Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy it! '9 C Ripoff

Only the first 135 pages not even the complete book

posted by 17033123 on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the greatest classic stories

    I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Dont buy it! '9 C Ripoff

    Only the first 135 pages not even the complete book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most interesting war novels I have read so far!

    I'm a sophomore in high school, and this was one of our required readings, and I just have to say that this book is amazing! It has various types of literary devices flowing through its pages, and the plot keeps you entangled within its words. It brings out every feeling in you and is a very good choice for a required reading, (if you're a teacher). Recommended to all, but more particularly, people that would like to experience the reality of war, the effects of war, and a fight between the myth of war and the real thing as the truth is revealed during your reading. Enjoy! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Rip off

    I bought but it will only allow me to read sample..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

     Overall I feel pretty mixed about the book. I liked it but at t

     Overall I feel pretty mixed about the book. I liked it but at the same time I did not. For every chapter there was always a golden nugget of a sentence or two that I had to break out my pen and underline for later pondering on and review.
     
         One of the most distracting things about reading AQOTWF was the inconsistent tone I felt it gave off. It wasn't just chapter to chapter, it was event to event. I understand that each event in the book has it's own particular feel, whether it light-hearted and humorous or down right heart breaking. Even with that said, this was written as an autobiography, from Paul's perspective, and with that, I had assumed consistent personality and tonality. It may be just me, but it was bothersome as it messed with the flow at which I read this book.1 But this tone could have also been done on purpose to show Paul's instability in his life.
     
         I did not feel any deep connection or overall sympathy to AQOTWF like I had felt With The Old Breed.2 I did try to tone down my expectations because of WTOB set the bar fairly high in my mind about what an autobiography on war should include.
     
         Being from a German perspective didn't effect the story any. If AQOTWF had been written from any side at the time, not much would change. War is war. Soldiers of the time are all in a trench -different ones, but equally miserable.
     
         All Quiet on the Western Front was a read I'm glad I read, but I am not blown away by the book that has claimed the title "The Greatest War Novel of All time".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    In my opinion All Quiet on the Western Front is a great book. It

    In my opinion All Quiet on the Western Front is a great book. It is one of the most popular war novels and I agree with people who say it's good. I am not a huge fan of reading unless it is an interesting book, and I can say this definitely is. This book kept me reading and I had a lot of fun with it. However, some people might find this book too violent.
    It is hard for me to get into a book unless it starts off interesting. This book did and I loved it from the start. I found myself not able to put it down at times. Erich Maria Remarque does a great job of painting a picture of the action-packed fighting scenes. He also takes us inside the minds of the soldiers and the reader can really understand how the characters feel.
    Another good thing about this book is it's realistic. It's not your average war story where one man is the hero and everything is easy. The main characters face many struggles. Seeing how they overcome these struggles makes this book fun to read. There also many themes in this book. The author focuses on the horror of war, and the effects it has on everybody's lives. I think this book is fun and there are important lessons to be learned from it.
    Some people might find this book too violent or graphic. In the fighting scenes, the author goes into great detail. He describes everything from the sights and sounds to the blood and gore. Some readers may not be big fans of this. For example, when the soldiers are camped out waiting for an enemy attack, the author describes the horrible conditions and talks about the sound and smell of dying men.
    In conclusion, I think this book is great. There are many different aspects that make this book enjoyable for a large audience. Some people may be turned off by the violence but other than that, they may find this book suitable. I definitely recommend it to anybody who wants a quick fun read, with important lessons to learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend- It is unpleasant but tells of soldiers lives and deaths

    This book is very powerful. We all know WW I was fought over 100 years ago but the ugliness of war still persist. Adults of loved ones coming home from war need to read this book because a soldier is not going to tell a civilian the true hell that they lived with and will carry with them forever. Maybe parents, brother/sister, boyfriend/girlfriend, fiances/spouse will realize the pre-soldier doesn't exists any more. The newly released soldier has memories, dreams, frights, and horrors that a civilian can not possibly understand. The post-soldier has many questions about himself as he did as a child, as young teen, as an older teen but society won't give him 15 years to figure it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    One of My All-Time Favorites

    By telling this story in first person, present tense, Remarque achieves a great sense of intimacy. For me it has always been a "quiet" book. The emotions of Paul in the war (and out) seem true and timeless to me (and much better than Crane's The Red Badge of Courage), and the evocation of comradeship is beautiful. It is short and simple, and is one of my top ten all-time favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Eye opening

    It reminded me of Saving Private Ryan. This war story was very intense. I think every person who wants to enlist in the military should read this book. Even though this was about WWI, war is war and the author brings that excellently home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Amazing!

    A must read, such a great classic book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Incredible.

    Incredible.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This is one of the definitive pieces of fiction about war. I als

    This is one of the definitive pieces of fiction about war. I also count this as one of my favorite works of fiction ever. Erich Remarque experienced this war firsthand, and that comes through in the way that he wrote the book. The descriptions of trench warfare include details that only experience would be able to understand. The ending comes abruptly, and none of the characters in the story ever really take root in your mind. I suppose that is the point, the war left
    people and families broken, it dehumanized everyone involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A recent radio piece mentioned "All Quiet on The Western Fr

    A recent radio piece mentioned "All Quiet on The Western Front" during a book review for "The Yellow Birds." I'd not yet read AQOTWF and so ordered both titles. AQOTWF proved one of the most powerful books I've read in my six decades, gripping and poignant beyond words. Having completed AQOTWF, I'm now engrossed in "The Yellow Birds."

    Both authors are combat veterans from the enlisted ranks. From wars six generations apart, they paint notably parallel portraits through soldiers' eyes, both on and away from the battlefield. One could argue that everyone should read both books, and re-read them at any time a nation considers waging war without having first been attacked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All Quiet on the Western Front is not only still cutting edge li

    All Quiet on the Western Front is not only still cutting edge literature but it's also a cutting edge war story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it'

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it's a great depiction of humanity- the "humaneness" of humanity and the "inhumaneness". yes, the beginning of the book is a little slow as you get used to the difference in language (written back in early 1900), but you begin to know the characters in such a deep and real way. war is terrible and it is so much more than gaining freedom... it leaves its mark deeper than any other human experience...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Great War Book

    In the novel, All Queit on the Western Front, Erich Maria Remarque tells an exquisite tale of Muler, a young man who gets drafted into the German army during World War II. He gives detail to all soldiers in Mulers unit, giving all readers the opportunity to relate to characters. Remarque's story surpasses the average war story, going into detail of the soldiers themselves rather a general story of war.

    In the story Muller shows how difficult war life is, speaking of his fears, friendships, generals, rations, and even his life at home. With troubling fears, battlefield conflict, and problems with thier families at home, Muler and his troops show friendship is the only outlet when emotions are at its worst.
    -RashoDash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Breathless, Passionately Written

    This book speaks, really speaks about the things that war is made of and eventually becomes in itself the things that man is made of. The torment of the human soul has rarely ever been documented in a way that is written with the blood of those fallen and forgotten, on the dreams that were dreamt by men who we will never know. The account of this book brings from the lugubrious depths from a century ago the miseries and sufferings of a generation who, as the author Erich Maria Remarque so aptly put, "even though they may have escaped its shells, were destroyed by the war."
    It is rare to approach a book of any sorts and ever expect it to make an impact of such significant poignancy. And with All Quiet on the Western Front it becomes to us as readers and as people witnesses who share with these men their pains and unending, unrequited trials of war's savagery. As a loyal reader to literature who enjoys following tales that takes me through the trenches of war and treads through the haze of gunsmoke, I was entranced at first and soon found myself in awe as I pass through the pages like a witness to the many untold stories of war. And not just World War I, but to all wars who are fought by pitting man against man. To put oneself in the trenchboots of the soldiers who marched through the perdition of their own Country is to read this book. For in between the lines and filling its margins are the sacred, carnal dreams of men who once lived, and the blood too of those dreams long dead. The characters, presented on paper and in print ink, become to us persons of flesh and blood in which we soon feel the pain of their wounds and the agony of their heart's everlasting burdens.
    Hardly ever can we live events in history from the perspective of the people who we, as Americans and as people who could hardly even begin to relate to the German troops of the Great War, let alone our own soldiers, were vowed to destroy. And with this reading it will be but an ease to glide into the skin of the men who saw their own destruction forthcoming with each passing day through the hell they were forced to wade through. Once caught in its account of tragedy and even happiness in the most dismal of hells, it will be an impossibility to ever consider another human being, enemy or not, to be devoid of the heartaches and nightmares that plague the human race as a whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    The Best World War One Story of All Time!

    All Quiet on the Western Front without a doubt an excellent read! The novel is a work of fiction, although the amount of truth to is is undeniable. The author, Erich Maria Remarque, was a World War One veteran himself, and had been wounded multiple times on the front. Remarque wrote All Quiet on the Western Front in order to truly showcase the life of a soldier to the public. The story follows a young German, Paul Baumer, on his life during World War One. After joining the German military with his school friends, Paul and his comrades embark on many journeys. Readers are taken from the rear supply lines all the way up to the front and into no man's land. At one point, Paul gets leave to visit his family and hometown. The writing displays the soldiers' experience of the First World War. The realism of the story is amazing. This is definitely not a tale of war heroes or winners; the monotony, boredom, and sheer terror of the trenches are all displayed for the world to see. Graphic depictions of battles are present, the chaos and nerve-fraying terror are evident. One becomes attached to characters on the German side fo the war, realizing the horror of shelling, lack of supplies, and boredom in the trenches was the same on both sides. The amount of truth to the novel has made it a loved story across the globe. A movie about the book was made in 1930, and another (starring Daniel Radcliffe) is on the way! All Quiet on the Western Front is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Good story, worth reading

    I read All Quiet on the Western Front for my high school history class. This book gave a lot of the history of WWI that I have always wanted to discover. The action might have been a bit more interesting if the battles on the front could have had more over the top charges, machine gun attacks, and even gas attacks. The author went deep with his feelings and he did it very well, but I thought he could have given a little more depth to the spiritual things he was feeling during battle. I would have liked him to say more of what he thought his family was thinking and what he thought was going to happen to him if he died. Even with the lack in spiritual depth, the story is able to draw people into the action. With the combination of WWI action and what some of the German soldiers thought of the war, it gives a very good and detailed idea of what they were fighting for and why. When you look at it, it seems not that different from why we were in the war.

    While the others thought they were doing nothing but serving their country when they volunteered to fight, Paul thought that the war affected the younger soldiers drastically. Maybe they didn't need to fight at all because the political leaders got them into this war that the civilians didn't want the conflict. The government only cared for their own greedy actions that would get them more power in the world, which only helped spark the war. Erich Maria Remarque created a historical novel that tells the story of what the war did to those who had so much to look forward to in life, and how the war shattered many of those hopes. People who are interested in the history of WWI would find this book very insightful. Those who are looking at their future can see what Remarque decided to do with his young life, and how he chose to tell about his experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Really Good!

    In my opinion this book was very good! I liked this book because it really opened my eyes to what people's lives were like. When reading it I learned some things that I never thought about when talking about this war. At first I thought that I would not like it but then once I started to really understand it I really liked it.
    The thing that really stood out to me in this book was how much the men in this group cared for each other and were all around friends. They were helping each other find food and they would share the food they did get with each other. They may get upset when one of their friends die, and when Paul goes through something new and upsetting they tell him that it will be fine and what he felt was alright. I think that this book lacked a lot of fighting. There were a few good fighting scenes in it and one that did stand out, but there was definitely not as many as I expected. I think that they could be hard to follow at times, but it would have still been good to have some more in there. If there was more it would feel even more like war, but if that was the only ones that were really there then it was just fine! Over all it was still a really good book. It had a slow start but, once you get into the book it starts making more sense and really making you understand it. When they started talking about finding food and what it was like to fight is when I got even more interested.
    I would recommend this book, but not to everyone. I think that this would be a good book for high school students and adults. This is because it is hard to understand and follow at times but if you took some time to understand it, it would be fine. I believe it may be too confusing for some people younger than that. This book is also not one to rush to finish and read it if you want to truly want to understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11