Customer Reviews for

All Night with a Rogue (Lords of Vice Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Lords of Vice regency romance is an enjoyable tale

    In 1820 London, the Ton calls Alexius Lothar Braverton Lord Sin partly because of his behavior and partly because he is the Marquess of Sinclair. His six Lords of Vice friends simply call him Sin.

    Sin's half sister Belle is upset as she tells him that ruthless heartless Lady Juliana Ivers is trying to steal her suitor Lord Kyd. Belle asks Sin to seduce the upstart and then dump her. Sin likes the ploy so is indifferent to whether Belle is being honest with him. He makes her his next target. Juliana knows she and her older sisters desperately need a good match as the family is financially in trouble since their father died several years ago. Sin begins his seduction unaware that Juliana has wanted him since she saw him in action while she was hiding in a tree. Scandal explodes leaving the Ivers in trouble and Alexius seemingly living up to his reputation.

    This Lords of Vice regency romance is an enjoyable tale due to a somewhat amoral cast surrounding the heroine starting with the lead male living up to his nickname and his sister and her mother causing havoc for the prime pair. In spite of a myriad of villains (and villainesses) intruding on the prime plot, the story line is fast-paced from the moment Belle begs her brother to ruin her rival and never takes a breather as he relishes the concept. Sin keeps this engaging plot brisk and fresh with his less than desirable scruples making him a cad in love with a woman who seems to prefer musical composition to accepting the love of a Lord of Vice.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Des_Blake

    Love the book, what a great author. I couldn't put this book down. Loved the characters. I can't wait to for the rest of the book series. Great Job!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book that pulls you through to the very end. I did fin

    This is a book that pulls you through to the very end. I did find the ending somewhat abrupt. It was like finishing a meal and being satisfied but, at the same time looking for just one more bite to feel complete. Sometimes I was put off by the crude eroticism that seemed to fill the first part of the book. I almost put the book aside a couple of times. However, when I asked myself about doing so, I kept coming back to wanting to know how the characters resolved the conflicts within which they were embroiled.

    What's more is that enough of the characterizations of the other Lords of Vice is introduced that I am intrigued by them and therefore find myself compelled to read the second book.

    I suppose one thing about Hawkin's Vice #1 is that it seems as if vernaculat common to the era is sometimes lacking and therefore she reverts to modern language.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Nice Story

    Nice easy read. The story was good. I felt the second "challenge" to Sin and Juliana was unnecessary; more could have been done with the Lord Grumbly subplot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Wonderful

    I love historical romances and especially like the women who are not airheads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It isn't everyday that you meet the heroine of a book and she's

    It isn't everyday that you meet the heroine of a book and she's up a tree. Literally. Lady Juliana Ivers is definitely a woman of action, that's something I immediately caught onto in the first two pages. She's no push over, if she doesn't want to do something and can find a way out of a situation, she'll do whatever it takes. She's also an emotional woman and this creates an inner conflict when she's faced with important decisions. As tough as Juliana is, she's still a victim of Sin's manipulations and it was hard for me to like him because of that. As sensual and charismatic as he is, the Marquess of Sinclair is a bastard in general and as All Night with a Rogue progressed I was beginning to doubt author Alexandra Hawkins' ability to turn him into a hero instead of the villain he seemed intent on becoming.

    It was a close call but Sin isn't a totally irredeemable character, and that's part of what kept me reading All Night with a Rogue until the very end. I had NEVER read a book where the hero was so close to being a true villain. Not even Lisa Kleypas' Lord St. Vincent (Devil in Winter) was as bad a Sin. Alexandra Hawkins really knows her unrepentant males! I didn't start to root for Sin until literally like 50 pages from the end when he started being a hero instead of a jerk.

    Juliana is quite the damsel in distress. Through no fault of her own she has found herself the pawn in a selfish woman's quest for revenge for an imagined slight, with Sin as her weapon. And though he never pretends to be anything but what he is, Sin shows Juliana moments of tenderness that in the end, has her falling in love with him to her complete ruin. It takes an almost tragic event to force Sin to his senses. Juliana, is the victim in the entire book but never once does she whine about it and play the "Poor Me" game, she's a survivor and that made me like her all the more. A rose in a storm.

    All Night with a Rogue was an intense read, with a lot of "almosts." An almost tragic heroine, an almost irredeemable hero, an almost insufferable mother and an almost unfix-able situation. Somehow though, Alexandra Hawkins made it all work out and became one of the "Must Have" authors on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    It was good

    I liked it a lot... after the first 100 pages, which almost made me stop reading. Sin was just too awful for words. However after that the book improved a greaat deal for me. The mom was also horrid. But I loved the heroine and Sin later. Overall a good, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Good, but left me wanting more

    Really liked the story line. Enough drama to keep you hooked. I was horribly disappointed that there was no retribution for the demon sister, though. Maybe she'll get her comeuppance in a future book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book was boring and the characters were never fully developed. I liked Sin but the storyline and plot never flowed. I would skip this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend this entire Series!

    Loved the series, loved the writing ability A. Hawkins does when creating such a powerful story. Can't wait until Hawkins fills love in Frost's heart. I'm sure it will be great, considering he is the true Rogue in the Vice series, yet he is rich and powerful! Hurry up with Frost story A. Hawkins... Please and thanks for keeping my rainy days wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    I am in love with this series

    A great story of how love conquerors all. Will read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Great read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Great Series

    Though I admit that I know little about Historical Romance as this is my first experience generally reading Paranormal but I must say I really enjoyed these books. I love the idea of these naughty men falling in love. I thought the characters were well written and developed. My one and only complaint would be that I felt the endings were a bit rushed. Overall though very enjoyable reads and I look forward to reading about the rest of the Lords of Vice in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sure to be one of your Favorites!

    THis book is for sure one of my favorite top ten books. I loved it. The storyline, characters, and writing style SUCK YOU IN! I couldn't stop until it was finshed! There for sure parts of this book that I wanted to scream. Parts my eyes buldged and my job dropped. At the end I had huge smile on my face, and could wait to read the next in the series!!! LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Loved the first 3 books

    I bought all three books and read them in order. I loved the three in this series I hope she will continue this series with all the "Lords of Vice". I really got caught up in all the books and could not put them down once I started reading them. I hope you will enjoy the series also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    loved it!

    Story line is very good. I have purchased all the books. Lots of dialogue to keep story at a fast pace. Loved all the characters. It does switch around quickly but I didn't think it took away from the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poorly written

    Had I paid more than 2.99 for this, I would have been very upset. While the idea behind the story holds potential, I feel the narrative itself was written poorly enough to distract from the story line. Often times the narrator changes mid paragraph with absolutely no warning and no indication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Terribly written

    The idea for the book is good but the execution is very poor. I changes point if view and place to often without and break I often had to reread passages because it changed scene in the middle of the paragrah. The blame has to go partially on the editor, these are easy mistakes to fix. Hawkins had good ideas for the plot but lacks the finesse to carry them to a satisfying conclusion.
    Don't buy this book, it's a waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sin and Juliana - Full Steam Ahead!

    OMG this was so erotic, I think I may "swoon"! I loved the story. It's always great to read of a rake or rogue get seduced to the other side. I loved Sin's entire look and mannerisms, and although I liked Juliana, I was a little put off on how naive she was in not to trust her heart but listening to others. In the end, it turned out perfectly and I am looking forward to reading the other Lord of Vice series of books. I am now hooked with this author's writing and bedroom scenes (well, not always in the bedroom)...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Upbeat, fresh historical romance!

    A beautifully written and steamy read, I thoroughly enjoyed ALL NIGHT WITH A ROGUE and couldn't put it down. The characters were well developed and engaging and I look forward to future "Lords of Vice" novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10