Customer Reviews for

All I Ever Wanted

Average Rating 4
( 888 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(402)

4 Star

(273)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy this entertaining lighthearted frolic

In Georgebury, Vermont Callie Grey knows she loves her boss, Mark Rousseau, who dumped her. She dreams he will realize she is his one too until he shatters her dreams breaking her hart when he announces on her thirtieth birthday he is engaged, but not to her.

Callie...
In Georgebury, Vermont Callie Grey knows she loves her boss, Mark Rousseau, who dumped her. She dreams he will realize she is his one too until he shatters her dreams breaking her hart when he announces on her thirtieth birthday he is engaged, but not to her.

Callie's mother throws her a birthday party at the family run Misinski's funeral home. Embarrassed by her mom's kindness and her family's advice to ignore the butthead, Callie decides to wake up her unrequited beloved by dating someone else to make him jealous. Shy veterinarian Dr. Ian MacFarland prefers animals to people especially after his former wife toasted him. However, he likes Callie, who lives life to fullest; she thinks he is pathetic, but decides he will do to achieve her mission. As they fall in love, he fears commitment so Callie who has revised the mission has a tough assignment, but she has Bowie to serve as her matchmaking canine.

This is an amusing contemporary romance starring two wonderful likable lead protagonists, a charming setting (even the funeral home), and a strong support cast. Fans will enjoy Callie's strategy to provide the vet with a personality make-over though sitting on his lap while he sits on a rocker makes her think he is perfect. Fans will enjoy this entertaining lighthearted frolic due to the eccentric cast (canine and human) who bring out the fun in this charmer.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice fluffy romance

All I Ever Wanted is quite honestly a guilty pleasure. It's a pretty predictable book, full of characters who have no financial worries or obligations, it seems. As much as I don't want to like romances, I like this book. The characters are likable, the story is sweet a...
All I Ever Wanted is quite honestly a guilty pleasure. It's a pretty predictable book, full of characters who have no financial worries or obligations, it seems. As much as I don't want to like romances, I like this book. The characters are likable, the story is sweet and there's really nothing not to like about it. It's probably not something you want your super classy book club to catch you reading, but it's definitely a good beach read.

This book is great for a young 20's reader and, I will admit, older readers will likely enjoy it as well (if you like some fluff in your reading, that is).

posted by Lindsay_Reviews on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 893 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy this entertaining lighthearted frolic

    In Georgebury, Vermont Callie Grey knows she loves her boss, Mark Rousseau, who dumped her. She dreams he will realize she is his one too until he shatters her dreams breaking her hart when he announces on her thirtieth birthday he is engaged, but not to her.

    Callie's mother throws her a birthday party at the family run Misinski's funeral home. Embarrassed by her mom's kindness and her family's advice to ignore the butthead, Callie decides to wake up her unrequited beloved by dating someone else to make him jealous. Shy veterinarian Dr. Ian MacFarland prefers animals to people especially after his former wife toasted him. However, he likes Callie, who lives life to fullest; she thinks he is pathetic, but decides he will do to achieve her mission. As they fall in love, he fears commitment so Callie who has revised the mission has a tough assignment, but she has Bowie to serve as her matchmaking canine.

    This is an amusing contemporary romance starring two wonderful likable lead protagonists, a charming setting (even the funeral home), and a strong support cast. Fans will enjoy Callie's strategy to provide the vet with a personality make-over though sitting on his lap while he sits on a rocker makes her think he is perfect. Fans will enjoy this entertaining lighthearted frolic due to the eccentric cast (canine and human) who bring out the fun in this charmer.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Best one yet from Higgins

    I stayed up all night unable to put this one down. The relationships were deeper in this latest installment (I've read all of them thanks to my nook in the last few months.
    ). I could have read more! I'd love to see things from Ian's perspective-so Kristan if you're reading this-it's a thought :) ! The family relationships were wonderful and descriptive. I really felt as if I understood more about who Callie was. I laughed at all the witty jokes out loud. The parents were a mixture of the humorous and the truly real. Thank you for Noah. I just loved that relationship. Can't say enough wonderful things about this book.

    I could read 1000 pages of this type of writing.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for traveling or beach read

    I love Kristan Higgins books. This book I read it through a flight from Vegas to New York. Kristan Higgins always makes her main characters likable and relatable. It was fun and had a great ending. I was always laughing and sometimes got teary eyed. Little bit of everything! Totally recommend it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    First Book by This Author

    This was my first book by this Author and I loved it. I can't wait to read another one of her books. I couldn't stop reading it. I usually read serious romance novels. This one was great because it was more fun and funny than serious.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really incredible story

    This is the first Kristan Higgins book I've read. Gotta say, never thought I'd cry over a rocking chair :). I absolutely loved this book. The characters were amazing. Her family made me laugh non-stop. Now, I'm off to buy another one of her books to enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Nice fluffy romance

    All I Ever Wanted is quite honestly a guilty pleasure. It's a pretty predictable book, full of characters who have no financial worries or obligations, it seems. As much as I don't want to like romances, I like this book. The characters are likable, the story is sweet and there's really nothing not to like about it. It's probably not something you want your super classy book club to catch you reading, but it's definitely a good beach read.

    This book is great for a young 20's reader and, I will admit, older readers will likely enjoy it as well (if you like some fluff in your reading, that is).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Good

    I like her books. Great characters and witty prose. Wasn't crazy that she chose Michelle Obama as the "lady" Cassie longed to immulate. Jackie Kennedy would have been a much better choice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Charming

    I have read all of this author's books-mostly by accident-they were economical from the e-book library. This one is truly her best one,though I have enjoyed every one of them. This book however, seemed to have more depth to the characters and the humor and wittiness of the main character was entertaining and she was very charming.Her relationship with her grandfather was touching and the storyline kept me interested from the very beginning. I look forward to reading more from this author and will add her to my list of authors to watch for new books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kick back and Relax

    Kristin Higgins does it again with her writing style and her approach to writing this book. There were some points in the book that were unrealistic, but it made it humorous when you read the reactions of the characters in the book.

    The characters of Callie, Mark and Ian present the turmoil of finding love and for Callie trying to get hitched.

    Some reactions of the characters are a little misunderstood and it became hard to follow the characters at some points. Otherwise, this was another read great for a day when you are stuck in the house or need to escape from something.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Cute, fun, your basic romantic comedy with a twist

    I really enjoyed this contemporary romance piece, and it's one of my favorites by the author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Best Book

    Best Book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Good Read!

    Kristan Higgins is the best if you want a good light romance novel with added humor. This book was a great quick read. Not my absolute favorite of Kristan's but I still enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Liked it

    I have read a few of this authors books, with mixed results. I liked this one. The heroine was a bit much at first, but I really came to like her. The hero was a bit too stoic, but not dislikable. Good chemistry, but very PG. Good storyline, very compelling. I liked it. I will keep my eyes open for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Love books that make me laugh and cry. Can't get enough of this

    Love books that make me laugh and cry. Can't get enough of this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Funny and heartwarming

    :::

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Definitely recommend!

    SO GOOD! Loved this one! Very funny, the laugh out loud kind. Ian doesn't say much but, when he does...swoon!! Callie is hillarious! Great combination. I definitely recommend this book.

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Emerald

    This is awesome! Keep on writing!
    <p>-Emerald

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    The Secret of the Ka

    A &#402&alpha&tau&epsilon&#402&upsilon&iota m&epsilon&epsilon&tau<_>i&eta<_>g <p> Rosa was at the park, despite it being closed today and the gate locked. <p> She was so determined to find out what it was that was here that she had climbed over the fence. She was now covered in mud, which blended in with her dark skin and clothes. Her hair was tied into many brades and curled up around her head. <p> She looked around and walked forward, creeping up to the bathroom. It was raining, and thunder was clapping. <br> She peered behind and saw nothing. She crept there and looked around. <p> Suddenly, a man wearing a big, muddy cloak with the same simbol as on the note jumped out at her and put his hand over her mouth. <br> "Shhhh. It is not safe here." <p> She bit him and twisted out of the hold, grabbing her knife. <p> He held his hands up to show he had no weapons. "I mean no harm. We cannot talk here." <p> After a few minutes of inspection, Rosa loosened her possition and put her knife back. <br> "Come." The man said, leading her to a tree. <br> They jumped into a hole and Rosa was mistified. It was an underground library! There were oversized eggs everywhere, organized in groups of ten. Some eggs were naturally sized, some were humongous, and some were slightly smaller than humongous but still fairly big. <p> "What's with the eggs?" <br> "It's part of our job." <br> "There's more? What do you do?" <br> "I can tell you, but you must keep it a secret." <br> She nodded quickly. <br> "We... hatch, train, and ride dragons. Dragon Riders of the Ka. Also known as the Dragon Riding Ka." <br> Rosa burst out laughing. "There's no such thing..." She said between laughs. "Dragons!" <br> He picked up one of the eggs that was cracked and tapped on it, until a creature popped out. <br> It was as big as your hand, had giant, blue, transparent butterfly wings, and it was a sort of greyish black. It had four legs, a long neck, and it was... a dragon. <br> "Then what is this?" <br> "Um." <br> "A SoaringRain dragonet. It is female, or properly called a dragoness." <br> "Can I have it?" <br> "If you join us." <br> "Do I have to wear a weird cloak?" <br> "No. We have a few open possitions for traveler and trainer." <br> "Does that mean I have to travel? I don't know the first thing about dragons, and I don't even know how to train them!" <br> He put down a book, Dragopedia, on the table. "This book has every dragon ever. Over a hundred. So, are you going to join." <br> "Can I have that draon and name it whatever I want?" <br> "Everyone gets a dragonet that they have as there first dragon." Sadness filled his eyes. "But that doesn't make them imortal." <br> Rosa picked up the dragonet and put it on her shoulder. She opened the book to the page about SoaringRains. 'They eat small insects, and whenever they flap their wings, droplets of water come off.' <br> "You shall be.... hmmm... Droppette!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Did it again!!!!!!!

    Should state clearly and in large print that books are repints. I resent buying the same thing more than one time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 893 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45