Customer Reviews for

All I Want For Christmas is a Duke

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it. Sweet and sexy.

Enjoyed it. Sweet and sexy.

posted by 17381353 on April 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Glad it was free

Ok for free wouldnt pay for it though

posted by AimeeTink on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    So Good!

    The first story was the best for me. Hard to admit seeing as i enjoyed both stories. I just wish they were both longer....i loved both. I hope you enjoy them as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    2 short stories

    Filled with so much love. I really enjoyed the first one, but the second one was amazing. The best ending I've had the pleasure to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Enjoyed it. Sweet and sexy.

    Enjoyed it. Sweet and sexy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. I will read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    BOTH FANTASTIC

    I had a wonderful time reading this novellas! I would love having a combo MARTIN & ALEXANDER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Lovely

    Two lovely, romantic regency stories. I so thoroughly enjoyed both, they were all one could ask for. FL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    The details of the holiday season shine through in this lovely a

    The details of the holiday season shine through in this lovely and sweetly sensual novella by new-to-me author, Delilah Marvelle.
    “The brightly lit windows before her were festively trimmed with thick garlands of holly and ivy that displayed a grand tiered variety of honey-glazed spice cakes, marzipan, eclairs, and dried candied fruit towers delicately kissed by sprinkled sugar.” (p57)
    Martin Pierce is, above all things, a kind and compassionate man, the true sign of a real hero in my book. It’s what Jane most remembers about him, despite their age difference.
    He always loved Jane but, because he is five years younger than she, he was afraid to reveal his true feelings. So he hid behind a facade of romantic and erotic letters, revealing his true passionate nature.
    “Tortured, romantic, and real.” (p125)
    Jane is an earl’s daughter who left her comfortable and privileged life to pursue a career in opera, a scandalous decision. When she believes she has met the man who is her Mr. X, the writer of her beloved love letters, she marries him, unknowingly breaking Martin’s heart (and later, when she realizes her mistake, her own).
    A sexy and sweet romance about true love that is right before your very eyes.
    The Twelve Days of Seduction By Màire Claremont




    Alexander Hunt, Eighth Duke of Berresford, is aware his ward’s governess isn’t quite what she seems. Although Miss Flint is beautiful and intelligent, she misrepresented herself to gain employment, and he threatens to give her the sack mere days before Christmas.




    Desperate to convince the sexy duke not to tear her from the little girl she’s grown to adore, Adriana challenges him to seduce her before the Twelve Days of Christmas have come to an end, although she fears it may cost her heart. Alexander accepts the challenge, unconcerned that he has as much to lose, if not more, than the delectable Miss Flint
    This is very much a Jane Eyre influenced story, with a strong-willed governess hiding a secret past and a handsome, entitled duke, with a young daughter. Màire Claremont, a relative newcomer to historical romance, has said that Charlotte Bronte’s classic story is one of her inspirations. In her dark Mad Passions series, set in Victorian England, her heroes and heroines are tortured souls who stumble on the path to  true love.
    Adriana, the  granddaughter of an earl, whose mother made a tragic love match, barely survived the rough streets of London. Yet she is a survivor and has made a respectable life for herself, rising to a position of governess, caring for Georgiana, the duke’s young ward. Yet Adriana also has a passionate side, which she reveals in her secretly-authored provocative stories, based on her life. When the duke discovers this, he threatens to throw her out but instead offers her the position of his mistress. She challenges him to twelve days to seduce her and, along the way, Alexander longs to discover the real Adriana even as he longs for her body.
    “No, his seduction had been of her very soul.” (p326)
    Adriana loves Alexander, but knows she must give him her body to keep her lifestyle. For his part, he wants her to want him for himself, not for a roof over her head. Each longs for love, but is afraid to let the other know their true feelings. Their sexual attraction is palpable and beautifully and sensually portrayed.
    The stigma of a handicap is a pivotal moment in the story, when Alexander supports Adriana’s impassioned defense of his daughter to a snobbish peer.
    “His dinner jacket, which likely would have fed a family in St. Giles for well over a year, barely wrinkled with his movement.” (p309)
    It is notable that, as today, the Christmas holidays were not always happy for everyone, even in history; for Adriana, it brings memories of a painful childhood.
    Alexander’s Christmas gift to Adriana is very beautiful and touching, if so very simple.
    “And yet, the present was incredibly intimate, one very personal to her.” (p286)
    And hers to him is just as intimate and meaningful.
    “Words were her altar, and she was sharing her most sacred beliefs with him.”  (p324)
    I very much enjoyed how each chapter opened with a homage to the song, “The Twelve Days of Christmas” with snippets of sensual eroticism:
    “On the Fourth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me Touches Oh So Sinful” and “On the Sixth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me Many Words of Mischief.”
    A few typos mar a beautiful story but not enough to be distracting. The cover, a stock photo apparently, is also the cover to Amara Royce’s wonderful Never Too Late.
    Memorable moments:
    ”’I was born to be a duke,’ he said factually. ‘I’m a duke because of the fortune of my birth. You make me wish to be a better man. One of my making, not birth.’” (p301)
    “He had rescued her. He had walked down to her side and defended her as no other man had done in her entire life. And the feeling she felt was not of gratitude but of something infinitely more terrifying. Love. She felt love.” (p316)
    Two beautiful love stories that can be enjoyed any time of year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    For Christmas themed short romances

    Both of these were excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Great read

    I loved both stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1