BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Alienation

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended - must read for teenagers

    Allow me to begin by pointing out that I have yet to read Invasion, the first book in the CHAOS series. I’m going to assume that, once I read that, this book will make more sense. That said, I love the fact that the book doesn’t begin with a chapter or two of backstory. There’s action and character development before Lewis gives even a full paragraph to the events of the previous book. Memories come up naturally in the main character’s train of thought and observations, not in an awkward info-dump that would bore people familiar with the first book. I appreciate that Lewis realizes that some readers may be diving into the middle of the story and takes the time to help us get acquainted with his character and unique world without alienating his loyal readers. (I’m very sorry about that horrible pun there. Sometimes I just can’t help myself.)
    Speaking of Lewis’ unique world – this part confused me. Unless I’m missing something (which I probably am, since I won’t have a chance to get the first book until Friday), jet packs are a thing in this book’s universe. They’ve been a thing since World War II. When I first started reading and realized that it wasn’t supposed to take place in some future world, I did a bit of a double take. Once I got over my initial surprise, accepting the jet packs, hoverboards, and robots was easy. It fascinated me. Sci-fi tech just lights something in my mind. If hoverboards are, indeed, a possibility, what else could people create? Could that lead to landspeeders like the ones in Star Wars? As long as Gungans never make an entrance, that would be awesome! But I digress. The advanced technology also explained how anyone in this ‘verse would think that Earth could stand a chance against technologically advanced super-monster aliens.
    That’s right – aliens. Of course there are aliens; it’s right there in the title. The title has two purposes, the second of which I’ll get to in a moment. The first, most obvious reason is the aliens. Apparently, in the first book, aliens invaded. The Earth suddenly met some of the other inhabitants of the galaxy. Some are friendly; some are evil. The evil ones, the Thule, are shape-shifters bent on destroying humanity to make Earth their new home world. Several other kinds of alien life forms are visiting Earth, as well, but most of the others are actually helping humans. The science of whether or not aliens would survive on Earth is barely mentioned. Aliens simply exist in this universe. Thankfully, Lewis avoids the pitfall that has ruined many good books – too much information.
    Here’s what I loved about this book: No info-dumps. There were no major ones for backstory and none for boring data. I wouldn’t be surprised if Lewis had everything figured out about the boring bits. Maybe he even has it written down somewhere in a manuscript. Or maybe he saw a future of aliens trying to exterminate us and he’s trying to warn us without sounding like a crazy person. (Oddly enough, I tend to assume that about pretty much every well-written sci-fi/fantasy book I read. What if…?)
    Okay, for the second reason for the title. Lewis’ main character, Colt McAlister, loses most of the people he loves in the first book (it’s not a spoiler if it’s on the back cover blurb). By the time Alienation really gets going, he’s built himself a small network of friends and family. Within a few days, he discovers reasons to distrust most of them and gets in situations t

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great...awsome

    I totally recomend this book altough the begining is sorta sloe but keep reading t gets extremely intense

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    By anonumous

    I loved the first book it was amazing! I can not wait to read the new one!!;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alienation

    After Invasion, I thought that Mr. Lewis might have trouble carrying on such a great story.
    I now know that I thought wrong.

    ***

    Colt McAlister is¿
    a stereotypical ¿California dude.¿
    a decent surfer.
    a guitar player.
    living with his grandfather in Arizona.
    The list goes on. And on the list, scribbled in pen right under ¿teenage hero,¿ is the word, ¿alien.¿

    Not one hundred percent, but there is alien blood in his body, blood which he previously knew nothing of. When he was very young, his parents allowed him to be injected with Thule blood. They hoped that he would fulfill an ancient prophecy claiming that the Thule, an evil alien race, would be vanquished by one of their own: The Betrayer.

    And now he¿s feeling the effects. Enhanced speed, agility, awareness- but at the same time, fear. Colt is en route for a school that trains and dispatches alien fighting soldiers. What if someone were to find out his secret? He bleeds red, but he moves twice as quickly as any common man. He has no scales, but is feared nonetheless by the mighty Thule warriors.

    With the lives of millions placed within his hands, and a clock that continues to tick faster and faster, Colt must use all of his abilities to fight off the invading aliens and save the human race from total destruction.

    ***

    Just as good as the last. My brain burnt out on goodness at about pg. 11. And I kept reading. No profanity, no unneccessary gore, and repeating reminders of God¿s very real power. Can¿t wait for the next. (Which happens to be coming out in January.) Quite literally until the next...

    I was provided with a complimentary copy of ¿Invasion¿ through Booksneeze, a book-for-review program. This in no way affected my views or opinions of the book.

    _____

    5 of 5 stars

    11+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Awsom read

    Bilds on the first one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    The Best book in the world

    This book is the best because you can do anything with is you can throw it,hit it,play th it,and throw it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Arathe

    Name: Arathe Stijad. / Gender: Female. / Age: 7 solar sweeps, or 15 human years. / Species: Alternian troll. Blueblood caste. / Appearance: Tall, approximately 6 feet. Gray skin, yellowed eyes with gray irises with blue rims and slitted pupils. Two horns, colored orange, each shaped like three interlocking diamonds. Hair is black, reaching to her jawline. / Outfit: Wears her military-esque jacket, a dark blue with gold epaulets, over a black shirt with her symbol, the same shape as her horns, except horizontal, outlined in blue. Also wears denim skinny jeans and black combat boots. / Personality: Haha, we'll see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Clarity

    Name-clarity.13. Human. Looks- bright red hair with black streeks. Wearing camo. Andthing else ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Kira

    Name)kalakinakon human name kira. Gender)female. Personality)go find out i dare u to. Features)skin is carmel brown hair with purple streaks eyes changes color of my emotion has a sword birth mark on her right arm. Powers)she can fly she can turn into anything she desires. History) dont like to talk about it. Pet) glorinika human name glory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Seven

    Name: 7 Age: 7 Gender: male Species: Teddyuli Bearauis ( teddy bear to humans ) Appearance: brown fur with a small blue bow. Other: just ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Raxon aka "Hunter"

    Name: Look up, genius. Gender: Male Age: 25 Appearance: Wears a strange suit that gives him special powers and abilities. Rarely takes off helmet. Personality: Sometimes friendly but can be stern and harsh. Bio: Raxon was part of an elite squad until a ship he and his squad were in was shot down. He is he last member of his squad alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Exan's bio

    Name:exan gender:male des:all blue with light blue specks and red specks on his nose and his tail is blue then fades to black and has neon green eyes mate:none crush:none kids:none family:unknown history:unknown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Mist's bio

    Name:Mist--Genger: female-- Looks: tall with blue skin and a very dark brown hair and silver eyes-- History: N/A-- Crush: none

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Name: look up age: 20 height: the size of a nook. Appearence: cute, fluffy white hair covering his body, almost looking like a powder puff and he is thin. But dont let that fool you! Gender: male. Race: an alien bat spieces known as the camazots. Likes: fighting( martial arts) dislikes: bieng ignored and drama. Wingspan: 5 inches. Wheight: 10 lbs. Anything else just ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Tear

    Name: mysterica, call me this and you die. Call me Tear. Age: 16. Height: 5'4". Gender: female. Weight: 90 pounds. Appearance: a light brown hair at about chest length covering one blue eye, looks human except for a cat tail and ears on top of her head. Her clothes vary, but her usual uniform is silver gloves, a brown, sleveless tunic with 2 white and 2 yellow tech like stripes going up and down, red tights and brown boots that go up to her knees. Planet: kimlasca. Anything else, ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Trololololololokololol

    I realky think the next book is gonna be GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Read

    I dont know about you but it sounds very simular to enders game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Kinda misleading

    Nothing in the overview said that this was a comuc book. Annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome series. Does anyone know what the third book is called?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The thing I loved about Alienation was the retro comic book feel

    The thing I loved about Alienation was the retro comic book feel. Lewis started out wanting to illustrate comic books and it shows in the non-stop action and short, tightly-plotted chapters. My favorite character is Colt's Grandfather, *semi-spoiler alert* a.k.a. the Phantom Flyer, a WWII hero who everyone believes is just a comic book character. *End semi-spoiler* I think that if Captain America hadn't crashed into that iceberg and slept for fifty-some years, he would be like Colt's Grandpa. The characters are fun, the aliens are scary, and the action is non-stop. I can't wait to see what happens in Domination!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2