Customer Reviews for

All New Square Foot Gardening: Grow More in Less Space! (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Perfect way to save time and money

WOW, is the best way to describe this book. I have been gardening since I was just a little girl, and if I only knew then what I know now. This book is the perfect example of how gardening should be. In a nutshell, if you read this book and apply it. You will save more ...
WOW, is the best way to describe this book. I have been gardening since I was just a little girl, and if I only knew then what I know now. This book is the perfect example of how gardening should be. In a nutshell, if you read this book and apply it. You will save more money than you could ever imagine, less time will be spent in the garden, less water, no weeding, more yield, and no back breaking work, and it is a beautiful site to look at. I applied this technique to a 40x40 piece of land in my backyard, and I am simply amazed at the process. This makes the perfect gift. I have shared it with all of my family and friends and they couldn't be happier. This is an absolute must for your library.

posted by Lizzy59 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better for Complete Novices Maybe

It didn't give me a lot of new information, and I was a bit irritated by the writer's insistence that you absolutely have to follow his method his way or it wouldn't be using his method. For example, that you must divide a rectangular box into 1' squares as opposed to s...
It didn't give me a lot of new information, and I was a bit irritated by the writer's insistence that you absolutely have to follow his method his way or it wouldn't be using his method. For example, that you must divide a rectangular box into 1' squares as opposed to say, using a container. But, it does have several good ideas about gardening and may make home gardening more accessible to those who are overwhelmed by the idea of traditional gardening.

posted by 249514 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    The Perfect way to save time and money

    WOW, is the best way to describe this book. I have been gardening since I was just a little girl, and if I only knew then what I know now. This book is the perfect example of how gardening should be. In a nutshell, if you read this book and apply it. You will save more money than you could ever imagine, less time will be spent in the garden, less water, no weeding, more yield, and no back breaking work, and it is a beautiful site to look at. I applied this technique to a 40x40 piece of land in my backyard, and I am simply amazed at the process. This makes the perfect gift. I have shared it with all of my family and friends and they couldn't be happier. This is an absolute must for your library.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Brilliant for introducing kids to gardening.

    This is an exceptional book on many different levels. My kids and I built three of the garden boxes one weekend, and not only has the whole experience been a great family activity, it's also a fabulous way of introducing them to gardening, because they get to experience the joy of planting and harvesting their crops without the huge downer of spending hours weeding like they would with a regular garden. They have found that veggies taste so different when the are picked from our own yard, rather than bought from the store. My daughter is using part of her box to grow annual flowers, and I would love to adapt this concept to growing perennials. Just wondering how much deeper the soil would have to be to keep the plants from freezing over the winter. Anyway, a great idea, a fun and educational activity, and the results are fabulous. I intend to give this book to relatives as gifts.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Great for Urban Gardeners

    I have followed Mel's system of gardening for years. I started as an urban gardener with a small yard. I wanted to get the most for my space in the vegetable patch. I still use the system even though I am on 10+ acres of land now. The system is easy to use, can be used as part of an overall landscaping plan, and takes minimal time to maintain. I started small (with just a couple of 2 foot by 3 foot beds) and have expanded to over a dozen beds. It makes it easy for me to rotate my "crops" to avoid depleting my soil of needed nutrients. I have also been able to give over small boxes to my children and now my granddaughter for them to start their own little Eden.

    The design of the beds is perfect for setting up mini greenhouses that extend the growing season in northern climates (I live in northern Minnesota). I can start my seeds earlier and leave crops in the ground later by making a simple greenhouse over the top of the beds using PVC pipe and clear plastic from the hardware store. Fresh garden tomatoes in October where I live are almost unheard of but are possible with this system.

    The graphics and the section on planting that is dedicated to individual plants is very helpful. Knowing how many seeds or plants to put in each square foot of space gives you the most bang for your buck. I teach math and have had a great time giving problems to my students to figure out how many bean seeds to get from the bulk seed bin at the garden center if I can plant 9 seeds per square foot and have a 4 X 6 foot bed to plant. And, yes, I do stand stand at the bin and count them out... So, this system is also great for tightwads like me.

    This book makes a nice gift for a first time homeowner who is interested in starting some small scale gardening. I often give it as a housewarming gift, and will leave a copy on the kitchen counter if/when I move from my home.

    Enjoy the book. I have gone through several copies since the first edition came out because I keep loaning mine out or leaving it on the side of a bed I just planted where it got rained on. If I were to suggest one thing to improve the book, it would be to make it a two volume set, one with the background information and another that is water/weather resistant for the individual planting instructions.

    Happy gardening!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lets Garden

    This is by far the best gardening book we have ever read. It is full of helpful and informative information on back-yard gardening. If you don't have too much space for planting, there are many, many ideas on how to utilize the space you have. It goes into great detail on using every square foot that is available to you.

    There are many pictures and diagrams to get you started.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Wonderful way to Garden

    The original reason I bought the book was based on my need for a raised garden box as I am disabled. I looked over the book, went on-line and the more I researched the more I felt this book was my best resource. Hubby built my garden box based on the Sq ft gardening theory and I am pleased to say my garden is thriving, works very well for my needs and DD loved it so much she had her hubby build a regular 4 x 8 box for her. She was so impressed with the Sq ft gardening methid she is building 2 more for her garden area.
    The book is well written, very informative, good pics, and the additional information ( tables for seed starting, planting guides etc) in the back of the book made it easier to use at a glance as I planned my space. It would make a great gift.
    The only thing that would make it a better gift would be to add the wood and addition materials to make it a complete set for a Sq ft garden!! It also shows how much we waste in a traditional gardening method. The old fashioned row type gardens. For those with limited space, special needs or huge areas to devote to a garden this will accomodate all of them. I am still amazed at how much we got into a 2 x 16 ft garden area. This was truly a great investment!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Wonderful Information

    I had not gardened in years, and again had opportunity, space and interest. This book & technique was referred to me. I am so happy I tracked it down and ordered the updated version. It is an interesting and most helpful guide, square foot or box gardening was new to me. But I now have several veggie boxes, several sizes with a wood chip walk ways between, and you should see the veggies thriving! I think I will have a bumper crop to share with family. Needed in times like these. Thank You!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Better for Complete Novices Maybe

    It didn't give me a lot of new information, and I was a bit irritated by the writer's insistence that you absolutely have to follow his method his way or it wouldn't be using his method. For example, that you must divide a rectangular box into 1' squares as opposed to say, using a container. But, it does have several good ideas about gardening and may make home gardening more accessible to those who are overwhelmed by the idea of traditional gardening.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    All New Square Foot Gardening a must for easy gardening!

    This book contained in depth information on the whole process from start to finish on square foot gardening. It included step by step photos as well as recomended products to use for building, filling, and growing your own square food garden. It was well organized to ease in planning and execution. It went through different ways to grow vertical to save space and listed the amount of space required for the vegetables and plants I intend to grow. Each chapter was filled with useful information and helpful tips to get the best yield for minimal effort. I have shared this teqnique to many colleagues and am very excited to get started!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Great for the beginner garderner to the pro. This book has great illustrations and common sense directions. The author really knows how to teach, and not make anyone intimidated. Which is excelllent for a beginner like myself.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in gardening. It is very much laid out,step by step even for the beginner garderner. I love the whole idea of him showing us exactly what to plant and how much to plant. By him doing that it takes the guess work out of it for me. I know exactly how much to plant based on the needs of my household. The square foot gardening will allow me to be able to manuver around the garden much easier,since it does not take up alot of space. It will also help me cut down on wasted food. My neighbors built two boxes, and are very pleased. Like I said before anything that takes the guess work out and is so pratical is for me. I am a family child care home provider, and I feel comfortable using this with my students and letting them tend to their items easily.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Excellent Book

    This is a really good and well thought out book. I was able to feed a family of 12 from 24 square feet in 3 short weeks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Now I Love To Garden

    WOW! Thanks for the easiest way to garden. Family-friendly, easy, wonderful and exciting. I am excited to garden this year. Thank you thank you thank you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    good book if your interested in raised gardens

    -Informative and easy to read.
    -Great book for a beginner and immediatetrying to fine tun technique.
    -Solid concepts and good illustration for newcomers.
    -great to consult
    -good book for garden libary

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Makes Sense!

    Easy read for a novice gardener! It was inpsiring and his method of gardening sounds so easy and it makes total sense! Definitely recommend a browse through this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    A must have for gardeners and want to be gardeners

    There is a good reason this is such a popular garden book. Square Foot Gardening is a great way to save time and money and have fun while gardening. This updated version is even better. I have used this method for years and still refer to this book regularly because of all the information it contains. Whether you live in a house, townhouse, or condo in the U.S. or anywhere in the world this book can help you grow a little or a lot of your own food. Mel tested his new methods for about ten years before coming out with this book so he knows from experience what really works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    A great tool for any beginning garder or someone who wants to but thinks that they can't do it. Wonderful tool for any gardener who wants to work smarter instead of harder. Easy to understand and follow.

    I have always wanted to garden but never thought I could. I never had the time or space. I wish I had found this years ago. I thought I couldn't garden because I didnt have land. I finlly have some space and was still intimidated at all the work of a traditional large row garden. After reading this book I am not only confident but excited and being a gardener. I can't wait to harvest my first crops this summer. I would recommend to this to anyone with an interest in gardening , especially if they thought they couldn't do it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Practical and save a lot of trouble in gardening

    It makes gardening much easier. The illustrations are good and the charts are very useful to plan ahead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Invaluable, whether you have a small garden or not!!

    I purchased this book after seeing it recommended in several seed catalogs. I wish I had gotten it sooner. We have a raised bed garden system for which we purchased soil to fill, but I didn't think about the combination of elements that Mel recommends. What we have works, but his would probably be better (weed free for one!). I do wish he didn't use sphagnum moss in his blend as the farming of it destroys bogs. Something more sustainable has got to be out there.
    The best part of the book in my opinion is in the back of the book, where he lists planting times and harvest periods. It is extremely helpful for utilizing crop rotation within the same year (and the same plot). For example, radishes can be grown in one space and after they are harvested, you could plant beans or another summer crop in it's place, and follow that with a fall crop such as broccoli.
    It was an enjoyable read as well as informative and helpful. I recommend it highly for those just getting into gardening.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    makes gardening simple & easy

    fun reading in the winter; cannot wait for spring to come to get started on this year's garden

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    i love this book

    This book is a great resource for gardeners, even if you are not a gardener! I am purchasing one for my dad so he can have an easy to do garden!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    This was the inspiration I needed

    I had a garden years ago and it was a lot of work. I knew I wanted
    to try to do a raised garden, but wasn't sure how to go about it. This
    book gave me all of the info that I needed to build it. I now have
    a thriving, great looking garden that requires very little maintenance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6