BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All I Did Was Shoot My Man (Leonid McGill Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Oh What a Tangled Web We Weave

Walter Mosley continues his winning ways with this fast paced, hard hitting, twisted web of a mystery. If you haven't started reading Mosley, you are truly missing out on some very literate and well plotted mysteries. Leonid McGill has a problem, well, one of many. Year...
Walter Mosley continues his winning ways with this fast paced, hard hitting, twisted web of a mystery. If you haven't started reading Mosley, you are truly missing out on some very literate and well plotted mysteries. Leonid McGill has a problem, well, one of many. Years ago at a mobster's request, he planted evidence against a woman, Zella Grisham, that implicated her as an accomplice in a multimillion dollar robbery. She was already on the fast track to prison, having shot and wounded her husband three times after finding him in bed with another woman. Over the years, McGill has been changing his ways, regretting many of the things he had done in his dark past. After seven years in prison, Zella is released after McGill founds a way to have the robbery evidence discredited without implicating himself. McGill tries furtively to further pay his debt to Zella by finding out who really stole the corporate millions. Bodies soon start to pile up around him as someone is covering their trail. When his family is threatened McGill turns up the heat. Provided for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and Riverhead Books.

posted by Ronrose on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

All I Did Was Shoot My Man

I hate to give a brotha a bad review BUT this is truly one of the worst reads in the 10 years of our book club history. Gave him a second chance...not worthy of a third.

posted by Mrsljackson4 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Oh What a Tangled Web We Weave

    Walter Mosley continues his winning ways with this fast paced, hard hitting, twisted web of a mystery. If you haven't started reading Mosley, you are truly missing out on some very literate and well plotted mysteries. Leonid McGill has a problem, well, one of many. Years ago at a mobster's request, he planted evidence against a woman, Zella Grisham, that implicated her as an accomplice in a multimillion dollar robbery. She was already on the fast track to prison, having shot and wounded her husband three times after finding him in bed with another woman. Over the years, McGill has been changing his ways, regretting many of the things he had done in his dark past. After seven years in prison, Zella is released after McGill founds a way to have the robbery evidence discredited without implicating himself. McGill tries furtively to further pay his debt to Zella by finding out who really stole the corporate millions. Bodies soon start to pile up around him as someone is covering their trail. When his family is threatened McGill turns up the heat. Provided for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and Riverhead Books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    All I Did Was Shoot My Man

    I hate to give a brotha a bad review BUT this is truly one of the worst reads in the 10 years of our book club history. Gave him a second chance...not worthy of a third.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Interesting Read!!!

    Couldn't quite connect! Too many characters and plot way too busy!! It was hard to keep track of who was who and who was doing what!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    All I Did Was Shoot My Man

    I love the Easy Rawlins series, but McGill has way too many characters to keep track of. Probably terrific for someone who can.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Past and Present

    Leonid Trotter (“LT”) McGill is a 55-year-old African-American man, a former boxer, con man, fixer and over-all reprobate turned [relatively honest] PI is one of the more unusual characters in mystery fiction. Married, he has little if anything to do with his wife. As far as his three children are concerned, he acknowledges that two are not his, but he loves and nurtures all. His collection of friends and associates are as unconventional as he is. And so are the books in the series, all somewhat bizarre but very enjoyable.

    The plots of the books, while intricate and complicated, tend to be odd. And the present installment is no different. In the past, LT framed a young woman who shot her boyfriend three times, when she came home to find him in bed with her best friend. Since she was destined to go to jail anyway, he planted evidence in her locker of complicity in a $548 million heist from an insurance company. Some years later, LT finds the “false” information that led to her conviction following which his lawyer gets her released from prison. As a result, a number of events take place, including an attempt on LT’s life, along with the murders of several others. Of course, it’s up to him to solve the case.

    Written in a style that sometimes defies belief, the complexity and insight of the novel and, especially, the LT character, are overwhelming. With each book, development of LT as a person deepens, and the reader gains substantial knowledge of the man.

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ON THE FENCE WITH THIS ONE

    FIRST OFF, THIS BOOK HAD WAY TO MANY CHARACTERS FOR YOU TO KEEP TRACK OF. JUST WHEN YOU THINK YOU KNOW WHO IS WHO, MOSLEY, INTRODUCES YOU TO SOMEONE ELSE. THEN IT TOOK WAY TO LONG TO BUILD UP STEAM TO HOLD MY ATTENTION. I NEVER GOT EXCITED ABOUT READING THIS BOOK. I MOSTLY WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO IT ENDING. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great addition to the series

    Walter Mosely’s Leonid McGill is not a good man. He isn’t necessarily a bad man either, but he has done some really bad things in the past. Product of a dysfunctional home and the enabler of another of his own making, he has decided to change his life around and atone for the wrong he has done. In this fourth outing in the series, All I Did Was Shoot My Man, this means arranging for the release of Zella Grisham, and helping her get back on her feet. Zella (to whom the title of the book refers) was framed by McGill for a larger crime than the one which she actually committed, involving a multi-million dollar heist. Once she’s out of jail however, both she and McGill discover that there is much more to the heist than either of them ever knew about. This is the basis for the action which follows. The ‘whodunit’ aspect of the book is well plotted and entertaining. I wasn’t able to figure out who was really behind the heist before the end of the book, which for me is quite unusual, so I have to say I definitely enjoyed the mystery. However, the development of McGill’s character, his interactions with his wife, children, lover and the various other persons who people his world, are without a doubt the best part of this book. As much as I love Mosely’s Easy Rawlins, Leonid McGill is fast becoming a new favorite of mine. This was a very fast-paced read, and very enjoyable. It would appeal to readers who enjoy noir with a difference, as well as interesting characters and a solid plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Interesting book

    Complicated, but so intelligently written. I read passages out loud to my wife. I am ordering another in this series now. That is the highest praise I can give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    One of Walter Mosley's best books

    This book starts right off as intriguing. It's LT all the way if you have all of this series. you will love this book. There is a lot of mystery and action. The ending was a surprise for sure. I can't wait for #5 to come out. a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Mosley at his best...

    I've loved all of Walter Mosley's books and I realy like the Leonid McGill series. This one was every bit as good. I love the way he tells a story. He makes you want to not stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Twill

    Love that young man, this series is a good one....i just hope there is another book b/c there is another book in there, ( what happen with the wife..the girlfriend..his dad..his kids..will they ever know the truth about there " daddy ".. and will my favorite... TWILL, will he hook up with his bff...just ..get ...to ..writing .,Mr.Mosley!, lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    GREAT!

    This book was exciting, I loved the fights, I loved the feelings McGill shared, they're deep. I really loved Twill in the "family business", dangerous as it is, it is a good place for him. And I really love Twill!!!
    No closure for Tolstoy nor Aura here, but this is a series ;-)

    SDC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was an excellent read. I really enjoy Walter Mosley books they always bring an interesting perspective on life. The blended dysfunctional family is the norm for most people we just choose not to talk about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2