Customer Reviews for

All I Want for Christmas Is a Vampire (Love at Stake Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A strong Vampire Lore story

I enjoyed the story and all of the twists in it. It has some vampire lore that I like such as teleportation, mind control and levitation as well as some shape shifting. I really liked the Super Woman aspect that develops in the end. It is about a Vampire who is looking...
I enjoyed the story and all of the twists in it. It has some vampire lore that I like such as teleportation, mind control and levitation as well as some shape shifting. I really liked the Super Woman aspect that develops in the end. It is about a Vampire who is looking for a vampire wife and a human woman who is hired to guard the vamps during the day and does not like vampires very much. They of course fall in love and change their minds about who they want to spend their life (or undead life) with. The characters are strong and determined. There are two sections of explicit sex and some crude language and innuendos. Definitely for an adult audience only.

posted by songbirdsue on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Christmas Fun

Toni Davis’s Christmas Wish List:

1. Springing my best friend from the psych ward.

2. Living somewhere that doesn’t have coffins in the basement. Occupied coffins.

3. Finding Mr. Right. Please make him tall, dark, handsome, and ALIVE.

This Christmas isn’t s...
Toni Davis’s Christmas Wish List:

1. Springing my best friend from the psych ward.

2. Living somewhere that doesn’t have coffins in the basement. Occupied coffins.

3. Finding Mr. Right. Please make him tall, dark, handsome, and ALIVE.

This Christmas isn’t so merry for Toni. Her best friend’s been locked up in a mental hospital ever since she told the police she was attacked by vampires, and the only way for Toni to get her out is to prove that bloodsuckers really do exist. So she’s taken a job as a bodyguard for the Undead, but she gets more than she's bargained for, especially when she meets Ian MacPhie, a Scottish rascal looking for Ms. Right.

Although Ian’s nearly five centuries old, he looks and acts like a twenty-seven-year-old hunk. How can a dead man be so damn sexy? Could Mr. Wrong be Mr. Right? One forbidden kiss could lead to an eternity of passion—and all it takes is one moment under the mistletoe . . .

Toni had a very rewarding goal in life (to open up an orphanage for abandoned children) that she and her two closest friends were working years towards before vampires attacked and ruined everything. Now, Toni's best friend (and financial support) is in a mental ward and Toni finds herself in a reckless vampire job that could one day set everything right again ... or at least she hopes! If she can prevent herself from being tempted by the newly returned Scottish warrior, Ian, or accidentally revealing her plan of action in proving that vampires truly exist, she could set everything back to their original course. Yet, as things begin to heat up with Ian and the vampire society line between good & bad becomes more visible, Toni finds her future plans have changed whether she likes it or not.

For me, this was an okay book from the Love to Stake series - not one of my favorites and definitely not one of the worst. Thus, it was an overall so-so read. I wasn't that much of a fan of Toni, because she was either too tough or lacking from too little confidence for me to truly enjoy as a character. And, I couldn't escape the memory of Ian as a young boy as well - so sadly I was kind of ruined from the beginning with really losing myself in their budding relationship. It's always a joy though to catch up with other favorite characters from past books in the series and because of that I continue to follow the story and enjoy the ups and downs of each tale. Plus, the Christmas feel to this book really made for a festive read!

Likes: I'm also not that much of a fan of small talkative children in romance stories, but Constantine was quite adorable.

Dislikes: Ian's dating insecurities were somewhat boorish and vexing at times.

posted by PanolaJD on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    A strong Vampire Lore story

    I enjoyed the story and all of the twists in it. It has some vampire lore that I like such as teleportation, mind control and levitation as well as some shape shifting. I really liked the Super Woman aspect that develops in the end. It is about a Vampire who is looking for a vampire wife and a human woman who is hired to guard the vamps during the day and does not like vampires very much. They of course fall in love and change their minds about who they want to spend their life (or undead life) with. The characters are strong and determined. There are two sections of explicit sex and some crude language and innuendos. Definitely for an adult audience only.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas Fun

    Toni Davis’s Christmas Wish List:

    1. Springing my best friend from the psych ward.

    2. Living somewhere that doesn’t have coffins in the basement. Occupied coffins.

    3. Finding Mr. Right. Please make him tall, dark, handsome, and ALIVE.

    This Christmas isn’t so merry for Toni. Her best friend’s been locked up in a mental hospital ever since she told the police she was attacked by vampires, and the only way for Toni to get her out is to prove that bloodsuckers really do exist. So she’s taken a job as a bodyguard for the Undead, but she gets more than she's bargained for, especially when she meets Ian MacPhie, a Scottish rascal looking for Ms. Right.

    Although Ian’s nearly five centuries old, he looks and acts like a twenty-seven-year-old hunk. How can a dead man be so damn sexy? Could Mr. Wrong be Mr. Right? One forbidden kiss could lead to an eternity of passion—and all it takes is one moment under the mistletoe . . .

    Toni had a very rewarding goal in life (to open up an orphanage for abandoned children) that she and her two closest friends were working years towards before vampires attacked and ruined everything. Now, Toni's best friend (and financial support) is in a mental ward and Toni finds herself in a reckless vampire job that could one day set everything right again ... or at least she hopes! If she can prevent herself from being tempted by the newly returned Scottish warrior, Ian, or accidentally revealing her plan of action in proving that vampires truly exist, she could set everything back to their original course. Yet, as things begin to heat up with Ian and the vampire society line between good & bad becomes more visible, Toni finds her future plans have changed whether she likes it or not.

    For me, this was an okay book from the Love to Stake series - not one of my favorites and definitely not one of the worst. Thus, it was an overall so-so read. I wasn't that much of a fan of Toni, because she was either too tough or lacking from too little confidence for me to truly enjoy as a character. And, I couldn't escape the memory of Ian as a young boy as well - so sadly I was kind of ruined from the beginning with really losing myself in their budding relationship. It's always a joy though to catch up with other favorite characters from past books in the series and because of that I continue to follow the story and enjoy the ups and downs of each tale. Plus, the Christmas feel to this book really made for a festive read!

    Likes: I'm also not that much of a fan of small talkative children in romance stories, but Constantine was quite adorable.

    Dislikes: Ian's dating insecurities were somewhat boorish and vexing at times.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    this is a must read

    paranormal romance...wow! the vamps are good guys trying to protect mortals from the bad malcontents. in their quest for success, they find love and romance, sometimes with a mortal. there is never a dull moment in a book by kerrelyn sparks' 'love at stake' series. once open the book and start to read, you are hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    What's in your stocking?

    excitement, fantasy and romance combine to make this a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Very complicated love story

    This is a story about a vampire and a human girl falling in love with each other after she starts working as a daytime guard for a group of vampires called the Vamps, after she was attacked by another group of vampires called the True Ones. Wouldn't that be a very complicated love story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    great series

    Love it! Easy read, good page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend you read the whole series"Love at stake" by Kerrelyn Sparks she is the best auther!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When I Picked up her first book I was hooked. Kerrelyn Sparks knows how to keep you reading her book's. She knows how to make you fill like you are in the book with all of her charaters . There is love suspence action and the right amount sex so it doesn't sound like a porn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    H

    I loved this one of my favs out of all them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    One of my favorites of the series.

    I have the entire series is paperback, but when I saw the nook book on sale, I had to snatch it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great love series!

    Could not put it down! Had to read the read the next one!! But don't read them out of order! It gives away spoilers & the twist of the ongoing story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    One I began the series I couldn't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Yummy Highland Vampires..

    A great read that will leave you wanting more. Love Ian and Toni's story. Wonderful writing and great characters cant wait to read more!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Nice story

    I loved it. I was not looking for any certain book and this just popped up. I thought this might be fun for a short read however, once I started this book I didnt want to stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great book... Must read!!!

    Read this book in a day. Could not put it down. Love the story. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    I want one for Christmas too!

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good read

    Fun story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    By Black Star December 26

    This book looks awsome im gonna read it!!!! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I found myself laughing outloud throughout this story...what a g

    I found myself laughing outloud throughout this story...what a great sense of humor Kerrelyn Sparks has throughout this series. I was positively entertained and drawn into the story. Looking forward to reading more of her series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Love this book

    Cannot wait for next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Nadia

    Love your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19