Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed in this copy

Very upset. Bought this copy for 2.99 and was excited to pay such a good price until I doscovered it only has the first 135 pages! What a ripoff. Wish I could get a refund...

posted by 5557482 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Great War Book

    In the novel, All Queit on the Western Front, Erich Maria Remarque tells an exquisite tale of Muler, a young man who gets drafted into the German army during World War II. He gives detail to all soldiers in Mulers unit, giving all readers the opportunity to relate to characters. Remarque's story surpasses the average war story, going into detail of the soldiers themselves rather a general story of war.

    In the story Muller shows how difficult war life is, speaking of his fears, friendships, generals, rations, and even his life at home. With troubling fears, battlefield conflict, and problems with thier families at home, Muler and his troops show friendship is the only outlet when emotions are at its worst.
    -RashoDash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Love it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Should be required for everybody

    I love how you guys got the ebook right after I finished reading it from the library - since there wasn't an ebook! Story of my life..... Anyway, here's the review:

    This book needs to be required reading for anybody who thinks war is glorious. War is a horrible thing, and nearly every sentence in this book goes a long way towards imbedding that reality deeply into the consciousness of the reader. It's not hard to lose track of which war they're fighting, or which side they're fighting on - this book could have been written from the perspective of any soldier in any war, from any country, from any time period. I have not watched either of the films yet, but intend to do so as soon as possible. Please, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Excellent!

    This novel is perfect in all regards. I have to read it for eighth grade english over the summer, and i have to write an essay. It crafts a vibrant picture about the life of soldiers during WW1, and the destructive result of war for the "youth" generation fighting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Breathless, Passionately Written

    This book speaks, really speaks about the things that war is made of and eventually becomes in itself the things that man is made of. The torment of the human soul has rarely ever been documented in a way that is written with the blood of those fallen and forgotten, on the dreams that were dreamt by men who we will never know. The account of this book brings from the lugubrious depths from a century ago the miseries and sufferings of a generation who, as the author Erich Maria Remarque so aptly put, "even though they may have escaped its shells, were destroyed by the war."
    It is rare to approach a book of any sorts and ever expect it to make an impact of such significant poignancy. And with All Quiet on the Western Front it becomes to us as readers and as people witnesses who share with these men their pains and unending, unrequited trials of war's savagery. As a loyal reader to literature who enjoys following tales that takes me through the trenches of war and treads through the haze of gunsmoke, I was entranced at first and soon found myself in awe as I pass through the pages like a witness to the many untold stories of war. And not just World War I, but to all wars who are fought by pitting man against man. To put oneself in the trenchboots of the soldiers who marched through the perdition of their own Country is to read this book. For in between the lines and filling its margins are the sacred, carnal dreams of men who once lived, and the blood too of those dreams long dead. The characters, presented on paper and in print ink, become to us persons of flesh and blood in which we soon feel the pain of their wounds and the agony of their heart's everlasting burdens.
    Hardly ever can we live events in history from the perspective of the people who we, as Americans and as people who could hardly even begin to relate to the German troops of the Great War, let alone our own soldiers, were vowed to destroy. And with this reading it will be but an ease to glide into the skin of the men who saw their own destruction forthcoming with each passing day through the hell they were forced to wade through. Once caught in its account of tragedy and even happiness in the most dismal of hells, it will be an impossibility to ever consider another human being, enemy or not, to be devoid of the heartaches and nightmares that plague the human race as a whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    The Best World War One Story of All Time!

    All Quiet on the Western Front without a doubt an excellent read! The novel is a work of fiction, although the amount of truth to is is undeniable. The author, Erich Maria Remarque, was a World War One veteran himself, and had been wounded multiple times on the front. Remarque wrote All Quiet on the Western Front in order to truly showcase the life of a soldier to the public. The story follows a young German, Paul Baumer, on his life during World War One. After joining the German military with his school friends, Paul and his comrades embark on many journeys. Readers are taken from the rear supply lines all the way up to the front and into no man's land. At one point, Paul gets leave to visit his family and hometown. The writing displays the soldiers' experience of the First World War. The realism of the story is amazing. This is definitely not a tale of war heroes or winners; the monotony, boredom, and sheer terror of the trenches are all displayed for the world to see. Graphic depictions of battles are present, the chaos and nerve-fraying terror are evident. One becomes attached to characters on the German side fo the war, realizing the horror of shelling, lack of supplies, and boredom in the trenches was the same on both sides. The amount of truth to the novel has made it a loved story across the globe. A movie about the book was made in 1930, and another (starring Daniel Radcliffe) is on the way! All Quiet on the Western Front is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Great if you love military stories!

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a great book. I choose this book for a couple of reasons. First, as I roamed around Barnes and Noble looking at the book selection list from school, I liked the length of this book. It would not take long to complete. Second, I have always been interested in the military and have enjoyed war books and movies in the past. I knew that I would want to pick a book from the war list. My teacher had this book in italics showing he recommended it. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed.

    What I liked most in this book were the combat scenes. It seemed like every other chapter had the unit fighting. This book opened my eyes to the harsh reality of war. It makes me wonder if I could be capable of fighting. For example, I found it amazing how difficult food was to obtain, and how large rats and lice were everywhere. It would be hard to rest or forget about the war when you can hear the fighting constantly in the background. One situation that really bothered me was in the beginning of the book. Paul Baumer and his unit had just returned from fighting on the front line. His unit had been reduced from 150 soldiers to eighty, but the camp cook had prepared food for 150. The cook did not want to give the eighty of them all of the food, so there was a fight about giving them all of the food or not. I found this disturbing and unbelievably petty since they had just lost 70 friends. It made me realize that in war, your basic needs are more important than your emotions.

    I also liked the way the author made the book flow. The story was being told by a soldier and explained what he was going through and thinking. The way the soldier explained the terrible things that he experienced was clever. I did not realize that the book had an anti-war theme until the end. By the end of the book, the reader realizes that there is not much good in war. It is not all glory like the school master, Kantorak, expressed in the beginning of the book. I felt like this was a book that made you come to the realization on your own. Even when Paul, the soldier, went back home on leave, he soon realized that he no longer was comfortable back there because of his feelings. He found it best to keep them inside himself. There would be less trouble that way.

    I would definitely recommend this book. I think that anyone interested in the

    military would find it insightful to a soldier's life. It is graphically accurate. The language is not too hard to understand even though this book was originally written in German and later translated into English. I learned some new words, for example, latrine. Once I realized that meant going to the restroom, I found it incredulous that the soldiers actually did it in front of each other while they smoked and played cards. Facts like this made the book interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    A great story of World War I and the tragedy of war-

    I very much enjoyed All Quiet on the Western Front. A story of Paul Baumer and his fellow soldiers in the trenches of WW I. While Paul and commrades form a bond as only soldiers can during war the story unfolds about the friendships they develop along the way, the horror of war and death and crippling that accompanies it, the families left behind and the overall horror of war during this time.It must of have been horrible from the mud and lice,disease,lack of food-water and so on. These men truly displayed true courage and loyalty for their country- in this case Germany. The ending is truly tragic considering what the main character has to endure but again this story overall is a TRUE CLASSIC. It really brings home that war should ALWAYS try to be a last option because it's consequences upon human life are horrible. But out of it as this book shows comes courage,friendship, and honor. DNC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book!

    Definitely a must read. Accurately portrays the horrors of WWI through the eyes of a German soldier. Thought-provoking, touching, and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    A war novel that will deeply impact the emotions.

    "All Quiet on the Western Front" takes you into the ture reality of how brutual war is. The first person style of the book allows you to see war through the eyes of a soldier. Also, it is written in diary format so the main charactars thoughts,feelings,and emotions are there in dramatic detail. I recommand this book for anyone who enjoys war novals or dramas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    War will never be the same...

    No book based on a war has impacted me so much as "All Quiet on the Western Front" by Erich Maria Remarque. It is a great book, a must-read, one you can't miss. This book was always in my backpack while I was reading it, and whenever I got the chance, I took it out, found a nice shady comfortable place and submerged myself into World War 1. The scenes, the way in which Remarque describes them, is amazing in itself. I could feel shells dropping, exploding beside me. I could hear the terrible explosions all around me, hear the piercing screams of agony from the wounded soldiers. I could feel the love for the soldiers in the book, feel broken apart when one of them died, as if they were my brothers. This is what Remarque accomplishes with this breathtaking novel about WW1. He writes it in the point of view of a 19 year old german soldier called Paul Baumer. In this soldier's point of view you are able to witness the atrocities of the trench warfare in WW1. You are able to witness, a generation of men, being destroyed physically and emotionally by the war. You are able to witness men, being used as tools. You are able to witness how their lives become almost insignificant, how they are so small compared to the larger picture. In this book, you can see how some men can cope with so much devastation, so much tragedy. And you can see how many men can't take it, and take their lives. This book, will educate. This book, will entertain. This book, will make you see war from a whole different point of view, one that will make feel glad that you are only reading about it, not actually living it. As it says in the title, "All Quiet on the Western Front", is the greatest war novel of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    I loved this book for its overall depth and character development in regards to the horrific nature of war. It really depicted a picture that allowed us to sympathize and afforded us a foothold to begin to understand the tragedies that these young man had to endure. I believe that at some level we all can understand some of the pains of loneliness that Paul went through; yet, we can only truly catch a glimpse of the unimaginable magnitude of hopelessness and suffering through the author's writing. Overall, this book was a constant reminder that life is too short to be wasted, and every moment should be cherished. For there were and are too many that have not been afforded such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best novel about war of all time

    All Quiet on the Western front is a novel about a 19 year old boy named paul baumer who goes to war in WW1.during his and his companys struggle, many of the young 19 year olds are killed. This book shows the harshness of war death and even peace. In this book the main character, paul learns that the enemies are as just confused, scared, and brainwashed just as the germans.I would recomend this book to anyone that is willing to learn about the multi faces of war.Coming into the war the 19 year old boys were young,arrogant, and wanting to kill all of the frenchs on the opposite side. although as the progress through the war, see death, and face bombardements, their opinions quickly changed from arrogant, and ignorant to humble,mercyfull, and beleivers in chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Favorite

    In high school I avoided reading this book, as well as many others, due to my own false sense of rebellion. However, years later, after abandoning my past defiance, I came across this book. ...And go figure, it's actually quite absorbing. <BR/><BR/>Mark Baker's "Nam" and Walter Dean Myer's "Fallen Angels" are two more enthralling books that will arouse those war enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Powerful Enough to Affect High Schoolers!

    I first encountered and read AQ when I was student teaching, and found myself stunned by how much I loved it, as well as by how "important" a work it is. I now teach it whenever I get the chance. My best recommendation for this novel comes from a student's reaction: After complaining and complaining that he "didn't like it" and that "it was boring," this 10th grader arrived in class one day and announced, "Well, I finished the book . . . and I'm mad at it!" Of course, I asked him why, to which he responded, somewhat sheepishly, "It made me cry at the end." Suffice it to say that he no longer hated the book (although he told me this year that he's in no great hurry to read it again, but that was a compliment). <BR/><BR/>My one wish is that more readers tuned in to the wry, black humor of the novel, for example, the scenes in the Cologne hospital ward, with the nuns praying loudly for the veterans' recovery, and thereby keeping the vets awake! <BR/><BR/>It's tough, it's funny, it's touching, it's chock-full-o-themes-and-symbols (we English teachers like that in a book), and all these years later, it's timely. <BR/><BR/>What's not to love?<BR/><BR/>Just go read this book . . . even if you're an adult and you don't "have to."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing

    This is the only book that has ever stopped my life. After reading it I literally just slowed down and had to process what I had just read for almost three months. It's my favorite book of all time, and I will never read it a second time. It is too powerful. I honestly can't say what it is about All Quiet on the Western Front that moved me in such a strong way, but it did.<BR/>I think it is wrong for highschoolers to read it unless they are very mature. It is a very 'heavy' novel that will weigh on your mind for a long time. Even thinking about it now...<BR/>If you're up for a read that will play with your emotions in an extreme (in my case) way, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Book Review

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a outstanding book. The author, Erich Maria Remarque actually served for the German army during World War 1. So you can expect this book to be on point and true. The narrator of the story is Paul Baumer. He and his classmate friends joined the German army after they were done with their schooling. You experience terrifying and horrible things World War 1 had through Paul¿s eyes. You get to see what goes on in boot camp and all the way to the warfare. This book is very deep. Not only do you get to hear about the fighting, but also you see how the characters feel. They¿ve been from home from a long time, food-stamp type food, and a constant worry of dying. All these factors contribute to how the characters feel. You can see them change as the you get farther in the book. If you enjoy war books, then I recommend you reading this one if you haven't already. Its very deep and also depressing. This book in my opinion is 5 stars!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Great American Novel

    Perhaps my favorite book of all time, All Quiet on the Western Front captivates you into the real horrors of war and showed the outer and inner struggles of the characters in direct correlation to the war. Both sad and funny, this book has it all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Surprisingly Amazing

    I was assigned to read this book over the summer for my school and was dreading the moment when I would finally have to read it. Once I picked up the book, I could not put it down. I'm not much of a fan of war stories, but the book was so captivating and so interesting I was upset that the story had ended. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a sense of adventure and an eye for description and captivation. It was a truly fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    All Quiet on the Western Front is a spectacular read because the book brings on a different perspective. Instead of writing the book from the American side to were the Germans are evil and destructive. Instead Maria writes the book from the side of the Germans in which you get to see that the German soldiers have the same mentality of the American soldiers. The German soldiers fight for their country and along the way grow the bond of brotherhood amongst each other. Maria does and superb job writing that its easy to find yourself in the book and find that you think the German characters that you read are American soldiers. By which both seem so scared by the shelling and the thought of dying and both sides look out for their brothers in arms. You can get wrapped up that its hard to put down. When reading you get lost into the novel and into the characters. Maria is a writer of unquestionably first trank, who can bend language to his will, and his touch is sensitive, firm, and sure.' I give this book five stars because of the different perspective and the reality of warfare during World War 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8