Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed in this copy

Very upset. Bought this copy for 2.99 and was excited to pay such a good price until I doscovered it only has the first 135 pages! What a ripoff. Wish I could get a refund...

posted by 5557482 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Jacked up

    I tried to get the ebook version but it only has 135 pages when its supposed to b 300 barnes amd nkbel is f'ing skrewed up!!!! Whydidnt i get a kindle????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it'

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it's a great depiction of humanity- the "humaneness" of humanity and the "inhumaneness". yes, the beginning of the book is a little slow as you get used to the difference in language (written back in early 1900), but you begin to know the characters in such a deep and real way. war is terrible and it is so much more than gaining freedom... it leaves its mark deeper than any other human experience...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Highly recommended - war IS hell.

    Though this is a short book, the content is powerful and thought provoking. Every world leader should be required to read this along with all officers of militaries throughout the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Excellent Story of War and What it Does to Man

    Every wanna-be leader needs to read this before they take office. The story of one mans thoughts, and I would think possibly every person that has served on the front line of war, as he and his comrads live and die fighting during WW1. Much more of a psychological excercise than a blow by blow descriptiin of battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Omg

    I love this book n im only a 13 year old girl

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Only 135 pages on Nook version!

    I too also bought this cope of All Quiet on the Western Front for the nook, and there are only 135 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A story you'll want to read over and over again

    It says on a paperback version of this book, "the greatest war story ever told," because it is the best war story ever told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great

    I enjoyed this a lot . A war story told from the other side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    What to expect! What to expect What to expect?

    I am a little bit into this book so far. I heard that it has whore houses and prostitution. What do i expect? Is it bad? Please let me know.............

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    An all time favorite

    Solid and thought provoking with some of the best dialog ever written by a novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Great War Book

    In the novel, All Queit on the Western Front, Erich Maria Remarque tells an exquisite tale of Muler, a young man who gets drafted into the German army during World War II. He gives detail to all soldiers in Mulers unit, giving all readers the opportunity to relate to characters. Remarque's story surpasses the average war story, going into detail of the soldiers themselves rather a general story of war.

    In the story Muller shows how difficult war life is, speaking of his fears, friendships, generals, rations, and even his life at home. With troubling fears, battlefield conflict, and problems with thier families at home, Muler and his troops show friendship is the only outlet when emotions are at its worst.
    -RashoDash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Love it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Very boring. I hated it! Just wanted it end.

    I had to read this book for school and I couldn't wait for it to end! It was very boring, hard to understand what Paul was trying to say, not very engaing. I thought this book would take me 4 days to read but ended up taking 2 weeks to finish. Even for me, a fast reader, this book was hard to read. I had to force myself to keep reading. very dry, hated it. :(

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Should be required for everybody

    I love how you guys got the ebook right after I finished reading it from the library - since there wasn't an ebook! Story of my life..... Anyway, here's the review:

    This book needs to be required reading for anybody who thinks war is glorious. War is a horrible thing, and nearly every sentence in this book goes a long way towards imbedding that reality deeply into the consciousness of the reader. It's not hard to lose track of which war they're fighting, or which side they're fighting on - this book could have been written from the perspective of any soldier in any war, from any country, from any time period. I have not watched either of the films yet, but intend to do so as soon as possible. Please, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Excellent!

    This novel is perfect in all regards. I have to read it for eighth grade english over the summer, and i have to write an essay. It crafts a vibrant picture about the life of soldiers during WW1, and the destructive result of war for the "youth" generation fighting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Breathless, Passionately Written

    This book speaks, really speaks about the things that war is made of and eventually becomes in itself the things that man is made of. The torment of the human soul has rarely ever been documented in a way that is written with the blood of those fallen and forgotten, on the dreams that were dreamt by men who we will never know. The account of this book brings from the lugubrious depths from a century ago the miseries and sufferings of a generation who, as the author Erich Maria Remarque so aptly put, "even though they may have escaped its shells, were destroyed by the war."
    It is rare to approach a book of any sorts and ever expect it to make an impact of such significant poignancy. And with All Quiet on the Western Front it becomes to us as readers and as people witnesses who share with these men their pains and unending, unrequited trials of war's savagery. As a loyal reader to literature who enjoys following tales that takes me through the trenches of war and treads through the haze of gunsmoke, I was entranced at first and soon found myself in awe as I pass through the pages like a witness to the many untold stories of war. And not just World War I, but to all wars who are fought by pitting man against man. To put oneself in the trenchboots of the soldiers who marched through the perdition of their own Country is to read this book. For in between the lines and filling its margins are the sacred, carnal dreams of men who once lived, and the blood too of those dreams long dead. The characters, presented on paper and in print ink, become to us persons of flesh and blood in which we soon feel the pain of their wounds and the agony of their heart's everlasting burdens.
    Hardly ever can we live events in history from the perspective of the people who we, as Americans and as people who could hardly even begin to relate to the German troops of the Great War, let alone our own soldiers, were vowed to destroy. And with this reading it will be but an ease to glide into the skin of the men who saw their own destruction forthcoming with each passing day through the hell they were forced to wade through. Once caught in its account of tragedy and even happiness in the most dismal of hells, it will be an impossibility to ever consider another human being, enemy or not, to be devoid of the heartaches and nightmares that plague the human race as a whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    The Best World War One Story of All Time!

    All Quiet on the Western Front without a doubt an excellent read! The novel is a work of fiction, although the amount of truth to is is undeniable. The author, Erich Maria Remarque, was a World War One veteran himself, and had been wounded multiple times on the front. Remarque wrote All Quiet on the Western Front in order to truly showcase the life of a soldier to the public. The story follows a young German, Paul Baumer, on his life during World War One. After joining the German military with his school friends, Paul and his comrades embark on many journeys. Readers are taken from the rear supply lines all the way up to the front and into no man's land. At one point, Paul gets leave to visit his family and hometown. The writing displays the soldiers' experience of the First World War. The realism of the story is amazing. This is definitely not a tale of war heroes or winners; the monotony, boredom, and sheer terror of the trenches are all displayed for the world to see. Graphic depictions of battles are present, the chaos and nerve-fraying terror are evident. One becomes attached to characters on the German side fo the war, realizing the horror of shelling, lack of supplies, and boredom in the trenches was the same on both sides. The amount of truth to the novel has made it a loved story across the globe. A movie about the book was made in 1930, and another (starring Daniel Radcliffe) is on the way! All Quiet on the Western Front is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Good story, worth reading

    I read All Quiet on the Western Front for my high school history class. This book gave a lot of the history of WWI that I have always wanted to discover. The action might have been a bit more interesting if the battles on the front could have had more over the top charges, machine gun attacks, and even gas attacks. The author went deep with his feelings and he did it very well, but I thought he could have given a little more depth to the spiritual things he was feeling during battle. I would have liked him to say more of what he thought his family was thinking and what he thought was going to happen to him if he died. Even with the lack in spiritual depth, the story is able to draw people into the action. With the combination of WWI action and what some of the German soldiers thought of the war, it gives a very good and detailed idea of what they were fighting for and why. When you look at it, it seems not that different from why we were in the war.

    While the others thought they were doing nothing but serving their country when they volunteered to fight, Paul thought that the war affected the younger soldiers drastically. Maybe they didn't need to fight at all because the political leaders got them into this war that the civilians didn't want the conflict. The government only cared for their own greedy actions that would get them more power in the world, which only helped spark the war. Erich Maria Remarque created a historical novel that tells the story of what the war did to those who had so much to look forward to in life, and how the war shattered many of those hopes. People who are interested in the history of WWI would find this book very insightful. Those who are looking at their future can see what Remarque decided to do with his young life, and how he chose to tell about his experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Really Good!

    In my opinion this book was very good! I liked this book because it really opened my eyes to what people's lives were like. When reading it I learned some things that I never thought about when talking about this war. At first I thought that I would not like it but then once I started to really understand it I really liked it.
    The thing that really stood out to me in this book was how much the men in this group cared for each other and were all around friends. They were helping each other find food and they would share the food they did get with each other. They may get upset when one of their friends die, and when Paul goes through something new and upsetting they tell him that it will be fine and what he felt was alright. I think that this book lacked a lot of fighting. There were a few good fighting scenes in it and one that did stand out, but there was definitely not as many as I expected. I think that they could be hard to follow at times, but it would have still been good to have some more in there. If there was more it would feel even more like war, but if that was the only ones that were really there then it was just fine! Over all it was still a really good book. It had a slow start but, once you get into the book it starts making more sense and really making you understand it. When they started talking about finding food and what it was like to fight is when I got even more interested.
    I would recommend this book, but not to everyone. I think that this would be a good book for high school students and adults. This is because it is hard to understand and follow at times but if you took some time to understand it, it would be fine. I believe it may be too confusing for some people younger than that. This book is also not one to rush to finish and read it if you want to truly want to understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Great if you love military stories!

    All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque is a great book. I choose this book for a couple of reasons. First, as I roamed around Barnes and Noble looking at the book selection list from school, I liked the length of this book. It would not take long to complete. Second, I have always been interested in the military and have enjoyed war books and movies in the past. I knew that I would want to pick a book from the war list. My teacher had this book in italics showing he recommended it. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed.

    What I liked most in this book were the combat scenes. It seemed like every other chapter had the unit fighting. This book opened my eyes to the harsh reality of war. It makes me wonder if I could be capable of fighting. For example, I found it amazing how difficult food was to obtain, and how large rats and lice were everywhere. It would be hard to rest or forget about the war when you can hear the fighting constantly in the background. One situation that really bothered me was in the beginning of the book. Paul Baumer and his unit had just returned from fighting on the front line. His unit had been reduced from 150 soldiers to eighty, but the camp cook had prepared food for 150. The cook did not want to give the eighty of them all of the food, so there was a fight about giving them all of the food or not. I found this disturbing and unbelievably petty since they had just lost 70 friends. It made me realize that in war, your basic needs are more important than your emotions.

    I also liked the way the author made the book flow. The story was being told by a soldier and explained what he was going through and thinking. The way the soldier explained the terrible things that he experienced was clever. I did not realize that the book had an anti-war theme until the end. By the end of the book, the reader realizes that there is not much good in war. It is not all glory like the school master, Kantorak, expressed in the beginning of the book. I felt like this was a book that made you come to the realization on your own. Even when Paul, the soldier, went back home on leave, he soon realized that he no longer was comfortable back there because of his feelings. He found it best to keep them inside himself. There would be less trouble that way.

    I would definitely recommend this book. I think that anyone interested in the

    military would find it insightful to a soldier's life. It is graphically accurate. The language is not too hard to understand even though this book was originally written in German and later translated into English. I learned some new words, for example, latrine. Once I realized that meant going to the restroom, I found it incredulous that the soldiers actually did it in front of each other while they smoked and played cards. Facts like this made the book interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14