charm though. I loved the horseflies nd the cheshire cat and humpty dumpty the most!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Illustrations%3F%3F

    I+only+have+the+sample+right+now+but+the+quality+looks+great.+Does+anyone+know+i+the+actual+text+has+the+Tenniel+illustrations+in+it%3F+I+can+only+read+the+introduction+in+the++sample.+Alicce+in+Wonderlan+is+one+of+my+favorite+stores+of+all+time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19