Customer Reviews for

Alice's Tulips

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved this Book!!!!

I just finished Alice's Tulips and I wish I had the sequel here to pick up next. This book is written in letters to Alice's sister that are so interesting and easy to read. Alice lives with her mother-in-law on the family farm while her husband is fighting for the Unio...
I just finished Alice's Tulips and I wish I had the sequel here to pick up next. This book is written in letters to Alice's sister that are so interesting and easy to read. Alice lives with her mother-in-law on the family farm while her husband is fighting for the Union in the Civil War. Their life is a constant struggle and is complicated by a murder. How these women survive hard times on the farm and gossip in town makes me glad to live in the 21st century. History of quilts is an added bonus added to the book - wish I had the patience to quilt, but I'm saving to purchase one soon!

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

This book was written like letters received from a family member in the civil war. It took me half way through the book to get into the story. The story line did not pick up until the end. Sandra dallas has written better books than this one.

posted by 5549230 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good but not great

    This book was written like letters received from a family member in the civil war. It took me half way through the book to get into the story. The story line did not pick up until the end. Sandra dallas has written better books than this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Loved it!

    I just finished this book. And I really enjoyed it! It started kind of slow but once the story gets going I could not put it down. The characters are very vivid and I felt like I grew a friendship with Alice. Some other reviewer mentioned it but I really want to read a sequel. I really liked the way it ended though. I love reading civil war era historical fiction books but this book gave me a different point of view of the war.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    it is amazing

    the book is really good. i really liked the ending of it. it slow at parts though but the suspenceful plot makes up for it....... i would recommened to everyonwe it is so good!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Loved this Book!!!!

    I just finished Alice's Tulips and I wish I had the sequel here to pick up next. This book is written in letters to Alice's sister that are so interesting and easy to read. Alice lives with her mother-in-law on the family farm while her husband is fighting for the Union in the Civil War. Their life is a constant struggle and is complicated by a murder. How these women survive hard times on the farm and gossip in town makes me glad to live in the 21st century. History of quilts is an added bonus added to the book - wish I had the patience to quilt, but I'm saving to purchase one soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I really like Sandra Dallas, the books are clean and anyone can read them. If you are looking for a book to read that is historic and a nice story read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've bought it twice

    I loved this book so much I've bought it twice. The story is about the relationship between a young civil war bride, her mother in law, the new community she has moved to and the life they lead while the men are off fighting the war. The story is told through letters Alice writes to her sister. The letters are written with real humor and honesty and I found it hard to put down. I thought the characters were very well developed, the dialog real and the story very entertaining. I hope I keep to track of this copy as I know I will want to read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Great book!

    Love her work!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    I just love Sandra Dallas and all of her books. Alice's Tulips is about true love in families and how it grows over the years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quilter's will enjoy Sandra Dallas

    This was the first Sandra Dallas book I have read and I'm anxious to read more from her. The "letter-writing" style isn't for everyone, but it gives you the heart of the writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Loyalty and Love

    Alice is not only loyal and in love with her husband, but she takes her situtation and learns to grow from it. She is what every woman would hope to be when they grow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    A real charmer!

    Heartwarming - absolutely!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    Wonderful

    For a female Civil War reenactor this is a wonderful book to read. I could not put it down. I read it in one night even with my three boys running around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    everywoman

    this could be a woman during any war who is missing her beloved husband. unusual but effective format. pictorial description of life during the civil war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    Awesome

    If you have read Ms. Dallas' previous books and liked them, you will like this one. It is written in the form of a woman who has had to move out west to live with her husband (who is now is the civil war) that writes letters to her sister. Not only is this an all around great story and again lets readers know how wonderfully easy we have it now, but it has just the right amount of history thrown in. Not enough to put you to sleep, but just to let you know the way things were. This is very close to the Diary of Mattie Spencer, which I also loved. If you love good historical women's fiction, you will love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Get a pink Ipad

    Kiss your hand three times, post this in three books, and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Nice enjoyable storyline....

    good characters; good storytelling....I recommend this author highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I have read almost all of Sandra Dallas' novels and often find m

    I have read almost all of Sandra Dallas' novels and often find myself reaching for one on a rainy day or when I am sick and want something easy to read, cozy, and riveting all at the same time. Alice's Tulips, a novel told through a series of letters, is the story of Alice, a young bride left on a farm with her stern mother-in-law when her husband joins the Union Army during the Civil War. Alice is spunky, funny, and quite likable. Through her letters, Dallas captures many of the hardships women faced in the era. Each chapter began with a brief quilting blurb, which tied in with the letters that followed. I am not a quilter, but enjoyed reading the historical tidbits. For the most part, the letters work well as a storytelling device, though some passages don't come across as entirely authentic - for example, when Alice describes her appearance to her sister or recounts an entire conversation verbatim, though as a reader I was glad for the information! I expected a murder mystery from the book's description. There is a murder, but it plays a lesser role in the story than Alice's growth as a woman. I will enthusiastically recommend Alice's Tulips and all of Sandra Dallas' work to quilters and fans of female-centered historical fiction such as that written by Jennifer Chiaverini and Tracy Chevalier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Okay

    Nice light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Broken

    May i be the deputy? Its alrite if u dont want me to. Ik i just joined... Broken

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Roseblaze

    *red tabby with grey blue eyes walks in* hi im Roseblaze! Can i be med cat?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2