Customer Reviews for

All Around the Town

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite of Mary's

I have read this book more than once...love it! One of her very best!!

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her best

All Around the Town is predictable and lame. The mystery is easily solved in the first fifty pages, the identity of the kidnapper is figured out after one or two clues. This makes the rest of the book boring and, to be honest, very irritating. The mystery can be solve...
All Around the Town is predictable and lame. The mystery is easily solved in the first fifty pages, the identity of the kidnapper is figured out after one or two clues. This makes the rest of the book boring and, to be honest, very irritating. The mystery can be solved by a reasonably smart chimpanzee and therefore this book has no suspense.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    My Favorite of Mary's

    I have read this book more than once...love it! One of her very best!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    It is the first book I've read by this author. The lady at our l

    It is the first book I've read by this author. The lady at our local Laundromat leaves her old books for customers to read. I don't like reading but this was a very easy read. It kept you going. It normally takes me at least a month to finish a book. This one took me two days.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Great book!!

    I have read this book probably five times now. It is by far myfavorite book yet!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This is one of the better books, she has written in my opinion. I really enjoy Mary Higgins Clark and was surprised this was he first work.

    This book kept me spell bound. I was even reading it between commercials while watching my favorite TV programs. Reading while eating and reading on breaks at work. I always hate when the stories end. I love the endings but feel I am missing something. Its like a good movie you don't want to end. So rare and few and far between but you know you can always pick up another one of Mary Higgins Clarks books with and equally inspiring story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    A New Favorite

    This book had a definite wow factor there were two plots in one novel and they both had their own ending it was really a great way to go about this novel you really started to feel for the different characters and mind frames you knew where they were coming from and exactly how they felt the ending could have been a little longer but that's not my decision the whole novel in all had beautiful writing style and kept you guessing, i will admit i saw one of the endings coming but i had doubts the whole time if i was right or wrong witch i feel is better then being completely in the dark like you would be with a James Patterson novel (i read thriller mystery's on a daily basis so i usually can guess the culprit while other readers are still in the dark so don't think its easy to guess)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Mary Higgins Clark at her best!

    This is my all time favorite Mary Higgins Clark book. It gives me the chills to this day and I read this book years ago. I cannot look at a rocking chair the same way. Very hard to put down once you start so make sure to have the whole weekend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Not one of her best

    All Around the Town is predictable and lame. The mystery is easily solved in the first fifty pages, the identity of the kidnapper is figured out after one or two clues. This makes the rest of the book boring and, to be honest, very irritating. The mystery can be solved by a reasonably smart chimpanzee and therefore this book has no suspense.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    I really liked it!

    I enjoyed it. I read it pretty quickly...I've only read a few of her books but I like her style. If you have read her books before, you'll like it. If your new to her writing, you'll become a fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I LIKE IT

    Around The Town is a mystery book. The author purpose is that teach the psychological problems that a person can have when they were raped as a kid. The story take place near New York it was at Laurie house, she was a friendly girl and consequence of that she was kidnapped when she as just a little girl. She was sexual abused and psychological by a couple. During two years they have not another alternative to let her go because someone recognize her by a TV show. She was threaded if she say something about them. After all of this she returned to her house she never anted to talk about what had happen because she was afraid to remember because she as thread and if she say something they will kill her. While the days had happen she tried to had a normal life with her family help. After her parents pass way in a car accident her psychological problems started to rise and stared to have different personalities. Her sister decided to sale her house and move to another city because she wanted that her sister forget the past. She was accused to kill her English professor because one of her personalities feel attractive with him but later on discovered that the wife was the one who kill him. I liked this book because the author created suspense in the whole story. I agree with the message because any person who has in the same situation have the have problems even worst . The part I liked the most was when they were investigating who was kill the professor. The author did a good job because she always keep my attention. I recommend to all the people who like to read mystery books

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Another Awsome Mary Higgins Clark Book

    All Around the Town is a wonderfully written novel by Mary Higgins Clark. I would recommend this novel to anyone who loves mysteries because it is suspenseful and it keeps you guessing through the entire plot. The main character, Laurie Kenyon, is a strong, but vulnerable, young woman. She was kidnaped at the young age of four. While she was in possession of her kidnappers she developed multiple personality disorder. When she returned home her alter personalities went into hiding, but never completely went away. When her parents were killed in a car accident and one of her college professors was murdered they resurfaced. This part of the plot, in my eyes, was the most creative because multiple personality disorder is a rare dieses and it creates an interesting twist to the plot. This novel has twists, turns, surprises, and more that make this one of the most interesting novels I have ever read and you should definitely read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    Freaked me Out!

    But in a good way. I, my sister, and my dad all read it within a week. Whenever we talk about it, it gives us chills. The plot is gripping and the climax sensational! I LOVED IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    I LOVED IT!

    This was one of the best books I have read! I absolutely loved it! It was perfect, everything about it... it was one of those books that was too interesting to put down... but I had to... so it took like a week to read, but that's really short time for me to read a book... because I usually take forever! There were no slow points in this book either... nothing to make me get bored and stop reading, everytime I had to stop I was so annoyed! If you read it and like it do NOT see the movie... it totally ruined it and was just a bad version of the story... too much of it was squished in a couple hours... a lot of it was skipped... just don't see it... but read the book! It was great!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Terrificully suspensful and many surprises

    It starts off with Laurie Kenyon as a little girl who gets kidnapped by people named Bic and Opal. Bic and Opal get very close to getting caught so they abandon her. Laurie is returned to her parents, and the book jumps to when she is 21. Laurie is having nightmares and other problems because her parents died and she thinks that it is her fault. Her older sister Sarah decides to take her to a pshyciatrist. Laurie turns out to have a split personality. Meanwhile back on her campus her English professor is recieving love letters, and blames them on Laurie. Laurie finds out he is blaming her, and she threatens him. That same night he is murdered. Who did it to him? I liked this novel because it wasn't a put-me-to-sleep book. It was sort of confusing though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    All Around The Town

    This is a WONDERFUL book!! I have always loved mystery, but this is my all time favorite!! A must read. You will experience a never before feeling of sympathy and hope for Laurie and her sister Sarah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Spectactular, Amazing!!!!!!!!!

    I never really enjoyed reading, but this book was so captivating that I enjoyed it so much. I read it in four days. Thats something I've never done. This book drew me in from the moment i read the first page. I would suggest everyone read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    All Around Great!

    Mary Higgins Clark captivates the reader in a realistically written All Around The Town. Set in Ridgewood New Jersey, a healthy four year old was kidnapped from her front porch. After being returned two years later, she suffered from a multiple personality disorder that could have either worked for her or against her. The events of this gave it a realistic touch. All Around The Town is a story that touches people young and old. It demonstrates the dangers and consequences of leaving children outside like four-year-old Laurie Kenyon. Laurie was a curious girl abducted by two aspiring preachers Bic and Opal. Bic was thoroughly obsessed with little Laurie and renamed he Lee. During the time Laurie was with this couple she developed multiple personalities to help at coping with the trauma. Back at home Laurie¿s older sister Sarah promised God that if he returned her little sister she would take care of her. Sarah¿s wish would come true in two years. After being returned home, her four other personalities subsided until her parents died. The trauma of her death brought the need for he other personalities. Laurie¿s alter personality Leona was a sexy woman obsessed with Laurie¿s English Professor Allan Grant. Sarah realizes her sister¿s problem and begs her to go to a psychiatrist named Dr. Donelly. Under Donelly¿s guidance, three other personalities were discovered. Soon after Laurie began therapy, her professor is found dead. Laurie was blamed fro the crime after all the evidence pointed to her. The only thing that could save her from being arrested is one of her alter personalities,the boy with the forbidden name. Along with many other events, Mary Higgins Clark produced a very suspense filled, yet touching story. The characters in the story seem so real you can picture them in your mind as though you were right next to them. There is use of irony in the story, which makes it even more interesting to read. All Around The Town is truly an exciting book filled with surprise and suspense with a touch of romance. Readers are sure to love this touching story of a child¿s survival into adulthood. It is surely and eye catcher.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Superficial, Predictable, and Unrealistic

    All Around the Town recooked the dry and tasteless politically correct plot--young girl gets kidnapped by evil pedophile, suffers mental trauma in the form of multiple personality disorder, and undertakes therapy to purge herself of disabling memories in hopes of becoming healthy and happy once more. Clark adds a few twists to the story in the form of an interesting but predictable murder mystery. With superficial characters the reader can't relate to and almost no noticeable research on the topic of MPD, All Around the Town is disappointing, to say the least. However, if the reader is looking for a quick read to settle down for the night, the story is entertaining enough.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Fascinating Plot!

    Truly fascinating story line. I really enjoyed the plot to this book. A traumatized young girl goes through a tremendous ordeal and comes out of the incident with multiple personality disorder. I believe it took tremendous talent to be able to write such an intense and complicated character and make it comprehensive to the reader at the same time. I highly recommend this book. All Around the Town has a lot of unsuspected twists and turns so enjoy the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    The best book ever

    I think that this book is very interesting, not only is it a good story but its so amazing how ann older man could fall in love with a little girl. Also how this little girl developes so many personalaties is the most amazzing thing I have ever read. Actually I never liked reading before this book but now I love it. Also I could never get tired of reading it If read it twice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    Entertaning and Stimulating

    The book contains the adventure of returning to the people you love. It intails the stimulating and mystery that will intangle your life. You will be caught up in the book so you will never want to put it down. There is an element of surprise and shock that drags you into the book as you follow with your eyes so closly. There seems to be a stimulating force that keeps drawing you back to complete the book. After you have finished you seemed completly attached not wanting to let go of the characters. After you finish this book you will want to go to the bookstore to grab another Mary Higgins Clark book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8