Customer Reviews for

All He Ever Desired

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My Review: The one thing I can say about absolutely every book o

My Review:
The one thing I can say about absolutely every book of Shannon's from this series is that I am constantly laughing. I love the Kowalski family and the camaraderie that Shannon has created among them. This is a family that loves each other dearly and show it b...
My Review:
The one thing I can say about absolutely every book of Shannon's from this series is that I am constantly laughing. I love the Kowalski family and the camaraderie that Shannon has created among them. This is a family that loves each other dearly and show it by giving each other a hard time and snarky comments. I love that!

This book follows Ryan. We met him in the last book and knew that there was something up with his history with Lauren, but WHOA...I had no idea. They do have some history....and it was that history that gave me pause with this book so that I didn't completely fall in love with everything about it. It just started me out with a bad taste in my mouth about Ryan...that he would do that sort of thing. I understand why and I understand his motivation and that he was young and stupid, but it just left me unsettled feeling about him and the whole basis of when they knew each other before.

But beyond that bit of history, the book was good. Obviously Lauren and Ryan have this history. He's always been her "what-if" guy that she used for fantasy scenarios, so when he comes back to town, it throws her for a loop. Neither one of them has any desire to revisit their past so they get pretty good at avoiding each other. That works until Lauren's teenage son does something that throws them together on a daily basis. Then there is no denying that the feelings between them are still strong.

Like all the Kowalski books, there's a lot going on here. Lauren's teenage son is dealing with some things which show the difficulties between her and her ex, Dean. Ryan is working on the Lodge and brought two of his young workers with him. His issues with their cell phones and texting kept me giggling throughout the entire book. Mitch and Paige (H/h from bk #4) have their wedding in this book so there were some great scenes with the ENTIRE Kowalski clan. There are also the normal small town gossips and twists & turns happening here.

Another good installment to this series. It wasn't quite up to my love of the other books, but it still rates pretty high in my list of contemporary books.
I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

posted by SmittenWithReading on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love this series and can't wait for the next book because I h

I love this series and can't wait for the next book because I have grown so attached to the Kowalski clan and want to read all their happy endings. However this book was missing something the other books had. I can't put my finger on it just yet. Chemistry? Maybe dept...
I love this series and can't wait for the next book because I have grown so attached to the Kowalski clan and want to read all their happy endings. However this book was missing something the other books had. I can't put my finger on it just yet. Chemistry? Maybe depth? Pizzazz? I still liked it just not like the other books in this series. It might be because Ryan was not one of my favorite Kowalski. I didn't know much about him and wasn't as excited to have his book. It is still good just not as great as the others.

posted by CAJ45 on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Review: The one thing I can say about absolutely every book o

    My Review:
    The one thing I can say about absolutely every book of Shannon's from this series is that I am constantly laughing. I love the Kowalski family and the camaraderie that Shannon has created among them. This is a family that loves each other dearly and show it by giving each other a hard time and snarky comments. I love that!

    This book follows Ryan. We met him in the last book and knew that there was something up with his history with Lauren, but WHOA...I had no idea. They do have some history....and it was that history that gave me pause with this book so that I didn't completely fall in love with everything about it. It just started me out with a bad taste in my mouth about Ryan...that he would do that sort of thing. I understand why and I understand his motivation and that he was young and stupid, but it just left me unsettled feeling about him and the whole basis of when they knew each other before.

    But beyond that bit of history, the book was good. Obviously Lauren and Ryan have this history. He's always been her "what-if" guy that she used for fantasy scenarios, so when he comes back to town, it throws her for a loop. Neither one of them has any desire to revisit their past so they get pretty good at avoiding each other. That works until Lauren's teenage son does something that throws them together on a daily basis. Then there is no denying that the feelings between them are still strong.

    Like all the Kowalski books, there's a lot going on here. Lauren's teenage son is dealing with some things which show the difficulties between her and her ex, Dean. Ryan is working on the Lodge and brought two of his young workers with him. His issues with their cell phones and texting kept me giggling throughout the entire book. Mitch and Paige (H/h from bk #4) have their wedding in this book so there were some great scenes with the ENTIRE Kowalski clan. There are also the normal small town gossips and twists & turns happening here.

    Another good installment to this series. It wasn't quite up to my love of the other books, but it still rates pretty high in my list of contemporary books.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved this book! Sat in my vehicle and read this book during my

    Loved this book! Sat in my vehicle and read this book during my son's practice. I'm sure I looked like a crazy lady because this book kept me smiling the whole time! I love this author...great story, great laughs and great characters. It doesn't get any better than that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    GOOD!

    Love These Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    It was great book to read, couldn't put it down. Finished in one day..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    A great story about second chances at love. Ryan is a successfu

    A great story about second chances at love.

    Ryan is a successful builder who returns home to help restore the family's inn. He is reluctant to return because he doesn't want to run into Lauren, the woman he opened his heart to and refused him. But of course, fate has other plans for him when he runs into her and then catches her son vandalizing the family's property.

    I liked Ryan from the start. He was a tortured soul who once laid his heart on the table only to have it be broken by Lauren. He lived his life for his work, having one relationship and nothing more significant than that. He felt real and my heart went out to him and his conflicting emotions. While his heart was saying one thing his mind was being practical and it wasn't until the very end that his feelings won out.

    Lauren felt real too. A divorced woman with a teenage son, she struggled everyday to make a life for herself and her son. Always remembering the one that got away and imagining how it could have been. But she doesn't kid herself into believing that all will be well if she gets together with Ryan. She has responsibilities and I admired her for putting them first rather than giving into her desires to let it all go and be with Ryan.

    I loved their interactions. Their chemistry was very palpable and their dialog very entertaining and revealing. I enjoyed having both points of view since it truly gave me a chance to really get to know their personalities, hesitations and wants. The author did a great job of bringing them together in a believable way. Their courtship may have been short, but their interactions and their history really helped me imagine it could be real. I also enjoyed the secondary characters and the son's struggles with adapting with his situation with his father. It helped show a different, more assertive side to Lauren and Ryan in how they dealt with that situation and how they related to him.

    The writing was very good. I feel that my expectations for this book were met since it was filled with great humor and banter, amazing chemistry and well developed characters. I liked that the events presented served a purpose. Each time they interacted with themselves or secondary characters I got to know a little bit more about them and I appreciated that.

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series, Josh's story. I adored him in book 4 and he really won my heart in this book with his humor and great heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved the first 95% or so of this book...I adored R

    I absolutely loved the first 95% or so of this book...I adored Ryan (how it is possible that each new Kowalski guy is my favorite? It shouldn't be possible, yet it keeps happening), and I really liked Lauren--not a smidge of TSTL-ishness, and almost all of her issues and decisions made total sense to me; and there were funny scenes and humorous dialog galore in this one. Even Mary and Rose's machinations, which in the other books did get to be a bit much, were controlled this time around. We got to see Mitch and Paige get married, which was really sweet, and we find out that Liz has (finally!) dumped the loser she left town to be with and is now a free woman. We even get a hint of where she *might* go with that freedom, if she'd just move back to town (She will get her own book, yes, Ms. Stacey? Please?). All good things. The reason for the four instead of five stars is the last 5% or so of the book. All of a sudden everything got very wham, bam, let's solve all of our problems like they do in those afterschool specials where everything was resolved and neatly boxed up in the final five minutes of airtime-like. It was disconcerting and a bit disappointing, to be honest. Ultimately, though, deserving characters got their HEA, so I'm pleased. I still love this series and can't wait for the next one to come out. I'd even go out on a limb and say I'd be willing to wait a shade longer for longer, more fulfilling books...(subtle-hint). :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1