Customer Reviews for

Alicia: My Story

Average Rating 5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    "Alicia" is a very disturbing book, but because of the author's skill and ability to convince her readers that there still is goodness in some people, it also gives us hope.

    This is the most disturbing and saddest story I have read in a long time. Alicia Jurman wrote this memoir about her childhood and youth during the Nazi occupation of Ukraine and Poland with love for her family and the few people who helped her. The only aspect of her story that is more courageous than her actions during this time, is the sheer fact that she was able to tell the story,thereby having to relive it.
    This book is so riveting, the reader will have a hard time putting it down. At the same time, it often is so terrifying that one is afraid to turn the page.
    I highly recommend this book. It made me think, made me ashamed of the actions of some members of the human race, and it gave me hope. If Alicia Jurman survived all of this, and still had a caring soul left, there is hope for the rest of us
    Perhaps this book should be made required reading for all High School students, as well as for all people old enough to remember theses times. While the Nazis and their collaborators committed these crimes, the entire wold nevertheless looked on and did nothing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    An AMAZING Life & Story Of Survival! RIVETING!!

    This book was absolutely riveting.
    The author nearly lost her life on several occasions and lived to help so many others. I could not put this book down.
    Absolutely amazing what the human spirit can endure.
    Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Holocaust Account

    I am in awe of Alicia. I am amazed that she survived the hell during WW II. I read her book and I cannot believe that she survived. I have read other accounts and I thought I learned all about the Holocaust, but I am wrong. Her book taught me so much. Alicia, along with Anne Frank, Livia Bitton-Jackson, and Gerda Weissman Klein, is my hero.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Favorire Favorite

    I could never get into Anne Frank, but this book and Alicia's survival is just amazing. In spite of all the bad things that happen to her, her courage is awesome. I love this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Excellent! However not for children

    Very good book. covers so much and so many aspects of the Holocaust. Be careful with children and this book though, just read it first then decide. Older mature teens would be better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    page turner, amazing

    the book is so touching that you feel all the emotions of her travels and heartbreak, it shows the strength and determination of a young girl in a horrific situation. a must read. The ending makes you cry with such relief and admiration for the young girl. We could all learn something from reading this book. Family is never forgotten and material things mean nothing in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Riveting Detail

    Such a heartwrenching journey. What a blessing we were given to read this journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    This Book

    Wow! What a great book this is. I have read about half this book and I am hooked. This captivating story shows the heart and faith of a young girl. This a great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Story of courage

    I first read Alicia: My Story in 8th grade as part of a project on the Holocaust and WWII. Out of all the books I read during that time (includinf Night and The Cage), this was the most poigant and the most heartbreaking. I still cry when Alicia loses her mother, even though I know it is going to happen. It is a story of courge and strength. I have read it 5 times since the 8th grade and would reccomend it to anyone who wants to learn about the Holocaust. -Megan M. Sick, sophmore college student

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Eliza

    Ehh, this should be out today but maybe not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    To memories of the past

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Highly recommend!This book should be included in every high scho

    Highly recommend!This book should be included in every high school curriculum.This authors story is nothing short of AMAZING!I was hooked after the 1st page.I couldn't put it down.This book gave me an entirely new perspective on the holocaust and the persecution of the Jewish people and humanity itself.THANK YOU,Alicia Appleman-Jurman,for sharing your amazing story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    WOW

    Wow - just wow. This book pulled at my heart strings. I read the whole book in a little more than a day - I could not put it down. What an amazing book & what an amazing woman the author is. God bless her. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    What a story, a must read!!!!!!!!

    This is a must read, all parents should have there kids 13 and up read this great and sad story. The kids of this genaration need to know just how good we in america have, adults also do not realize this very well could happen again, a must read!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    not for me

    i quite frankly found it extremely boring. i understand what she was trying to do but i personally didnt like it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    A great book

    I had to read this for one of my high school classes, and I didn¿t think I¿d enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. Once I began to read one event after another, it perked my interest and made me want to know what would occur next. The story showed unbelievable things that had happened to Alicia and many other people. Sometimes I had to convince myself it was real and it had happened once. Because of Alicia: My Story, I¿ve learned more about history and the hardships people had to undergo during the holocaust. If you want to know more what people had to go through the holocaust, then this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    A History Lover

    I cried so many times when reading this book. This book was one of the best books i have ever read. Alicia Jurman is an amazing person and an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    READ IT!!

    I personally think that everyone should read this book. It is an amazing tale, I dont think that i could do what Alicia did in all af these situations. She is a truly amazing person. This book makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Alicia's experience

    Alicia's story was one of the most touching that, I have ever read. She was a young girl who was faced with many problems financially and emotionally. Being a Jew made it quite difficult when it came to the Nazis. They would mistreat the Jews just because of their race. So you can say that they were quite prejudice. Although she had many deaths in her family, she was able to pull through and continue with her life. She was very young when she went out trying to trade with other people in order to get food or other items for her family. If she was caught by the Nazis while on this task she would have been sent to jail or probably be killed. So she had to live in fear most of her life. I would recommend this book because it was very interesting. Although there were many tragic incidents, it made me what to read further. I think that no one who is not able to handle tragic incidents should read the book because they would probably break down. This book also thought me how and why the Nazis treated the Jews that way and it is sad to know that all around the world, there are people who went through Alicia's problems and were in need of help just like her. Alicia also obtained help from some great people in this book. She had people who saved her from death and this enabled her to go back to her family who loved her and would do anything for her. I think that her writing would inspire anyone who has doubt of surviving in this world. In addition, it would probably change their way of thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    A very Moving Book

    A great book... You should definatly read... It is about a girl who survives through the war...I was shocked at the times when the book talked about how few survived... I felt like I was there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3