Customer Reviews for

All Quiet on the Western Front

Average Rating 4
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the greatest classic stories

I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the sto...
I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

posted by kyuen1 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed in this copy

Very upset. Bought this copy for 2.99 and was excited to pay such a good price until I doscovered it only has the first 135 pages! What a ripoff. Wish I could get a refund...

posted by 5557482 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the greatest classic stories

    I first found this book in the library and didn't think much of it: a small, worn thing, bound in battered blue leather. Nothing but the faded gilt words of the title on the front. I vaguely remembered that there was a movie made about it, but I had no idea what the story was about. Little did I know, it turned out to be a deeply moving coming-of-age story, on par with The Catcher in the Rye and The Wars. It's the story of a twenty-year-old soldier, not much more than a boy, who struggles between his duty as a soldier and his own value for life, regardless of which side of the trenches it comes from. The novel is quietly poignant and at times devastating, with moments of beauty and horror that could only have been told by someone as an actual witness of that war. A true classic.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most interesting war novels I have read so far!

    I'm a sophomore in high school, and this was one of our required readings, and I just have to say that this book is amazing! It has various types of literary devices flowing through its pages, and the plot keeps you entangled within its words. It brings out every feeling in you and is a very good choice for a required reading, (if you're a teacher). Recommended to all, but more particularly, people that would like to experience the reality of war, the effects of war, and a fight between the myth of war and the real thing as the truth is revealed during your reading. Enjoy! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    In my opinion All Quiet on the Western Front is a great book. It

    In my opinion All Quiet on the Western Front is a great book. It is one of the most popular war novels and I agree with people who say it's good. I am not a huge fan of reading unless it is an interesting book, and I can say this definitely is. This book kept me reading and I had a lot of fun with it. However, some people might find this book too violent.
    It is hard for me to get into a book unless it starts off interesting. This book did and I loved it from the start. I found myself not able to put it down at times. Erich Maria Remarque does a great job of painting a picture of the action-packed fighting scenes. He also takes us inside the minds of the soldiers and the reader can really understand how the characters feel.
    Another good thing about this book is it's realistic. It's not your average war story where one man is the hero and everything is easy. The main characters face many struggles. Seeing how they overcome these struggles makes this book fun to read. There also many themes in this book. The author focuses on the horror of war, and the effects it has on everybody's lives. I think this book is fun and there are important lessons to be learned from it.
    Some people might find this book too violent or graphic. In the fighting scenes, the author goes into great detail. He describes everything from the sights and sounds to the blood and gore. Some readers may not be big fans of this. For example, when the soldiers are camped out waiting for an enemy attack, the author describes the horrible conditions and talks about the sound and smell of dying men.
    In conclusion, I think this book is great. There are many different aspects that make this book enjoyable for a large audience. Some people may be turned off by the violence but other than that, they may find this book suitable. I definitely recommend it to anybody who wants a quick fun read, with important lessons to learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Great book, and Im only in high school

    This book is a very acrate interpretation of thr First World War from the German perspective. I recomend it to any one that is interested in WW1 history. If you liked fields of fire you will like this one too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend- It is unpleasant but tells of soldiers lives and deaths

    This book is very powerful. We all know WW I was fought over 100 years ago but the ugliness of war still persist. Adults of loved ones coming home from war need to read this book because a soldier is not going to tell a civilian the true hell that they lived with and will carry with them forever. Maybe parents, brother/sister, boyfriend/girlfriend, fiances/spouse will realize the pre-soldier doesn't exists any more. The newly released soldier has memories, dreams, frights, and horrors that a civilian can not possibly understand. The post-soldier has many questions about himself as he did as a child, as young teen, as an older teen but society won't give him 15 years to figure it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Epic!

    The single best war novel ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wonderful

    Im 14 years old, and even i thought this was awesome.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    SHERIFFS OFFICE AND JAIL

    Sheriff andrew karow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Hey sheriff

    Kill Rolv ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Amazing!

    A must read, such a great classic book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Incredible.

    Incredible.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This is one of the definitive pieces of fiction about war. I als

    This is one of the definitive pieces of fiction about war. I also count this as one of my favorite works of fiction ever. Erich Remarque experienced this war firsthand, and that comes through in the way that he wrote the book. The descriptions of trench warfare include details that only experience would be able to understand. The ending comes abruptly, and none of the characters in the story ever really take root in your mind. I suppose that is the point, the war left
    people and families broken, it dehumanized everyone involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A recent radio piece mentioned "All Quiet on The Western Fr

    A recent radio piece mentioned "All Quiet on The Western Front" during a book review for "The Yellow Birds." I'd not yet read AQOTWF and so ordered both titles. AQOTWF proved one of the most powerful books I've read in my six decades, gripping and poignant beyond words. Having completed AQOTWF, I'm now engrossed in "The Yellow Birds."

    Both authors are combat veterans from the enlisted ranks. From wars six generations apart, they paint notably parallel portraits through soldiers' eyes, both on and away from the battlefield. One could argue that everyone should read both books, and re-read them at any time a nation considers waging war without having first been attacked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All Quiet on the Western Front is not only still cutting edge li

    All Quiet on the Western Front is not only still cutting edge literature but it's also a cutting edge war story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it'

    really enjoyed this one... this book is worth reading twice. it's a great depiction of humanity- the "humaneness" of humanity and the "inhumaneness". yes, the beginning of the book is a little slow as you get used to the difference in language (written back in early 1900), but you begin to know the characters in such a deep and real way. war is terrible and it is so much more than gaining freedom... it leaves its mark deeper than any other human experience...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Highly recommended - war IS hell.

    Though this is a short book, the content is powerful and thought provoking. Every world leader should be required to read this along with all officers of militaries throughout the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Excellent Story of War and What it Does to Man

    Every wanna-be leader needs to read this before they take office. The story of one mans thoughts, and I would think possibly every person that has served on the front line of war, as he and his comrads live and die fighting during WW1. Much more of a psychological excercise than a blow by blow descriptiin of battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Omg

    I love this book n im only a 13 year old girl

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A story you'll want to read over and over again

    It says on a paperback version of this book, "the greatest war story ever told," because it is the best war story ever told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great

    I enjoyed this a lot . A war story told from the other side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8