Customer Reviews for

All He Saw Was The Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly intriguing. My Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. Disclai

Thoroughly intriguing.

My Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Disclaimers: I received an electronic form of this book for review in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not obligated to write a good review and did not receive any compensation for writing this review.

My Ov...
Thoroughly intriguing.

My Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Disclaimers: I received an electronic form of this book for review in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not obligated to write a good review and did not receive any compensation for writing this review.

My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: First of all, I love Italy, and so the second I heard this took place in Rome, I knew I had to read this one. Plus the mafia is involved...come on...how can you not read this one?

Leonard exceeded my expectations in every manner possible. I was stunned by the depth in the plot, the characters, and in the writing style. His writing was compelling, intriguing, and never boring. He masterfully weaved several different story arcs together into one action-packed novel that had my heart racing. Beautiful prose to say the least.

As for the characters, they were all so brilliantly crafted. Often when I read suspense, I feel like the characters are flat. This was not the case with this novel. Every single one of these characters (and no I'm not exaggerating) left me impressed. I absolutely adored McCabe and Angela in particular. Their interactions were amusing, thrilling, and had me frantically turning pages to see how their story ended.

As for the whole Sharon, Ray, and Joey angle, I usually have no tolerance for people who cheat. However, I found myself thoroughly intrigued by their relationship and couldn't help but wonder how everything I would turn out. A girl married to a Special Service man and having an affair with a mobster. Intriguing, horrible, but thoroughly intriguing.

This novel was one of the better thriller/mystery/suspense novels I've read in a long time. Like I mentioned earlier, the writing seemed to flow so well and the plot development was brilliantly done.

In Summary: A fast read with a killer plot line that left me thoroughly entranced from the very first page to the very last. Brilliant characters...plus it takes place in Italy and involved the Mafia. What more could you ask for?

Warnings/Side-notes: Several instances of strong language, but not excessive use. Sexual references were very common. They were a little more detailed than some books I've read, but they were still not very detailed. (See the excerpt. It mentions sex like this frequently, but isn't really detailed.)

The Wrap-up: I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read in a manner of hours and intrigued the entire time. Every moment of this book seemed to flow together so nicely and in a way that compelled me to keep reading. Plus, I loved the characters. At the beginning, I found the jumps between characters and the flashes to the past a little confusing. However, I quickly caught on and became swept away in the story. An intriguing read to say the least. Definitely recommended.

Love,

Danica Page

posted by DanicaPage on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Minus stars

Very boring. Made no sense at all. Story flipped flopped around so much you couldny tell what was going on. I gave up after pg 41. Another free friday loser.

posted by 8888649 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Great stuff!

    Two storylines, at first parallel and then growing closer together. Great characters, dialogue, descriptions, and wonderful plotting and action. Worth every penny I paid, and couldn't put it down even to sleep! More exciting than 99% of action movies.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    A rip roaring adventure set in and around Rome. Kidnapping, mor

    A rip roaring adventure set in and around Rome. Kidnapping, more kidnapping and a the neglected wife of a Secret Service and her Mafia connected boyfriend mix in an adventure that carries the reader along for a thrilling ride.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Very much like a James Patterson novel.

    Suspenseful, generally well written. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Action

    Action in Italy plus a sexy woman. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Leonard does it yet AGAIN! I said in my review for Voices of th

    Leonard does it yet AGAIN!

    I said in my review for Voices of the Dead that if all of Peter Leonard’s books were like this that he just found himself a new fan. I can now say this with confidence as All He Saw Was The Girl totally blew me away for some of the same reasons.

    Here we have two narratives. The first is McCabe and Chip who are two American exchange students in Rome. They cross paths with a violent street gang and thanks to a beautiful Italian girl get wrapped up in a kidnapping plan that’s terribly flawed. Second, we have Sharon Vanelli and Joey Palermo in Detroit. Joey is a Mafia enforcer and his affair with Sharon is about to be discovered by her husband who is a secret service agent.

    Sounds pretty wild doesn’t it? It is! We start off with Chip and McCabe stealing a cab as a drunken prank and it just gets crazier from there. There is no clean cut heroic person to save the day but two very flawed individuals who are complex and realistic. As Leonard uses them to weave the narratives together, you’ll find yourself on the edge of your seat and not minding the narrative changes. With all the suspense, Mafia Crime lords, action and twists this would make an awesome movie.

    Thank you to The Story Plant and Partners In Crime Blog Tours for the review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    A Page Turner!!

    I was first introduced to this author when I read, Voices of the Dead, which I thoroughly enjoyed due to his writing style, his character development and descriptive settings, however, I am always a bit skeptical when I start to read a follow up novel. Will it be as good? Have I set my expectations too high and compare it to the first book?

    All He Saw Was The Girl, just like Voices of the Dead, within the first few pages the book pulled me in with the introduction of a few of the characters that the author brought to life. Chip and McCabe, 2 students studying in Italy. Then Sharon, a lonesome wife from Detroit, married to a secret service agent, is injected into the story line. Characters, so different and on different ends of the spectrum, had this reader wondering what is their connection? The suspense starts and builds, like a ticking time bomb with one kidnapping that has gone bad, and continues with the tumultuous "mob" related cat and mouse chase of another kidnapping through the streets of Italy.

    What I like about Peter Leonard's books is that he creates the cast of characters, with the reader not knowing the connection, and in a very fluid manner, interweaves them all into an intricate plot. Another aspect of his writing that I enjoy is that he alternates chapters with different characters and leaves the reader with mini cliff hangers that it's a "one more chapter" read to find out what happens and I found that I had read many more chapters than one. The detailed descriptions of Italy were vivid, and for me, factual as I had seen and visited many of the locales that he used as his settings. The action fast paced, with twists and turns of suspense and a bit of dry humor thrown in.

    Did All He Saw Was The Girl meet my expectations, yes! It was what I call "a transport read", where I was so engrossed into the story that I was unaware of what was going on around me. A page turner!! Would I recommend it, absolutely!!! Only one problem now, waiting for his next novel!!

    My Rating: 5

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    Loved this story from beginning to end......

    Loved this story from beginning to end......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Mel bio

    Name:Let me think... Age: 14 almost 15 Appearance: tall like 5'10" blonde hair side sweep bangs blue eyes is a tomboy so is usually in a black tee and jeans. Personality: kind loving crazy outgoing fun to be with and is an awesome friend Status: single and looking...any others just ask!!! XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    &star Josh's bio &star

    Gender: Male
    <p>
    Age: Around the same age as everyone here.
    <p>
    Looks: He has brown brushy hair, blue eyes, and a tall mouth. He is tall for his age. He has a good six pack and nice forarm muscles. ((He looks like maris if youve seen le mis))
    <p>
    History: It's perty boriing~ not gonna tell ya.
    <p>
    Family: hes the eldest out of 4 kids. He has two small bros, and the second oldest is his little sis.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    To i heart Jacob

    Who are u?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Candy Updated

    Apperence: Bright red hair with pink and blue highlights, that comes down to her mid-chest. She also has lollipop earrings. Her eyes are multicolored, and always sparkle. She wears a white cropped top with a choclate bar on the front over a pink tank-top. She wears sky blue jeans to match her highlights, and brown mukk lukks.
    Height: 5'3"

    Personality: Friendly, creative, loves to read, can be self centered.

    Age: Same as everyone here.

    Carries: a baby panda and a small gold clutch purse that can hold anything.

    Status: Currently single

    Favorite book series: Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. Can't wait for the Blood of Olympus!


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Star

    Name: ^ Up ^ <br> Gender: Female <br> long currly Brown hair and Brown eyes she is wearin a pink top with black pants <br> she is Single <br> She is awesome and kind. <P> other just ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Killar

    Im and very very very very very very very very.. Very very very very very very very very very awesome Guy very very very very awesome....black hair black shade blue jeans and red shirt
    Das it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Alexis

    Name: Alexis. Dur. <p>Age: 14<p>Appearance: Brown eyes, bronzey brownish reddish brownish blackish hair. She's wearing a strapless pale blue dress that might remind you of Frozen. 5'2". <p>Other: Ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Misa

    Name: Misa <p> Hair: dark purple with bangs covering her right eye. Eyes: blue. Wears: a blue tank top and shorts. Other: ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Zack

    Name : Zack Gender: male looks: he wears just a plain dark purple shirt with black jeans. Hes more on the muscular side. He wears regular sneakers. His eyes are a sea green.Personality: tends to vary. Depends on the mood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Dakota

    Name dakota. Age-17 looks black hair with frosty blue and dark purple highlights. Grey eyes. Weares a black loose that hangs off one of her shoulders, a checked skirt with a pair of camo leggings under it. Combat boots. Personora- varies. Anything else ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    &starf Sofia Updated &starf

    Name: Sofia/ Sophia <br> Height: 5ft 4in <br> Hair Color: dark brown <br> Eye Color: bright blue <br> Skin Color: light tan <br> Personality: meet me <br> Crush: no telling you have to figure it out <br> Status: single for now <br> Other: She takes gymnastics and plays soccer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    Fast paced and intriguing!

    Was captivated from the start,excitement,romance, mystery and a happy ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    GREAT BOOK

    Great read as is his book Quiver

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2