Customer Reviews for

All for a Story (All For Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a witty story told with a fresh twist¿bad girl vs. good

    This is a witty story told with a fresh twist—bad girl vs. good boy. (I find it’s usually the opposite.) The book started a little slow for me, but ultimately kept my interest and the pacing improved.
    The scenes, set in the roaring 20s of Washington DC, are vivid. The characters, especially Monica Brisbaine, are well developed and will surely charm their way into you heart.
    Imagine being a self-absorbed, sarcastic, party-girl journalist, gossiping and frolicking around the social scene, simply having a grand ol’ time, when your boss dies suddenly and a new ‘heir’, a Christian, changes everything—your job, thoughts, and focus. Well, that creates a delightful book by Allison Pittman, titled, All For A Story.

    Publisher: Tyndale Publishers
    Pages: 381
    First Lines: WASHINGTON, DC, 1923. It was just past dawn when she hammered the final key on her portable typewriter, finishing up that week’s installment of Monkey Business.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy free from NetGalley I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    All For a Story by Allison Pittman is a very good story that tak

    All For a Story by Allison Pittman is a very good story that takes place during the Roaring Twenties in Washington, D.C. Monica Brisbane writes a gossip column for Capitol Chatter, a less than stellar newspaper. This job allows her to spend her nights dancing and drinking at the local speakeasys where she gathers information for her column that she writes under the name of Monkey Business. When the owner of the newspaper dies, his nephew, Max Moore, moves from California to take over the leadership of the paper. Max wants to turn the Capitol Chatter into a newspaper that is respectable with Christian values. Max gives Monica a challenging assignment which is to infiltrate and then report on the Anti-Flirt Society. After meeting with the young women in the group, Monica begins to question her way of life.




    The author has a way of pulling the reader into the story. When I first started reading the story I did not care for Monica but as I kept reading I began to see her in a different light. All the characters came to life on the pages of the book and I felt as if I knew every one of them, some I loved and some I greatly disliked. The scenes that took place in a speakeasy were so well developed that I could almost smell the smoke and liquor. I especially liked the way that the author developed the character of Max. He was a Christian and was determined to turn the inferior newspaper into a paper of value. Probably the best part of the story was watching Monica turn her life around. The book has a satisfactory ending and I would like to see a sequel to read more about Max and Monica.




    I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story that takes place during the Roaring Twenties and that also includes a great deal of history and a little romance.




    Tyndale House Publishers via Net Galley provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    This fun story features Monica Brisbaine, a gossip columnist dur

    This fun story features Monica Brisbaine, a gossip columnist during the Roaring 20s. When Max Moore inherits his uncle’s tabloid newspaper, he is determined to change the Capital Chatter into an upstanding newspaper. His desire is to fill it with positive, uplifting stories, which brings him in direct conflict with Monica, the “little Monkey’ who secretly visits speakeasies, looking for dirt for her next column. This is a delightful story with a wonderful Christian message and was a finalist for a prestigious Christy Award. I highly recommend this book as an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A story about a young woman journalist and her newspaper family,

    A story about a young woman journalist and her newspaper family, set in Washington, DC during the 1920's. The story is delightful, what an adventurous era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    A poor excuse for Christian fiction

    A terribly disappointin

    A poor excuse for Christian fiction <p>

    A terribly disappointing story. This book claims to be &quot;Religious&quot;, &quot;Christian fiction&quot;, &quot;Inspirational.&quot; It is none of those. While the writing itself is decent, the story felt like Christianity was an after thought, something included to get particular people to read it. In theory, the book is about trying to make a tabloid a place for inspiration for a good life, but the truth is the novel glamorizes what it claims to condemn. In fact, the story would probably be more compelling outside of the Christian genre, because then the poor choices made fit into the worldview instead of knowingly making bad choices -  and receiving good as a consequence. Because of these glaring inconsistencies I cannot recommend this book. </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    I think I can honestly say that this book was unlike any other n

    I think I can honestly say that this book was unlike any other novel that I have ever read – in a good way. Monica is a gossip reporter who frequently visits speakeasies and writes about them in her column “Monkey Business”. Max has just inherited the paper she writes for and has left his job as an editor for an evangelist’s magazine to manage it. When he arrives, he begins making significant changes to the content of the paper, especially to her column. But will she survive swapping the glamour of the nightlife scene for reporting on a club of women who are opposed to flirting?
    The contrast between the two main characters and the situations that result from the clashes between them were highly entertaining. Personally, I found it refreshing to see a departure from the typical “bad boy meets good girl” storyline. Ms. Pittman uses snappy dialogue, sympathetic characters, and a unique cast of supporting characters to weave a quirky story that stands out. While not afraid to address serious subject matter she does so with great tact.  
    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes unique historical fiction, and I look forward to reading the next installment in the series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Monica is a thoroughly modern girl in the 1920¿s in Washington

    Monica is a thoroughly modern girl in the 1920’s in Washington DC. She drinks, sleeps around, and works as a newspaper columnist – but she doesn’t smoke. When her boss dies his nephew takes over the tabloid and wants it to become more pure, lovely, honest, and just. Obviously, they clash! But as they get to know each other better they are drawn to each other – she to his calm faith and he to her liveliness. It was interesting to learn a little more about speakeasies and the changing of values in the Roaring Twenties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    This is an interesting story of a thoroughly modern girl Monica

    This is an interesting story of a thoroughly modern girl Monica who works for the newspaper in the roaring 1920’s when there were speakeasies where people could meet and drink the night away unless there was a police raid. The editor of the paper died suddenly, leaving the paper to his nephew who was working for a Christian evangelist. Max and Monica were bound to clash! Still, Monica needed the job and Max was fascinated by her beauty, personality, and love of life. How Max loosened up and Monica saw how some of her comments in the paper were hurtful and both learned to appreciate each other made for an interesting story with many twists and turns you would never suspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    This is the second book in this series.  All for a Song was the

    This is the second book in this series.  All for a Song was the first.  While the story line kept me reading, there were parts of it that just didn't measure up.  Set in the roaring 20's, during prohibition, Monica was writing undercover for a newspaper.  She visited all the end ground nightclubs and wrote using the pen name Monkey Business.  Max from the first story, takes a more prominent place in this book.  He leaves the ministry of Aimee Semple McPherson, and takes over his late uncle's newspaper.  Max wants to turn the Capitol Chatter into a newspaper that is respectable with Christian values. He's got his work cut out for him!  




    I wanted to shake Monica.  She was so flippant.  Everyone loved her and allowed her to continue on as she was.  I suppose they wanted to love her unconditionally in hopes they could change her.  Max challenges her to go undercover in another way.  He sends her to infiltrate the Anti-Flirt Society. After meeting with the young women in the group, Monica begins to question her way of life.  Her &quot;change&quot; of heart, which she admits may not be the type Max wants, is all it takes for him to profess his love.  



    I struggled with how that was all that was needed for this man of Christian values to be so easily swayed.  Why didn't Monica have a time of growing and changing?  Why didn't we see Monica's faith develop BEFORE Max swoops in and carries her off into the sunset?    Yes she was softening.  Yes she was moving in the right direction.  But she herself said she didn't have an religious experience and Max says, he loves her just as she is.  They kiss. Period.  The end. Not what I wanted or hoped for out of Monica nor Max.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Monkey Business Monica anonymously writes a column for the news

    Monkey Business

    Monica anonymously writes a column for the newspaper that allows her to visit the speakeasys in Washington DC so she has something to write about.
    Max inherits the paper from his estranged uncle after he suddenly passes away.
    Their first meeting is at the funeral of the uncle/boss and Max can't get her out of his head even though she is everything that is wrong for him and he is now her boss.
    Even though I guessed how the relationship would end up it was interesting reading a book set during the roaring twenties

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    All for a Story was well-written, but I found it was too predict

    All for a Story was well-written, but I found it was too predictable. I could tell what was going to happen from the very beginning of the story. It is a called a Christian fiction book, but as a Christian, I didn't agree with some of the messages from the book. The hero Max falls in love with a wild woman Monica. She leads him to trouble like drinking when it is against the law. And he finds excitement in her wild living. He keeps pursuing her, against his better judgment, and in the end, she turns around and all is well and happy. It was just too unrealistic for me to swallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Beautiful, Sweet, Gentle, and Fun. This is a wonderful story, wr

    Beautiful, Sweet, Gentle, and Fun. This is a wonderful story, written with tongue-in-cheek humor and lovely descriptions. The main character gets into intricate dilemmas, and there are unexpected turns in the plot. I was so involved that I didn't want it to end. Allison Pittman has a sweet, entertaining writing style, and a skilIful vocabulary. She describes the era quite convincingly. The ending seemed sudden, but it was fitting. I enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    I wish the novel had been a bit more intriguing.  It did not cap

    I wish the novel had been a bit more intriguing.  It did not captivate my imagination or interest from the beginning.  I didn't get involved with the story as much as I usually do.  But overall it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    All For a Story is kind of the second book in this "all for

    All For a Story is kind of the second book in this &quot;all for a&quot; series by Allison. They all feature Aimee Semple McPherson in some way and are set in the roaring twenties. I love the setting for these books and I love that Allison is portraying Aimee in a correct light. She was no saint although many did come to the Lord through her ministry. In this one Monica Bisbaine is a writer who writes under a sudo name, &quot;Monkey&quot;. She visits the speakeasies and parties all the time. She writes covertly about the different clubs and what she wears and such. When the editor of the newspaper dies, however, his nephew takes over. Max (the nephew) was the editor for the Bridal Call, which was Aimee's magazine, so obviously he is a Christian and wants to change the face of the tabloid style newspaper. But how will Monica handle this change?




    This book continues in the wonderful writing style I've come to expect from Allison. Like I said above, I really enjoy this time period and I love the interplay of the illegal with the good. This books is a great read and would make a great beach book. I can't wait to read the last one in this &quot;series&quot; All for a Sister, review coming soon. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    I truly enjoyed this novel. The story takes place during the Roa

    I truly enjoyed this novel. The story takes place during the Roaring 20s. Monica is a reported who writes under a pseudonym, visiting speak-easies and other gatherings then reporting about them in the newspaper. When her boss dies, his nephew from California takes the helm. Sparks fly when the 2 meet and the romance begins. The author writes very well and I could picture the people and places well. Highly recommend this book to those who enjoy a great faith based romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Allison Pittman is one of my very favorite authors! She writes i

    Allison Pittman is one of my very favorite authors! She writes intriguing stories that I jump at the chance to read. Her characters seem real; flawed but likeable, people I'd like to be friends with. All for a Story is actually the third in a series of books that take place during the flapper days after World War II. (&quot;Lilies in Moonlight&quot; is the first in the series but they don't need to be read in order--they feature only the same time period; not the same main characters or even the same setting.) I've been reading good historical Christian fiction for about the last 7 years but had never read anything that took place during the 1920s before discovering this series... and it was such an exciting and interesting time period in our nation's history!

    The heroine of our story is Monica Bisbaine, who loves being a modern girl in the Roaring Twenties. She's feisty, classy, and clever with a zest for life. She loves to party and seems to thrive around people. I could totally relate to her--Monica before Christianity was a lot like me before I was living for God, and Monica after Christianity is a lot like I am now. We would've been friends. There's some mystery in the story, which is always an added bonus for me. Chapter 1 ends with the owner of the newspaper which Monica works for passing away. The newspaper is passed down to Max Moore, a guy with values who ends up becoming Monica's love interest and her boss. She ends up researching and writing from a much different angle! There's a battle for her--does she want to give up her exciting party girl life? Or doesn't she?

    Another important character in the book is real-life Amy Semple McPherson who began the Four Square Church in the 1920s. She's a very interesting person, quite a phenomena, and I was intrigued to know more about her. She certainly did great things in her lifetime, though much of her life was quite colorful, to say the least.

    The author definitely weaves a wonderful story that grips the reader from the first chapter. I was hooked immediately, as I always am with this author's books! I enjoyed this read very much but my favorite is still Lilies in Moonlight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    This is definitely not a book I plan on reading again. It was re

    This is definitely not a book I plan on reading again. It was realistic, but that is about all the good I have to say about it. I prefer to read books about the best in people, not the worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1