BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All Afternoon with a Scandalous Marquess

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best in the series but still good

This book was really good. Not my favorite in the series but it was still really good!

posted by Honeysweet on August 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

When I first read the editorial review of this book, I actually

When I first read the editorial review of this book, I actually dreaded getting it - the 'Catherine sleeps with his friend and takes other lovers, while sending her friends and employees to sate Saint’s passion." part of the review made it sound like all this was...
When I first read the editorial review of this book, I actually dreaded getting it - the 'Catherine sleeps with his friend and takes other lovers, while sending her friends and employees to sate Saint’s passion." part of the review made it sound like all this was going on, like the other books, within a few months time period (after the prologue). When it finally came out, I just decided to get it- no need to interrupt the series. After reading the book, which moved along pretty quickly, I realised the story takes place over about a seven-year period starting from Catherine leaving her foster family- which as a beginning had promise. The dreaded passage takes place two years before the story ends and we only read about in retrospect, when Frost blurts it out. These two characters didn't really have a relationship at that time. As other reviews have stated, there were a lot of gaps; the story didn't flow very well, it just seemed like a series of events taking place and written down as they happened. I wanted more about her father- why he never married and spent so much time and energy looking for his 'illegitimate' daughter, how she ended up with this foster family, what happened to the foster family and her blackmailer. Next thing you know Madam V decides to disappear, then ends up living with Dare and Regan, then she and Saint are getting married with her father in attendance (although her comment about Saint needing time to establish a timeline kinda explained their separation after Madam V disappeared). Overall, not the best Lords of Vice story, but readable and left me looking foward to the next installment. Hope it's better- a more complete and satisfying read in the vein of Till Dawn with the Devil, so far my favorite of the bunch.

posted by slfoster01 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    When I first read the editorial review of this book, I actually

    When I first read the editorial review of this book, I actually dreaded getting it - the 'Catherine sleeps with his friend and takes other lovers, while sending her friends and employees to sate Saint’s passion." part of the review made it sound like all this was going on, like the other books, within a few months time period (after the prologue). When it finally came out, I just decided to get it- no need to interrupt the series. After reading the book, which moved along pretty quickly, I realised the story takes place over about a seven-year period starting from Catherine leaving her foster family- which as a beginning had promise. The dreaded passage takes place two years before the story ends and we only read about in retrospect, when Frost blurts it out. These two characters didn't really have a relationship at that time. As other reviews have stated, there were a lot of gaps; the story didn't flow very well, it just seemed like a series of events taking place and written down as they happened. I wanted more about her father- why he never married and spent so much time and energy looking for his 'illegitimate' daughter, how she ended up with this foster family, what happened to the foster family and her blackmailer. Next thing you know Madam V decides to disappear, then ends up living with Dare and Regan, then she and Saint are getting married with her father in attendance (although her comment about Saint needing time to establish a timeline kinda explained their separation after Madam V disappeared). Overall, not the best Lords of Vice story, but readable and left me looking foward to the next installment. Hope it's better- a more complete and satisfying read in the vein of Till Dawn with the Devil, so far my favorite of the bunch.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Not the best in the series but still good

    This book was really good. Not my favorite in the series but it was still really good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    After reading several reviews, I had read the paperback and also

    After reading several reviews, I had read the paperback and also felt there was part of the story was missing. Right when the climax of the book was trying to fix the negative issues in the book. It went from okay talk to the villian to boom she's leaving......where's the rest???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Missing chapters?

    There is a huge story line gap that left me wondering if it is a flaw in the ebook or with the author. One chapter she hates her father and is being blackmailed by her adopted father and the next her father is at her wedding and everyone is happy. Makes no sense! What about the adopted family who all know her true identity? Surely they would need to be dealt with? Why was her father trying to reach out to her? Just to giver her a dowry?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Very disappointed!!!!!!!

    I love the Lord of Vice series, however this book was sorely lacking. I felt there was no conclusion to Madame V's situation with her adopted family. It seemed that whole chapters were missing from the book. A total let down... I hope the next book is better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love Alexandra Hawkins

    Alexandra Hawkins never leaves me unsatisfied. Her stories about the Lords of Vice are... decadent. I enjoyed this story as much as her others. I fell in love with Saint as the leading man. One of my favorite parts of the book was when the author took us back in time to before any of the LoV married. "Seeing" them in that light was interesting. As always, there was a lot of fun as well. I laughed a good bit over the men's antics and Frost's ability to not die when he is constantly being strangled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Biggest dissapoinment

    Im still trying to understand how the story end in the last 10 pages.... it was incomplete and none of the story lines got resolved.... such a dissapointment for this series i love every one of the lord of vice book but it was such a rush under develop story line for saint.... with so many incomplete plots ... i hope hunter and frost have a better love story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Sucks

    Very chopy seems like parts are missing not worth buying at all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Very disappointed!

    I was very excited for this new release and it was nothing but a disappointment. The main characters lacked the chemistry that prior lords of vice had in their stories. I could not even finish the book which is surprising because I could not put the others down. I could not stand the story line and I found myself annoyed rather than entertained. I hope Frost is next and that it is the complete opposite of this tragic installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    I love the Lords of Vice series. The book began very well and I

    I love the Lords of Vice series. The book began very well and I was hooked up until chapter 30. There seems to be a huge part of the book missing. Nothing is resolved as far as the villains in this book or her long lost family. I am very disappointed in how this book ended, big build up and fell seriously flat in the end. I am hoping Frost and Hunter's stories are better written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Not at all what I was expecting

    While this book had the typical antics of the Lords of Vice which have provided comic relief through the series as a whole, I found the book imposible to like. The fact Madame V slept with Frost, a close friend to Saint, was a let down in itself but the fact that she was all for an Incestuous liasion with her half brother was way too much for my liking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Lords of Vice is one of my favorite series. The characters are

    Lords of Vice is one of my favorite series. The characters are funny and creative at "Courting" their ladies. All Afternoon with a Scandalous Marquess is a key piece in the series as it tells Saint's love story. Is it the best in the series, definately not. There is a lot of time line jumping, so you really need to pay attention to the dates at the start of the chapter. If you've been reading the series you have to put the time lines in perspective to the other stories or you'll be fooled into thinking the worst of Sin, Reign and Dare. When I finished, I found my self asking but what did Saint do about this? Hopefully we'll see some resolution in the next book. All in all, I'd say All Afternoon with a Scandalous Marquess is worth the read, but be prepared as it's not an easy read .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    love the LOV series but a little dissapointed in this book!

    love that frost keeps getting choked! I also love that it has a lot of the lov and all their wives.I just feel like the villians don't get what they deserve. overall this series is great I recommend it. Can't wait for the book about FROST!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Whaaaat? (LVR)

    Just finished this installment in the Lords of Vice series. I was closely following the story, then lost it between Chapters 30 and 31. My question is... was this poor editing or did the author expect us to mentally fill in all the action that seems to have happened in the gaps before the rushed ending? Not well done :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    The reason that I picked this book to read was because I have read the others in this series and I just can’t get enough. I really love the cover of the book too.

    I love the Lord of Vice series and each one always leaves me with a lasting impression. I love reading how all seven are there for each other. They are closer than family. No one can do anything to them except them and they always have each others backs. I enjoy when each one find the woman just for them. It might not be what society thinks they should do, they don’t care and seem to not do any wrong.

    When I read Simon Jefferes, the Marquess of Sanithill, aka the Saint and Charlotte Deverall aka Madame Venna’s story I was hooked. I got so into all of the mystery of the life that they both lead. I hated what their childhoods where like. I think that since they went through what they did that, it made them better suited to each other. I could just imagine myself in the story.

    The thing that mad me mad at them was that they fought their feelings for each other. They reminded me of little kids. If they had just talked or quit being so pig-headed six years wouldn’t have been wasted. I know to make a good story, there has to be some conflict.

    They had an instant connection from the first time that they layed eyes on each other. While four of the Lords of Vices found the women to make their lives complete, that still left three of the group and they we not go down easily. You can just imagine them kicking and fighting all the way. That is what makes it that much sweeter in the end.

    The author did a great job in bringing out all the personalities in each one of her characters. Even if Frost does make me laugh, it’s a miracle that he hasn’t got himself killed by now. So much emotion is in this book and you can feel it. Somethings you like and some you don’t.

    I can’t wait to read Hawks and Frost’s story which will be coming out. You wonder if after the two books are done will it be the end or will the author write a little mini version so that you can see how everyone’s lives turned out several years later.

    If you love historical romances then this is a must read. Make sure that you read each and every one. You will enjoy them like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love Alexandra Hawkins

    Ms. Hawkins is one of my top ten favorite authors. I never pass up a book by her. I have never been disappointed and All afternoon kept me wrapped in it's embrace from page one all the way till the end. I have enjoyed each and every Lords of Vice book and I know I will continue too. I So can not wait for Frost's book. On Pins and needles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    What happened to the Lords of Vice I fell in love with?

    What happened to the Lords of Vice I fell in love with?

    This book was (hate to say it) poorly written. Very disjointed. I kept going back thinking I must have missed a chapter. It felt as if chapters of this book were written alongside the other books and just thrown together in this one and given a title. HUGE chunks of time and very important pieces seem to be missing.

    I didn't like the storyline but I could have overcome that if I didn't feel as if so much of the story was left flowing in the breeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Just okay.....not as good as previous Lords of Vice installments.

    3.5 stars. I love reading about my Lords of Vice but this installment was just okay for me. Don't get me wrong Saint is as yummy as all his fellow rogues and Madame Venna was actually a refreshing change from all the virgin heroines. The story-line was decent but for some reason I wasn't as enthralled as with previous books. I will still continue with the series though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Good story and continues the series nicely - well done. Worth r

    Good story and continues the series nicely - well done. Worth reading and making up your own mind as to quality of storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Merica

    Sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2