Customer Reviews for

All Over but the Shoutin'

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of my all-time favorites!

My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

...
My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of.

For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness.

I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back.

Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man.

My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.)

Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ...

~Katrina

posted by Katrina_Shalom_Seach on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I don't like it

Okay maybe its because Im being forced to read this book, but I cant get past the second chapter. It doesnt entice me at all!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    An inspiring, informative and engaging story of a place few know.

    Rick Bragg is a very good story teller whose personal experience of climbing out of the deepest part of the most rural part Alabama is captivating. His mother is one of those people that you will not forget.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    check it out :)

    This was such a wonderful book :) It was amazing to me to see what people can overcome! It makes me wonder if I could do it in the same situation. This book will move you and make you reflect on your own life. ENYOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Very good writing. Enjoyed

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    my review

    i selected this book because of it being and southern coutry book which is where my part of town is. the book turned out to be enjoyable and i didnt find any chapters where i was bored and wanting to stop. it was very well written, easy to follow, and the images were vividly realstic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    5 Stars

    I think that All Over but the Shoutin written by Rick Bragg was a great book. He did hold a grudge on his past but by doing that it made him successful and he made it out of proverty. Also was able to get his mother out of it also. I admire him because he didn't let it bring him down it made him stronger and that should go for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Not Every Book as Meaning

    Rick Bragg stated at the first of the book that the story did not mean anything he just wanted to show the reader how he lived. Bragg does a good job of showing us how he grew up and not everyone that grows up with nothing will have nothing when he grows up. I would only recommend this book fo those who like to read not for those who have to find something to read for school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Uplifting

    Bragg describes his childhood in detail, from not having a father to a mother who sacrificed everything just so her children wouldn't go completely without. In his book a valuable lesson is learned, the lesson that it teaches is that no matter where and what you come from you can become anything you want to be. Look at Bragg a Pulitzer Prize winner and Times writer. This book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Overcoming the odds

    I view this story as one that can inspire so many people on so many different levels of life to overcome the obstacles they face. We all have them, no matter what economic status we fall in or our ethnicity. Bragg gives us a comprehensive look into his family's life and the hardship they encountered but he overcame the odds of remaining a poor southern boy and is now a Pulitzer Prize winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    An okay story

    This story was almost very impossible to get into, I was kinda lost at the prologue. You have to pay very close attention to details within the story, because if you don't your destined to get lost in a hurry. The reason I gave this book three stars, because it wasn't the worst book I have ever read. But it also wasn't the best book I have ever read. Here are a couple of reasons that you might wanna pick this up. Bragg gives you a deep look into what it was like growing up without anything. He also tells the reader about his raggs to riches story, and about how his father left there family alone for many years. Once you actually get into the story this with be a real treat for you. Once you get into the last eight chapters or so that is when the story really starts pick up for the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    very encouaging story

    I enjoyed Bragg's 'All Over but the Shoutin' because it shows how he overcame the tough parts of life that we all face in some way or another. It also shows what true love really is between a mother and her children. I would definately recomend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Moving account of determination:

    All over But Shoutin is a moving account of one man's determination to rewrite his family's history and to carve out life for himself. The vivid descriptions of Southern Culture leaves you with a knowledgeable conclusion of how Bragg's family survives. Bragg's mother enriched her son's lives mainly by her altrusitic sacrifies. Bragg's consistent in his admiration of his mother's courage and backbone. This novel truly commemorates his admiration and love for his mother. Bragg's novel transfers you from his childhood to his autobiography. Bragg includes his flaws and fears honestly and finally becomes confident in himself and his family. Wow! What a way to end your story. Where there is a will, there is a way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    All Over but the Soutin review

    All Over but the Shoutin is a wonderful book to read. The author Rick Bragg takes the reader to southern style of life in Alabama. Rick and his brothers live with his mother and when he is home every now and then, his drunk, abusive father. The family is dirt poor and barely has enough clothes for school and food to eat. But the book is also about Rick having a dream to make money and to get out of the poor life. He wants better for his mother than what she has. Rick does just that too he gets a degree and is a reporter for the New York Times. I love how the book went from birth to adulthood and I could see all the ups and downs¿ throughout his life, understanding what he went through. I recommend this book to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Southern Confessions

    This book illustrates poverty in the south at its worst. From growing up with nothing and eventually becoming something, this novel demonstrates the choices we undergo through life. Great novel for southern understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    All Over but the Shoutin'

    I believe this book was okay for our study of the southern culture, yet I don't think it had an impact such as A Lesson Before Dying. Because it wasn't that interesting, it didn't grab my attention the way some of the characters were used in hte story were not as creative as Gaines. I feel that Bragg was in away trying to get the southern feel, but in Gaines story he put more emphasis in his characters and the story it self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Good Southern Living

    This is a moving recolection of life in Northeast Alabama. Rick Bragg seemingly destined for the fields or jail and instead came a pulitzer prize winning reporter for the New York Times. A story of Braggs father a drunk with a murderous temper and a habit of running out on his family. On the other hand Braggs mother a wonderful woman with drive and love for her children. She went 18 years without a new dress so that her sons could have school clothes and other things. Rick Bragg brings home the love and suffering that lie at the heart of every family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    great read

    All Over but the Shoutin¿ is a memoir written by Rick Bragg. He wrote it in honor of his mother who had a great presence in his life. The book starts early in his life, when he was still just a toe-headed little boy. He grew up in poverty with his mom and two other bothers in a box house just barely big enough to live decently in. He didn¿t remember much of his father except for how every now and then he¿d get drunk and beat his mother. Rick had a blessed life in a sense. He survived a car crash that should have killed him, he came close to death in riots, became a famous journalist for the New York Times and he even won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing. I¿ll admit, I first choose this book by its cover. The pictures on the front for some reason told me it was going to be a good book. Little did I know the author had won the Pulitzer Prize and was a writer for the New York Times. I thought the book was great. The author did a good job of honoring his mother for all that she had helped him achieved, even if it was in small ways. I also liked the fact that the author had a lot of respect for the way he grew up. He didn¿t think his childhood was horrible because he grew up poor. There was nothing I really didn¿t like about the book. I think Rick has had quite an extraordinary life, better then most people. The book was good and I would recommend it if you want a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    One of a Kind

    Rick Bragg's memoir brought to my heart the story of the American Dream and how he took the scraps he had and sewed them together to become a national success. Bragg's mother is beautifully portrayed in this piece as a strong fabric that held him together. His writing at time may be very serious but he always finds a way to make it funny. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has a soft spot for the south or for anyone who wants to open their eyes to another view of the country and one man's tale of his world. His novel, Ava's Man is next on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    stop whining

    I felt this book was repetative and could have been written in a much better way had the author done more than complain. Just because you lived poor and your daddy drank doesnt mean you can write a whole book about just that. There has to be more. I felt this book was lacking in the sense that it was just complaining with no real message being sent across. It could have been much better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Refreshingly Candid

    I found Mr. Bragg's writing simple, yet eloquent, in that he doesn't mix his words when recalling his childhood memories combined with providing the reader with a true sense of what 'things' were like during those (Bragg's) formative years. He is three years my junior, yet not much had changed with regards to many of the social mores of that period in our country's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Realism

    I am a professional working in upstate New York. I grew up in Alabama at the same time as Rick Bragg. Reading the book was like reading my childhood. Rick Bragg has written a book that is both captivating and accurate. Terrific insight to southern culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4