BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All Over but the Shoutin'

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of my all-time favorites!

My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

...
My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of.

For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness.

I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back.

Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man.

My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.)

Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ...

~Katrina

posted by Katrina_Shalom_Seach on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I don't like it

Okay maybe its because Im being forced to read this book, but I cant get past the second chapter. It doesnt entice me at all!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    One of my all-time favorites!

    My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

    I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of.

    For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness.

    I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back.

    Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man.

    My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.)

    Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ...

    ~Katrina

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Gifted Writer

    Rick Bragg is a just wonderfully gifted writer. Isn't it just great that he has used his wonderful gift! I just happen to be the age of his mother, a mother myself,a Yankee, and am going to give this book to a Southern Woman who could just use a good book about now! I would think that there are a lot of us out here who can identify with that special woman who is his momma!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    Must read for Southerns and everyone else, too

    I found myself laughing or crying throughout reading this book. Why? Because it brings to life so many of my friends and relatives here in the South over the years. We all know a Mark. Many of us have a relative who just never wore those blamed dentures. (That would include my own father-in-law.) This could have been their story. And the narrator is dead-on when he does the voice of Rick Bragg's mother - she (he) sounds just like the older women in our family. I would recommend this book to all Southerners.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Absolutely Fabulous

    I do not even know where to begin...From the minute that I started reading this book, I could not put it down. It came with me everywhere - work, the subway, a walk to the supermarket. Bragg was able to capture his experiences from birth to adulthood in such an eloquent manner. He allows the reader to truly feel and understand the path that his life has taken. My words do not even begin to credit Bragg with the appropriate praise that his work is due.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Touching and Inspirational

    THis is just a wonderful Mother's Day gift. It is truly inspirational and shows how a mother will do whatever it takes to provide for her children under unimaginable circumstances. Inspiratinal as she just never gave up and never complained. Rick Brag is a great writer I can not get enought of his books. This is just a great book. If you loved To Kill A Mockingbird you will love this also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    On Line Book Review of All Over but the Shoutin

    I enjoyed reading All Over but the Shoutin because it was educatioinal. I learned a lot about the South and southern living. The impact this has on society today and in the past is that one can overcome obstacles in life if the effort is applied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Loved reading this.

    Bragg writes with such honesty at times funny and others almost heartbreaking. I enjoyed every word. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Great book

    It really captures poverty and southern living

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Wonderful read.

    As a native Alabamian, I would recomend this to anyone who is a fan of southern heritage and/or memoirs in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    southern family history

    I enjoy Bragg's writing style. It was interesting to learn about his family history in conjunction with the history of the South at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    GREAT READ!!!

    Best book I have read in a long time, I enjoyed the style of storytelling and the rich descriptions of places, people, and experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Great read

    Good story about a real situation and the sacrificies of a mother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    check it out :)

    This was such a wonderful book :) It was amazing to me to see what people can overcome! It makes me wonder if I could do it in the same situation. This book will move you and make you reflect on your own life. ENYOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Very good writing. Enjoyed

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    my review

    i selected this book because of it being and southern coutry book which is where my part of town is. the book turned out to be enjoyable and i didnt find any chapters where i was bored and wanting to stop. it was very well written, easy to follow, and the images were vividly realstic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    5 Stars

    I think that All Over but the Shoutin written by Rick Bragg was a great book. He did hold a grudge on his past but by doing that it made him successful and he made it out of proverty. Also was able to get his mother out of it also. I admire him because he didn't let it bring him down it made him stronger and that should go for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Overcoming the odds

    I view this story as one that can inspire so many people on so many different levels of life to overcome the obstacles they face. We all have them, no matter what economic status we fall in or our ethnicity. Bragg gives us a comprehensive look into his family's life and the hardship they encountered but he overcame the odds of remaining a poor southern boy and is now a Pulitzer Prize winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Moving account of determination:

    All over But Shoutin is a moving account of one man's determination to rewrite his family's history and to carve out life for himself. The vivid descriptions of Southern Culture leaves you with a knowledgeable conclusion of how Bragg's family survives. Bragg's mother enriched her son's lives mainly by her altrusitic sacrifies. Bragg's consistent in his admiration of his mother's courage and backbone. This novel truly commemorates his admiration and love for his mother. Bragg's novel transfers you from his childhood to his autobiography. Bragg includes his flaws and fears honestly and finally becomes confident in himself and his family. Wow! What a way to end your story. Where there is a will, there is a way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    All Over but the Soutin review

    All Over but the Shoutin is a wonderful book to read. The author Rick Bragg takes the reader to southern style of life in Alabama. Rick and his brothers live with his mother and when he is home every now and then, his drunk, abusive father. The family is dirt poor and barely has enough clothes for school and food to eat. But the book is also about Rick having a dream to make money and to get out of the poor life. He wants better for his mother than what she has. Rick does just that too he gets a degree and is a reporter for the New York Times. I love how the book went from birth to adulthood and I could see all the ups and downs¿ throughout his life, understanding what he went through. I recommend this book to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    One of a Kind

    Rick Bragg's memoir brought to my heart the story of the American Dream and how he took the scraps he had and sewed them together to become a national success. Bragg's mother is beautifully portrayed in this piece as a strong fabric that held him together. His writing at time may be very serious but he always finds a way to make it funny. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has a soft spot for the south or for anyone who wants to open their eyes to another view of the country and one man's tale of his world. His novel, Ava's Man is next on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3