Customer Reviews for

All My Patients Have Tales: Favorite Stories from a Vet's Practice

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Charming!

    I LOVED this book, as well as the following one by this vet, "All My Patients Kick and Bite". I hope he continues the series. I am an animal lover, and have trouble reading things that are very sad or graphic. Dr. Wells tells funny and strange happenings in his practice without getting into that. He is a wonderful writer, and it's obvious he is a pretty special vet, too. This is a lovely book. Makes me want to move to Colorado and live next door to him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Very nice read

    Enjoyed this book a lot. It was easy reading and kept my interest. Is good for any age. I had no idea that vets had such a tough time - but I can see how much through this book that the author loves his work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read!

    Really enabled me to understand the daily life and sometimes struggle of a veterinarian just trying to do his job, highly recommend it for anyone interested in going to vet school, really gave me a new outlook on how much people interaction vets also endure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A glimpse into the life of a young vet

    While Jeff Wells doesn't have the wild escapades to describe that James Herriot does in his tales of the vet's life, he does have informative stories of a young vet coming into his own. The book is a quick and easy read, and a delightful bit of storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Way too much fun to keep all to yourself!

    Let's face it.... how many of us REALLY know what goes on at a veterinarian practice? All the crazy and unpredictable things that must happen?? Dr. Wells' terrific book shines a very humorous light on many of them. I loved the easy style of writing, which made me feel like I was sitting around having a cup of coffee with the author. The book is also chock full of charming & strong illustrations. "All My Patients Have Tales" is timeless and ageless. Totally appropriate for adults and children alike. I would unhesitatingly buy this book again and again as gifts for lucky recipients. It is always a big hit. Get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I absolutely fell in love with this book!

    I absolutely fell in love with this book! It is a collection of essays following Jeff Well's career as a rural veterinarian. The book opens with his time in vet school and his first job in South Dakota. His very first day on the job sets the tone of the book. His earnest desire to prove his worth as a vet combined with the hilarious situations he finds himself in make for an irresistible combination.

    Jeff Wells writes with a style very similar to James Herriot, simple, and down to earth, with lots of heart and a great sense of humor. His ability to laugh at himself just makes the reader like him even more! As you might expect being a vet in rural communities in South Dakota and Colorado has provided him with many great stories that need no embellishment. From taking blood samples for a circus to catching loose buffalo, removing porcupine quills, staying out of the way of pet lions, and treating miniature pigs Jeff Wells never knows what he will find he he goes out on a call!

    If you like James Herriot's stories you are sure to love Jeff Wells' wild west take on the warm-hearted, overworked, rural vet's life. I don't know how he finds the time to be a vet and write a book, but I sure hope he writes more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    This was such a fun book to read; filled with humor and great st

    This was such a fun book to read; filled with humor and great story telling. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Funny, heartfelt, and an amazing read

    Extremly funny book. Highly recommend for vets, animal lovers, or anybody needing a laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Want to Laugh? READ Tales

    This is a great read. Funny, sincere and a delightful way to spend a rainy day. Hope Dr. Wells finds time to write again, very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    GOOD READ

    some chapters had me crying i laughed so hard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I read the book in three days in between my own patients at work. It was funny and enlightening. Definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    Light hearted reading

    Excellent read for animal lovers and those interested (or had childhood aspirations) in being a vet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1