Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy it! '9 C Ripoff

Only the first 135 pages not even the complete book

posted by 17033123 on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Great if you love military stories!

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a great book. I choose this book for a couple of reasons. First, as I roamed around Barnes and Noble looking at the book selection list from school, I liked the length of this book. It would not take long to complete. Second, I have always been interested in the military and have enjoyed war books and movies in the past. I knew that I would want to pick a book from the war list. My teacher had this book in italics showing he recommended it. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed.

    What I liked most in this book were the combat scenes. It seemed like every other chapter had the unit fighting. This book opened my eyes to the harsh reality of war. It makes me wonder if I could be capable of fighting. For example, I found it amazing how difficult food was to obtain, and how large rats and lice were everywhere. It would be hard to rest or forget about the war when you can hear the fighting constantly in the background. One situation that really bothered me was in the beginning of the book. Paul Baumer and his unit had just returned from fighting on the front line. His unit had been reduced from 150 soldiers to eighty, but the camp cook had prepared food for 150. The cook did not want to give the eighty of them all of the food, so there was a fight about giving them all of the food or not. I found this disturbing and unbelievably petty since they had just lost 70 friends. It made me realize that in war, your basic needs are more important than your emotions.

    I also liked the way the author made the book flow. The story was being told by a soldier and explained what he was going through and thinking. The way the soldier explained the terrible things that he experienced was clever. I did not realize that the book had an anti-war theme until the end. By the end of the book, the reader realizes that there is not much good in war. It is not all glory like the school master, Kantorak, expressed in the beginning of the book. I felt like this was a book that made you come to the realization on your own. Even when Paul, the soldier, went back home on leave, he soon realized that he no longer was comfortable back there because of his feelings. He found it best to keep them inside himself. There would be less trouble that way.

    I would definitely recommend this book. I think that anyone interested in the

    military would find it insightful to a soldier's life. It is graphically accurate. The language is not too hard to understand even though this book was originally written in German and later translated into English. I learned some new words, for example, latrine. Once I realized that meant going to the restroom, I found it incredulous that the soldiers actually did it in front of each other while they smoked and played cards. Facts like this made the book interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    A great story of World War I and the tragedy of war-

    I very much enjoyed All Quiet on the Western Front. A story of Paul Baumer and his fellow soldiers in the trenches of WW I. While Paul and commrades form a bond as only soldiers can during war the story unfolds about the friendships they develop along the way, the horror of war and death and crippling that accompanies it, the families left behind and the overall horror of war during this time.It must of have been horrible from the mud and lice,disease,lack of food-water and so on. These men truly displayed true courage and loyalty for their country- in this case Germany. The ending is truly tragic considering what the main character has to endure but again this story overall is a TRUE CLASSIC. It really brings home that war should ALWAYS try to be a last option because it's consequences upon human life are horrible. But out of it as this book shows comes courage,friendship, and honor. DNC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    A sincere, well-developed novel that will wrap your brain in its emotion and symbolism.

    All Quiet is a capturing story about a group of boys that are a whole staircase closer to being men after the novel is through putting them through its courses. The plot may not be an absolute "on-the-edge-of-my-seat" type of course, but the path it carves is surrounded by lush characterization, symbolism, and honest script. It is well worth a read and reread; the richness of this novel has not yet lost its flavor with me personally yet, even after a few re-reads. I definately reccomend this wartime, coming of aqe story that is also a deeper look at the human psyche and human interaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book!

    Definitely a must read. Accurately portrays the horrors of WWI through the eyes of a German soldier. Thought-provoking, touching, and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Fairly good, not my favorite, but it was a good read.

    "All Quiet on the Western Front" was an interesting book. The first part that stood out to me was the cover page. The cover page stands out because it is full of many colors, and it has a soldier. I like learning about history, especially the wars, so the soldier on the front really just got my attention. The first part of the book that I read was the description, and it seemed very interesting to me. That is the reason I chose this book. While reading "All Quiet on the Western Front" it just got more interesting as I read further into the book. The reason I liked this book was mainly because the topic of war and about soldiers really interests me. I haven't ever found a book that talks about their life outside of fighting, just ones about the soldiers shooting and killing other soldiers from other countries or the enemies. This book talked about both which I liked because then I could relate how the same character acted differently between when they are fighting and just sitting and eating their noon meal with their squad. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone, especially those who find history of all kind interesting. This is good for a high school student because it teaches the kids about soldiers and that they don't just go on to the battlefield and fight. It shows that they actually suffer in many other ways so that we can keep out freedoms. This is what they usually fight for, however, sometimes we fight to protect other countries. It shows that they don't get a lot of food, and it shows how much time and work is used by these individuals. I would say that nothing really lacked, just that it went into too many details. It would have helped me understand better if it were more broad, because some parts I had to read four or five times just to understand what they were telling the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow But Good Read

    The book's plot moves pretty slowly in order to develop the characters as much as possible, but I understand why this book is called the best war novel of all times. War scenes are accurately represented and the plot holds the thrill and edge-of-the-seat kind of feeling that can only be felt in a real battle. I especially liked the ending and the message it gave. Look for Remarque's anti-war comments as you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    A war novel that will deeply impact the emotions.

    "All Quiet on the Western Front" takes you into the ture reality of how brutual war is. The first person style of the book allows you to see war through the eyes of a soldier. Also, it is written in diary format so the main charactars thoughts,feelings,and emotions are there in dramatic detail. I recommand this book for anyone who enjoys war novals or dramas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good if you like war stories

    It's good if you like war stories, otherwise its really slow. It is written like a diary so if you like those then go for it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    War will never be the same...

    No book based on a war has impacted me so much as "All Quiet on the Western Front" by Erich Maria Remarque. It is a great book, a must-read, one you can't miss. This book was always in my backpack while I was reading it, and whenever I got the chance, I took it out, found a nice shady comfortable place and submerged myself into World War 1. The scenes, the way in which Remarque describes them, is amazing in itself. I could feel shells dropping, exploding beside me. I could hear the terrible explosions all around me, hear the piercing screams of agony from the wounded soldiers. I could feel the love for the soldiers in the book, feel broken apart when one of them died, as if they were my brothers. This is what Remarque accomplishes with this breathtaking novel about WW1. He writes it in the point of view of a 19 year old german soldier called Paul Baumer. In this soldier's point of view you are able to witness the atrocities of the trench warfare in WW1. You are able to witness, a generation of men, being destroyed physically and emotionally by the war. You are able to witness men, being used as tools. You are able to witness how their lives become almost insignificant, how they are so small compared to the larger picture. In this book, you can see how some men can cope with so much devastation, so much tragedy. And you can see how many men can't take it, and take their lives. This book, will educate. This book, will entertain. This book, will make you see war from a whole different point of view, one that will make feel glad that you are only reading about it, not actually living it. As it says in the title, "All Quiet on the Western Front", is the greatest war novel of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    I loved this book for its overall depth and character development in regards to the horrific nature of war. It really depicted a picture that allowed us to sympathize and afforded us a foothold to begin to understand the tragedies that these young man had to endure. I believe that at some level we all can understand some of the pains of loneliness that Paul went through; yet, we can only truly catch a glimpse of the unimaginable magnitude of hopelessness and suffering through the author's writing. Overall, this book was a constant reminder that life is too short to be wasted, and every moment should be cherished. For there were and are too many that have not been afforded such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best novel about war of all time

    All Quiet on the Western front is a novel about a 19 year old boy named paul baumer who goes to war in WW1.during his and his companys struggle, many of the young 19 year olds are killed. This book shows the harshness of war death and even peace. In this book the main character, paul learns that the enemies are as just confused, scared, and brainwashed just as the germans.I would recomend this book to anyone that is willing to learn about the multi faces of war.Coming into the war the 19 year old boys were young,arrogant, and wanting to kill all of the frenchs on the opposite side. although as the progress through the war, see death, and face bombardements, their opinions quickly changed from arrogant, and ignorant to humble,mercyfull, and beleivers in chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Favorite

    In high school I avoided reading this book, as well as many others, due to my own false sense of rebellion. However, years later, after abandoning my past defiance, I came across this book. ...And go figure, it's actually quite absorbing. <BR/><BR/>Mark Baker's "Nam" and Walter Dean Myer's "Fallen Angels" are two more enthralling books that will arouse those war enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Powerful Enough to Affect High Schoolers!

    I first encountered and read AQ when I was student teaching, and found myself stunned by how much I loved it, as well as by how "important" a work it is. I now teach it whenever I get the chance. My best recommendation for this novel comes from a student's reaction: After complaining and complaining that he "didn't like it" and that "it was boring," this 10th grader arrived in class one day and announced, "Well, I finished the book . . . and I'm mad at it!" Of course, I asked him why, to which he responded, somewhat sheepishly, "It made me cry at the end." Suffice it to say that he no longer hated the book (although he told me this year that he's in no great hurry to read it again, but that was a compliment). <BR/><BR/>My one wish is that more readers tuned in to the wry, black humor of the novel, for example, the scenes in the Cologne hospital ward, with the nuns praying loudly for the veterans' recovery, and thereby keeping the vets awake! <BR/><BR/>It's tough, it's funny, it's touching, it's chock-full-o-themes-and-symbols (we English teachers like that in a book), and all these years later, it's timely. <BR/><BR/>What's not to love?<BR/><BR/>Just go read this book . . . even if you're an adult and you don't "have to."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing

    This is the only book that has ever stopped my life. After reading it I literally just slowed down and had to process what I had just read for almost three months. It's my favorite book of all time, and I will never read it a second time. It is too powerful. I honestly can't say what it is about All Quiet on the Western Front that moved me in such a strong way, but it did.<BR/>I think it is wrong for highschoolers to read it unless they are very mature. It is a very 'heavy' novel that will weigh on your mind for a long time. Even thinking about it now...<BR/>If you're up for a read that will play with your emotions in an extreme (in my case) way, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    really good!

    i found this book in my schoollibrary, and i'm really glad i did. it's boring at some points but is so well written that you have to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    It was just ok

    I had to read this book in my Freshman honors english class. It certainly wasnt the best book i have ever read. Sometimes it was slow. I often found my self falling asleep when i read this book. Some things were meant to be exciting but really not. It did not keep me interested at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Nice book

    A good novel that explores the horrors of War and how one man copes with those emotions during his time served. Filled with intense action along the battlelines, easy to follow plot, and the challenge of understanding some German language :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Book Review

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a outstanding book. The author, Erich Maria Remarque actually served for the German army during World War 1. So you can expect this book to be on point and true. The narrator of the story is Paul Baumer. He and his classmate friends joined the German army after they were done with their schooling. You experience terrifying and horrible things World War 1 had through Paul¿s eyes. You get to see what goes on in boot camp and all the way to the warfare. This book is very deep. Not only do you get to hear about the fighting, but also you see how the characters feel. They¿ve been from home from a long time, food-stamp type food, and a constant worry of dying. All these factors contribute to how the characters feel. You can see them change as the you get farther in the book. If you enjoy war books, then I recommend you reading this one if you haven't already. Its very deep and also depressing. This book in my opinion is 5 stars!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Great American Novel

    Perhaps my favorite book of all time, All Quiet on the Western Front captivates you into the real horrors of war and showed the outer and inner struggles of the characters in direct correlation to the war. Both sad and funny, this book has it all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book did a great job of describing te realities of war and showing the reader how horrible it can be. That's the good part, and that's what I liked about it. However, there really wasn't much character development. When one of the soldiers died, I heard myself saying 'Yay, one less soldier to deal with' as opposed to feeling sad for them. In addition, the author went on describing things that really were of no importance to the story. But if you can overlook such things and recognize the true backbone of the story, you should be able to enjoy it somewhat, even though it might be a little annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11