Customer Reviews for

All Pro Dad: Seven Essentials to Be a Hero to Your Kids

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Well, I am completely biased because I am married to the author!

    Well, I am completely biased because I am married to the author! But I thought I would throw out this approval rating because I am the only one qualified to give it as his wife. I really know him. He means what he wrote and he really cares passionately about men becoming the best father that they can be! So get the book you won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    ALL PRO DAD BY MARK MERRILL This was an awesome book. I just ha

    ALL PRO DAD BY MARK MERRILL

    This was an awesome book. I just have to start by making that statement. What attracted me to this book was Tony Dungy had something to do with it.The writer has really got a formula here that i couldn't wait to try with my children.He gives the 7m's and the guess what they work if you try .This is such a helpful tool to make you be a better husband,father,and man.This book is filled up with stories from recognizible CEO'S,Atheletes,and more giving their insight on being a better father.If you wanna know how to be a better father and have a process that is easy to follow than i reccomend you get this book .You won't be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Just in time for Father's Day, I've recently read All Pro Dad by

    Just in time for Father's Day, I've recently read All Pro Dad by Mark Merrill (ISBN 978-1-5955-5507-6). There are a lot of parenting books out there, and this one is targeted at fathers.

    As the cover promises, these are "seven essentials to be a hero to your kids." The essentials are divided by easy-to-digest chapters (such as know your makeup, know your motive), and there are plenty of first-hand stories.

    There are "huddle" questions (keeping with the sports theme) at the end of each chapter. I imagine for many dads these would be tough conversations to start (like asking your child "have you ever seen me act selfishly?"). But it has taken me a lifetime to realize that just because a conversation is difficult doesn't mean you can avoid it.

    I would recommend this book to fathers and fathers-to-be, no matter how confident they are in their own parenting skills.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    "All-Pro Dad" is a great book written for dads by Mark

    "All-Pro Dad" is a great book written for dads by Mark Merrill. "All-Pro Dad" is basically split into eight chapters, with each one prominently featuring one particular question that develops into one of Merrill's basic ideals about fatherhood. So many men muddle through fatherhood without any particular direction or conviction, and this book brings to the surface the heart of what it is to be a father.

    Each chapter is through provoking, with topics such as: Who Am I? Who Or What Am I Living For? Why Do I Do What I Do? Merrill includes so many personal accounts to tie in with each chapter, and the end of each chapter offers a few questions that you can ask your own children about to help better understand their view of you with regard to each chapter of this book.



    This book is a great resource for any dad, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is trying to be the best dad that they can be. "All-Pro Dad" is a combination of grandfatherly wisdom, Biblical principles, and insight from a friend. It offers up so much insight into fatherhood, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy it for any of the dads I know. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Mark Merrill writes with both the experience of a father of five

    Mark Merrill writes with both the experience of a father of five and the humility of a man who acknowledges he still doesn’t always get it right.

    In the book he cites one of my favorite quotes from former Steelers head coach Chuck Noll who said, "Champions are champions not because they do anything extraordinary but because they do the ordinary things better than anyone else."

    All Pro Dad is an excellent “playbook” for fatherhood because of that same principle. You won’t a find a bunch of trick plays, gimmicks or quick fixes. Instead you’ll find the insight and encouragement to help you become a more fundamentally sound father each and every day.

    Whether you’ve been a father for 20 years or are about to become one for the first time, whether you’ve read dozens of parenting books or none at all, and whether you had an amazing father, a horrible father or no father at all, you can learn from All Pro Dad. I think you’ll find it well worth the read.

    In fact, All Pro Dad would be a great book to read, discuss and put into action with a bunch of other dads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    As a father I am always looking for books that can provide me wi

    As a father I am always looking for books that can provide me with a better understanding of what it takes to be a top notch dad. This book brings together great ideas for any dad that gives any reader food for thought on how you can become that father you always wanted to be. I loved the author's use of the 7 M's (Makeup, Mindset, Motive, Method, Model, and Message) as motivation for meeting that goals that he set before his reader. The seven points (or goals) were easy to comprehend and to remember and you can easily see these seven as a mantra that you can put into action soon after reading the book if you so choose. The book also did a great job at intertwining scripture into the book to show the reader that the God is in the works as he works to mold you into a top notch dad as well. This was a great book that I highly recommend to any current father or dad to be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1