Customer Reviews for

Alienation (C.H.A.O.S. Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Read

    I dont know about you but it sounds very simular to enders game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The thing I loved about Alienation was the retro comic book feel

    The thing I loved about Alienation was the retro comic book feel. Lewis started out wanting to illustrate comic books and it shows in the non-stop action and short, tightly-plotted chapters. My favorite character is Colt's Grandfather, *semi-spoiler alert* a.k.a. the Phantom Flyer, a WWII hero who everyone believes is just a comic book character. *End semi-spoiler* I think that if Captain America hadn't crashed into that iceberg and slept for fifty-some years, he would be like Colt's Grandpa. The characters are fun, the aliens are scary, and the action is non-stop. I can't wait to see what happens in Domination!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    action-packed alien adventure

    The earth is in danger of invasion and total destruction from the shape-shifting aliens known as Thules. It is up to three teenagers who each has his/her own way of utilizing their skills to aid in the salvation of the whole world.

    Nothing rarely beats the first, and in this series, I still do feel that the first book was way better. But there are certain points in this book that made it a worthwhile read nevertheless. Here we find out more about the interesting characters we have come to know in the first book and understand them better. The interaction between the three kids were still chuckle-worthy. The action sequences are all rather engaging as well. The strange creatures are, well, strange--but in that uniquely amusing kind of way. The twists and turns are affecting and effective in making me want to turn the pages no matter how many times I tell myself, "This is the last chapter for today."

    In other words, reading Jon S. Lewis was a fun and exciting ride, much like the first one. The alien invasion plot has been expanded, and it was like reading a comic book in prose form. The narrative were not too long, but descriptive enough to help me form the images in my head and watch them reel like in an action-packed movie. I can hardly wait for the third book in this series.

    My copy was sent to me for free by the booksneeze review program. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY!!!!!!!!

    i bought invasion when it first came out and i've been waiting eversince then to get the second book and here it is!!!!!! I probably would have found out that it came out sooner if they had given us the title of the this book in the first one! The only reason i knew this was out was because of my best friend google! I am buying this book as soon as i can. I deserve it for free because i've been waiting for this foerever (hint hint)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Live To Read

    Colt, the main character, is being hunted-literally. The book starts and ends with action, the reader can look forward to a fast-paced book that will leave him/her at the edge of his/her seat. It helps to have read the first in the series to fully understand the plot and current events, though the author does fill in the reader to a point.


    Colt, Danielle, and Oz have a closer knit friendship and the reader will enjoy watching that friendship continue to grow and develop, their characters changed along with it. Colt is certainly the focus, his intelligence, wit, and bravery keeps him alive and in a position to still save the planet. The other secondary characters, besides the antagonist, feel more like fillers, but they have a function too as the reader will find out! The events of this book are fast-paced, there are plenty of action scenes and the unsettling mystery as to who is trying to kill Colt will keep the reader entertained.


    The reader will get to know more of Colt's background and why he is a VIP, integral to humanity. The plot begins to tie together much better and the reader will begin to see the pattern. The antagonist is not the run-of-the-mill type; the antagonist is portrayed as a cold-hearted, intelligent killer who will stop an nothing. This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers, especially those who enjoyed the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alienation

    Alienation by Jon S. Lewis is the second novel in the new young adult fictional C.H.A.O.S. trilogy series. In light of the popular culture topic of alien invasions seen in countless movies and new TV series, this timely book is sure to appeal to young audiences. This book is second in ther series, so obviously reader will probably get the most out of this work if they had read the first novel. The science fiction plot will certainly hold the attention of teenaged readers. The chapters are short and simple. The youing teenage hero of the story is involved in a conspiracy involving the government and aliens. He must follow his destiny and save the world.

    This book integrates the popular genre of the comic book- novel hybrid. Before the first chapter begins, there is a comic book excerpt- with authentic vintage styled text and cartoons. At the end of the book, a "Classified Top Secret" report is contained- a virtual "Digital Sketchbook" of characters drawn on an iphone background to simulate an electronic database.

    As a blogger for booksneeze I recieved this book for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Alienation by Jon S Lewis

    Good evening, fellow bookworms! At least, I¿m assuming that you¿re a bookworm, seeing as you¿ve come to a blog that is pretty much strictly for book reviews! Anyway, I¿ve come here tonight to tell you all about this new book I¿ve gotten: ¿Alienation¿ by Jon S. Lewis. Before I get started, though, I need to let you know that I got this book for free from the Thomas Nelson Publishing Company through the Booksneeze Blogger program, in exchange for an honest review. Anything that I say is truly my opinion. Now that that is over, let me tell you about this amazing book. Now, to be quite honest, I¿ve never really identified myself as a ¿comic book¿ person. My brother and father are, but I am not. So when I got this book, and saw that it was introduced with a comic, I must admit I was slightly leery. But when I actually got the prose, I was pleasantly surprised. The adrenaline-laced action scenes and exciting descriptions and dialogue made this book seem more like a graphic novel in prose. I was truly impressed, and if you like fast-paced reads or comic books, I would suggest this book. Four out of five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1