Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy it! '9 C Ripoff

Only the first 135 pages not even the complete book

posted by 17033123 on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Favorite

    In high school I avoided reading this book, as well as many others, due to my own false sense of rebellion. However, years later, after abandoning my past defiance, I came across this book. ...And go figure, it's actually quite absorbing. <BR/><BR/>Mark Baker's "Nam" and Walter Dean Myer's "Fallen Angels" are two more enthralling books that will arouse those war enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Powerful Enough to Affect High Schoolers!

    I first encountered and read AQ when I was student teaching, and found myself stunned by how much I loved it, as well as by how "important" a work it is. I now teach it whenever I get the chance. My best recommendation for this novel comes from a student's reaction: After complaining and complaining that he "didn't like it" and that "it was boring," this 10th grader arrived in class one day and announced, "Well, I finished the book . . . and I'm mad at it!" Of course, I asked him why, to which he responded, somewhat sheepishly, "It made me cry at the end." Suffice it to say that he no longer hated the book (although he told me this year that he's in no great hurry to read it again, but that was a compliment). <BR/><BR/>My one wish is that more readers tuned in to the wry, black humor of the novel, for example, the scenes in the Cologne hospital ward, with the nuns praying loudly for the veterans' recovery, and thereby keeping the vets awake! <BR/><BR/>It's tough, it's funny, it's touching, it's chock-full-o-themes-and-symbols (we English teachers like that in a book), and all these years later, it's timely. <BR/><BR/>What's not to love?<BR/><BR/>Just go read this book . . . even if you're an adult and you don't "have to."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing

    This is the only book that has ever stopped my life. After reading it I literally just slowed down and had to process what I had just read for almost three months. It's my favorite book of all time, and I will never read it a second time. It is too powerful. I honestly can't say what it is about All Quiet on the Western Front that moved me in such a strong way, but it did.<BR/>I think it is wrong for highschoolers to read it unless they are very mature. It is a very 'heavy' novel that will weigh on your mind for a long time. Even thinking about it now...<BR/>If you're up for a read that will play with your emotions in an extreme (in my case) way, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Book Review

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a outstanding book. The author, Erich Maria Remarque actually served for the German army during World War 1. So you can expect this book to be on point and true. The narrator of the story is Paul Baumer. He and his classmate friends joined the German army after they were done with their schooling. You experience terrifying and horrible things World War 1 had through Paul¿s eyes. You get to see what goes on in boot camp and all the way to the warfare. This book is very deep. Not only do you get to hear about the fighting, but also you see how the characters feel. They¿ve been from home from a long time, food-stamp type food, and a constant worry of dying. All these factors contribute to how the characters feel. You can see them change as the you get farther in the book. If you enjoy war books, then I recommend you reading this one if you haven't already. Its very deep and also depressing. This book in my opinion is 5 stars!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Great American Novel

    Perhaps my favorite book of all time, All Quiet on the Western Front captivates you into the real horrors of war and showed the outer and inner struggles of the characters in direct correlation to the war. Both sad and funny, this book has it all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Surprisingly Amazing

    I was assigned to read this book over the summer for my school and was dreading the moment when I would finally have to read it. Once I picked up the book, I could not put it down. I'm not much of a fan of war stories, but the book was so captivating and so interesting I was upset that the story had ended. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a sense of adventure and an eye for description and captivation. It was a truly fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    All Quiet on the Western Front is a spectacular read because the book brings on a different perspective. Instead of writing the book from the American side to were the Germans are evil and destructive. Instead Maria writes the book from the side of the Germans in which you get to see that the German soldiers have the same mentality of the American soldiers. The German soldiers fight for their country and along the way grow the bond of brotherhood amongst each other. Maria does and superb job writing that its easy to find yourself in the book and find that you think the German characters that you read are American soldiers. By which both seem so scared by the shelling and the thought of dying and both sides look out for their brothers in arms. You can get wrapped up that its hard to put down. When reading you get lost into the novel and into the characters. Maria is a writer of unquestionably first trank, who can bend language to his will, and his touch is sensitive, firm, and sure.' I give this book five stars because of the different perspective and the reality of warfare during World War 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Captivating!

    This book shows the two sides of war. The side the soldiers know and the side the public thinks it knows. With a mixture of emotions this book has really changed my view on war. It shows the raw truth that everyone seems to be missing. The quotes that can be taken from this novel are unbelievable and pertain to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    good

    i read this for honors lit. 10. it's really good compared to the other stuff we've been reading lately...haha... but ew that part with the horses is horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    This is a touching story.

    I love this book. I'd have to say this is the only book so far that I've actually read more than once. I feel like I'm in the story when I'm reading it. Reading this book makes me understand alittle bit more about war. It helps me to understand what the soldiers went through back then and what the soldiers are going through at this very moment. There is not a single part of this book I didn't like. Yes, at times it was very sad and depressing and I may have shed a couple tears but this is still a wonderful book to read. I would highly suggest this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    AQWF

    Ok for any of you that think it is an anti-war book--it's not. Why do so many think that. The book is about the events and emotions each soldier feels during WWI. I would totally recommed this book to anyone who wants to know real meaning of life. ***I would recommend reading it twice so you totally understand the book, or you will miss a lot )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    The Greatest Book

    I picked this book up by accident, and thank god I did. Because this is by far, the best anti-war book ever written. I swear that if you read it, you will be a changed person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    A Real Portrayal of War

    This book I found was a look behind the war. The soldiers, their stories, feelings and families. I was enthralled from start to finish. Not being a big fan of gory details I was relieved to find that the book didn't focus so much on the details of battle but rather the people involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    All Quiet as an abstract not an anecdote

    This book often misinterpreted by readers. The themes of this book are what make it great and cannot be overlooked. All Quiet on the Western Front is not a war tale or adventure. Anyone who believes so has missed Remarque's purpose for writing this book. Remarque himself was quoted saying 'This book is neither an accusation nor a confession, and least of all an adventure, for death is not an adventure for those who stand face to face with it. It will simply try to tell of a generation of men who, even though they may have escaped it shells, were destroyed by the war.' He tries to explain of the 'lost generation' of men which takes on two meanings, lost if killed in the war and lost from society when returning, not being able to find their way back to their previous life. Remarque was a pacifist after he himself fought in WWI for the German army. He explains that war and the effects of war are so bad that death is the only way out. I thoroughly enjoyed this book for these reasons. Obviously it is considered one of the greatest war novels of all time and for good reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    War is not all that you see on T.V.

    You never really understand the ravages of war until you view it from the 1st person. Remarque brings out the true emotions in what him (Paul Baumer) and his comrades feel. You don't get a first hand look at War unless you experience it yourself or read about it in a book such as this. Not all war novels discuss the war from a battle sense. Not all war is battle. Men often sit for days without combat. Remarque gives you a first hand look into a soldier's view on war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Thrill

    Erich Maria Remarque has an amazing talent, he takes you through a harrowing journey as he bends words as his command. The reality that he brings home...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    The Best war book I have read to date

    I liked this book because of the fact that it wasnt all shoot em up, It had parts where the main characters would reminiss about fallen comrads, or getting to go see family. It doesnt make the reader bored with hearing about people killing people, it really stays away from most of that subject. In all the book shows the real reality of war, not the heroic one man that fuarts the enemy all by his self curagiously. it shows the fear, the reluctance, and the heartbreak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    awesome!i!i!i!i

    wow this book rocked!!!!!!!!!! It really showed what life was like from the enemies point of view. The point of view that was portrayed was wonderful!!! I had never thought of what it was like from the enemies point of view until now. It's like you always think of them as some robotic alien that just wants to take over the world, but they really do have minds of their own. awesome, awesome awesome. It would not have been the same even if written in the authors point of view or some other character in the book that wasn't as thoughtful as the narrator's point of view. Everything in it fit perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    great book

    Usually I wouldn't even think of reading a book about war cuz I'm not really into that kinda stuff but since I was made to in history I had to. It's actually a really well written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Not so quiet

    'All Quiet on the Western Front' paints the perfect picture of life in the trenches during World War 1. The story follows a young man by the name of Paul Baumer through his day to day life on the front lines. Whether it be the barrage of shells, that seem to fall out of the sky like giant rain drops that rip and tear through any thing they should happen to hit. Or the costant attacks by enemy troops, which have one purpose, which is to kill anything that gets in their way. It also shows you some compassion where the word means nothing. It shows you how two different men fighting on two different sides, are identical in many ways. The book looks at how men are joined almost like brothers in times of need, and some times their all you have. This book allows you to imagine the unimagineable, and see war in a new light. If you enjoy war stories I suggest you give this book a try. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7