Customer Reviews for

All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year-long Journey with Jane

Average Rating 3.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A happy discovery

A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countri...
A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countries are varied and interesting. It's also a good look at the different cutures and ideals which are of inportance to these people as highlighted in her book clubs in each country. Ms. Smith's travelogue is full of surprises. well worth your time and money. I will read it again and again.

posted by GerreK on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Hate this shit!!!

It dosent let me buy books!!!!! I had the nook for only 3 months i but two books just fine and now i wanted to get this free nook book and dosent let and its been like this like for a whole month!!!!

posted by Jessynicol on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    A happy discovery

    A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countries are varied and interesting. It's also a good look at the different cutures and ideals which are of inportance to these people as highlighted in her book clubs in each country. Ms. Smith's travelogue is full of surprises. well worth your time and money. I will read it again and again.

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    A Must Read for any Austen Fan

    This book is really entertaining and interesting. I loved the way the author shared personal stories of her adventures in Central and South America while also incorporating the reactions of the different book clubs to Austen. A must read for anyone really.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Austen travels well across cultures

    The Austen fan and budding interculturalist in me truly enjoyed this travel journal of Latin America. I'll refer back to this work often.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Nice journey

    A nice weaving of Austen and South American culture.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I had no problem eith getting iy for free

    Though I haven't rrad this yet but it has good editorial reviews so I am willing to try it. At least we are offered the opportunity to try new books of different genres. This is not the forum for complaints about what books. That should go to thd marketing depargment. Free is a privalage

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I loved how Jane Austen's real life and books was interweaved with Amy's experiences and thoughts.

    I learned a lot about the different Spanish-speaking cultures, along with the varous readers' views on feminism. The book also "brougjt home" that there is more than one way to interpret a story. And, of couse, I was compltely surprised by the was the book ended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I found Amy's travel adventures most realistic and honest. I ap

    I found Amy's travel adventures most realistic and honest. I appreciate the varied cultural and socioeconomic responses to her queries. Absolutely fascinating. The author somehow managed to make this an entertaining weekend escape! Well done, Dr. Smith! Well done!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    An enjoyable read. I started it, thinking I would not like it, b

    An enjoyable read. I started it, thinking I would not like it, but was delightfully surprised. The author travels all over Central and South America, forming Jane Austen reading groups. It was fascinating to have various cultural insights on Austen's work as well as learning about the places Smith visited. She has a talent for conveying her acquaintances' personalities and for including her own humorous cultural missteps.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was an interesting book, lots of varied characters, one of which she ended up marrying. I envied this author, having the means and time to travel and live in so many different places. I didn't really get the gist of the Jane Austin novels and the reading groups. Was that the only reason for all that traveling and what was her need to know about how people reacted to the novels. It seems

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great book!

    This is an amzing book and I think it is appropriate for all ages. I am twelve years old and I loved it. The only issue was that there WERE a few curse words but not very many.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was a Free Friday Nook book. They need to have more of these books on Free Friday ! Purchased it not knowing it was a non-fiction. I prefer them actually to fiction. One of the best "Austen" books I have read. Well written and I could not put it down. Funny and enlightening at the same time. Worth your time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Interesting

    I'm not a fan of Austen, but found this book lover's journey enjoyable. What a dream to travel and discuss books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    a good book for Austen lovers

    While it took me a long time to read this book I was impressed with how the writer detailed her travels to the various places. I have only read 1 Jane Austen book but this book has encouraged me to go back and read Austen's others book. I definately think you have to have read at least one of Austens books to know what /who the author is referring to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    not what i thought

    the book was not what i thought it would be. there were a lot of slow and boring parts. the best part was the last chapter and the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Interesting on many levels ...

    I really enjoyed Amy Smith's "year-long journey" in South America! Before reading this I read Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, and Emma, which are the same books discussed in her book groups. I think it helped to be familiar with Austen's stories.

    Amy Smith discussed the cultures and the recent (last 50-100 years) political histories of each of the six countries she visited. I enjoyed the character descriptions of the various members of the book club, along with their interactions in the book group discussions, relating their lives and attitudes to those described by Austen.

    Not only was I entertained by her experiences, I found I learned quite a bit about the cultural and linguistic differences between the six countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    When I got this book, I thought it was fiction. Imagine my surpr

    When I got this book, I thought it was fiction. Imagine my surprise when I learned that it was a true account of her journey to learn other thoughts of Jane Austen's books from a different culture. I really enjoyed this book and loved the history of the countries that she visited. It has made me want to go back and re-read some of Jane's books plus some of the newer takes on these stories. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Liked

    Enjoyed the perspective of different countries. And the tease till the end of who she ended up with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Not sure

    Should read Jane Austen first. I did not and this made a good book slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Yes, Jane.

    Great journey with Jane. If you liked "Julie and Julia" you will love this one I think. After reading this, I want to know more about Jane. I want to reread her books. People are people. We and they are all part of the same family in this human race. I was able to travel South America while never leaving my small town. Now, maybe I will...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great read

    I was not an Austin reader prior to this book. However, it turned me into an Austen lover.

    The author did a great job capturing the beauty of Latin American Culture and it's people. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8