Customer Reviews for

All New Square Foot Gardening: Grow More in Less Space! (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Perfect way to save time and money

WOW, is the best way to describe this book. I have been gardening since I was just a little girl, and if I only knew then what I know now. This book is the perfect example of how gardening should be. In a nutshell, if you read this book and apply it. You will save more ...
WOW, is the best way to describe this book. I have been gardening since I was just a little girl, and if I only knew then what I know now. This book is the perfect example of how gardening should be. In a nutshell, if you read this book and apply it. You will save more money than you could ever imagine, less time will be spent in the garden, less water, no weeding, more yield, and no back breaking work, and it is a beautiful site to look at. I applied this technique to a 40x40 piece of land in my backyard, and I am simply amazed at the process. This makes the perfect gift. I have shared it with all of my family and friends and they couldn't be happier. This is an absolute must for your library.

posted by Lizzy59 on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better for Complete Novices Maybe

It didn't give me a lot of new information, and I was a bit irritated by the writer's insistence that you absolutely have to follow his method his way or it wouldn't be using his method. For example, that you must divide a rectangular box into 1' squares as opposed to s...
It didn't give me a lot of new information, and I was a bit irritated by the writer's insistence that you absolutely have to follow his method his way or it wouldn't be using his method. For example, that you must divide a rectangular box into 1' squares as opposed to say, using a container. But, it does have several good ideas about gardening and may make home gardening more accessible to those who are overwhelmed by the idea of traditional gardening.

posted by 249514 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    So Practical!

    I had been contemplating putting in a garden for about a year and after reading many books on the subject, I happened across the All New Square Foot Gardening book and I am so glad that I did. I love how practical and efficient the concept of Square Foot Gardening is. The illustrations are very clear. The author is very thorough with his instruction and his suggestions for modifying the square foot garden to fit your space are very useful. I am so looking forward to creating and maintaining my garden this year. I have shared this book with friends who have decided to convert to square foot gardening. Square Foot Gardening just makes sense!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    What an innovative idea.

    After admiring other people's gardens over the years, my daughter-in-law, did a Square Foot Garden (SFG). What she produced was incredible, so my husband decided we needed to try it. I was skeptical, because neither one of us have been gardeners. But what the heck--might as well try it.

    My husband followed the instructions to the letter, and we have the most beautiful garden ever. I go out daily to weed and take care of it. Now we are harvesting our own vegetables from the garden, and are we proud!

    This is something everyone should try. Next year, we're going to do two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    If you need to grow food to eat for your family, this is the book!

    This is not an apocalypse type of book. BUT, if you ever have a desparate need to grow food for your family, this is the book to have read and the system to have learned. Mr. Bartholomew writes in a clear and concise way. He knows his subject, thoroughly, and finds no need to pad his writing. The method he describes puts to practical use a number of methods and techniques with fancy names (he mentions the names basically once) but does not dwell on names. This is a how-to-book from the get go. You need food, have no money for expensive tools? Don't have very much space? Read the book. A hammer and nails, or a screw driver and screws and you can have a raised bed garden. I may not be neccesary to have a raised bed, but you can. Till the garden with your hands: plant and weed, and harvest with ease. No back breaking work needed here. He recommends the "French intensive" method of gardening. [i.e.: if you take something out, put something back in the place of what you took out.] In this way you can always have food growing. He explains how to grow a large number of vegetables, in almost all types of weather, even the broiling heat of a Houston summer.
    Needles to say, I very heartily recommend this book. The techniques he recommends, I have used and they work. For a book such as this one, that is what counts. And you can count on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Well worth the money

    Very informative. If you love gardening this is the book for you. These methods prove that anyone, any age, even handicapped can garden. The writer's enthusiasm is contagious and you will want to grab a spade and go to work. His method has spread world wide. This book is a great investment and I highly recommend it. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This made my gardening such a joy instead of a chore! I now have

    This made my gardening such a joy instead of a chore! I now have two square gardens going & working on 2 more. Thank You Mr Bartholomew for creating this & making my gardening such a delight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Excellent!

    This is the way to garden! It makes so much sense on so many levels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3