BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All About Eva

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Thnigs in Life Are Free!

    I really enjoyed this one! This was a fast-paced read that had me laughing all the way through as I tried to figure out exactly how Eva was going to get herself out of the predicament she was in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    ALL ABOUT EVA

    Eva Cantrell grew up poor on the Southside of Chicago, but managed to pull herself up by her bootstraps and moved to NYC where she landed her dream job at a glossy women's magazine. Enter Donovan Dorsey, a handsome smooth talking Wall Street wizard who enjoys showering Eva with the best life has to offer. As far as Eva's concerned, life is great and can only get better. Wrong! Donovan leaves Eva stranded during a European vacation and she returns home to New York to discover that Donovan is a fugitive wanted for running an elaborate Ponzi scheme. Now broke and practicallyy homeless, Eva finds out quickly who her true friends are, and her struggle to pull herself up by her bootstraps yet again is humorous and highly entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Great Read!!

    "ALL ABOUT EVA" is a page-turner that deals with the recession. Eva Cantrell is living in the lap of luxury with her gorgeous, wealthy businessman boyfriend, Donavan Dorsey until her fairy-tale life comes crumbling down around her when her prince turns out to be a Ponzi-scheming frog.
    Portrayed in the press as his gold-digging partner in crime, Eva is also vilified by the public and some of her so-called friends. Proving her innocence is tough going, but Eva's journey to rise out of the ashes like the proverbial phoenix is both hilarious and heartwarming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    A great read

    I have gotten to the point in my life where if a book does not catch my interest in the first ten pages, I put it down. This book was a great read--I could not put it down. At first, I was afraid Eva would be the stereotypical ditsy female, but she developed into a strong female role model. I look forward to more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Smart, funny, and highly enjoyable. I didn't want it to end!

    Smart, funny, and highly enjoyable. I didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    All about Eva by Deidre Berry
    evan is a fashionasta, donovon is a wall street trader. he finds her and falls in love with her. talks her into moving in with him, and
    he talks her into getting rid of her apartment. she loves shopping and he doesn't mind paying her bills.
    eva enjoys her birthday surprise party and afterwards donovon takes her to france, then switzerland. some things don't add up: the
    fight at her party for one. after he goes missing for 24 hours things become very clear when she uses the phone to call US and finds out
    he was wanted for embellizament for 1.2 million plus. she did call on a few friends but some just hung up on her. now that shes back in town
    she goes to get her belongings and finds out she has no apartment now. she also has lost all her clohting on the plane ride back to the states.
    Didn't see the ending when they do meet up again, wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From Rags to Riches

    A renowned party girl, for Eva, the price was always right. No more checking sales tags, as she popped the most expensive bottles, coutoured it up, and could get into any club she wanted. She was an official 'it' girl and didn't mind living her new fairy-tale lifestyle out in the newspapers.

    Well, that was until Donovan Dorsey, the love of her life, decided to dine and dash with half of New York's elite and not so elite nest eggs. Broke, busted and holding the proverbial bag, Eva learns that she is homeless, penniless and quite possibly a co-conspirator. When she turns to her so-called friends for moral support, she learns the hard way that the word was used too freely and is forced to start over again from the bottom.
    Reduced to the off the rack crowd, Eva packs it up and heads home to the Windy City. Unfortunately, Alzheimer's has rendered her a perfect stranger to Mama Nita, her grandmother. Though she's in need of her love and strength, she's able to connect with her comical family and discovers that family, despite their flaws, is always good for the soul. When Donovan is found, Eva's life is flipped upside down again. It's a choice between quality over quantity. Which will she choose?

    'All About Eva' is a crafty, funny and inspiring read. I really loved the story from start to finish. Deidre Berry has created unique characters that you get to watch blossom through the pages. A few editing issues (Hey, I live in Chicago!), but not enough to detract from the story. I would recommend this book to all!

    Reviewed by: Crystal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1