Customer Reviews for

All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year-long Journey with Jane

Average Rating 3.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A happy discovery

A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countri...
A thorougly enjoyable trip exporing Latin America along with a Jane Austen enthusiast. Her aim was to find if those in Latin America would relate to Jane Austen's characters with as much involvement as her California students. The people she meets in the various countries are varied and interesting. It's also a good look at the different cutures and ideals which are of inportance to these people as highlighted in her book clubs in each country. Ms. Smith's travelogue is full of surprises. well worth your time and money. I will read it again and again.

posted by GerreK on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Hate this shit!!!

It dosent let me buy books!!!!! I had the nook for only 3 months i but two books just fine and now i wanted to get this free nook book and dosent let and its been like this like for a whole month!!!!

posted by Jessynicol on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    not what i thought

    the book was not what i thought it would be. there were a lot of slow and boring parts. the best part was the last chapter and the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Not sure

    Should read Jane Austen first. I did not and this made a good book slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Well written

    I did not care for this book. Sorry, but it bored me. I tried three times to read it and could not get interested in it. The editing was very good, the author obviously did her research well and has a firm grasp of punctuation, grammer, spelling and writing rules. This was very nice. I give three stars for this alone.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Fun

    This was a fun book detailing the travels of the author. She had some interesting insights about Latin America and Jane Austen. I would mainly recommend this for people who are familiar with Austen's books, or at least are interested in learning about her books. There are no plot summaries for the three books she discusses in her book groups. The tone is very light hearted; not serious at all. A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Adventure with Jane

    This book took me to new places with an old friend: Jane Austen. I loved this book. It was warm and friendly and inspired me to read some of the books she speaks about and travel to some of the places she went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book, learned some things about Jane Austin I did not know. It was alittle slow at times. But overall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A very interesting sociological study.

    Enjoyable but felt like a text book at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Not sure you'll like it? Try it anyway!

    You don't have to be an expert on Jane Austen to enjoy this book. It does help if you at least have seen the movie of Pride and Prejudice, but not essential.
    I was on a trip myself when I began the book, wasn't sure I'd like it, but it was a Free Friday selection so what did I have to lose?
    I might not have kept reading very far, except the author tells us she becomes engaged and doesn't tell you to whom, so I kept reading to see who she chose. I wasn't as involved in the Austen dissecting as the author would have liked, but I enjoyed the travel stories and learning a bit of the 6 Latin American countries cultures. If you are an Austen fan, I'm sure you'll like it even more. Because of this book I'm going to read a couple more Austen books she recommends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    An Interesting Journey

    This is the journey of a professor whose specialty is Jane Austen. Her travels to discuss the book take her through cities in Mexico, Central and South America. It is an interesting story and provides incite not only into the Austen stories, but into the people who read and enjoy them. I think I may return to Jane Austen myself, just to see if I love/hate the characters in the same way as those people in the book groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    If you like Jane Austen, you will like this book.

    The idea of the book is unusual...traveling into Mexico and South America to meet with a group of people from selected cities to discuss an Austen book. I am still reading (about three-fourths the way through) but it is very interesting since I know all of Austen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Intriguing concept

    I have never read Jane Austen before, but thought that the author's concept was very intriguing, so I read it and it was wonderful. Perhaps now I'll read some Austen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Nice Journey Through South America With Jane Austen

    I found this charming and well-written and very entertaining, as I was doing some traveling while I was reading it. Didn't find my Prince Charming, as this author did, but still, the book enhanced my own journey. A little too like another more famous travel book, but enough interesting themes to keep my attention. Loved the Jane Austen theme most of all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Good But Not My Style

    I am not that interested in Jane Austen, or in S. America, but I love to read and languages intrigue me. It was somewhat boring in parts, but she writes well and had some good insights. It was too personal to keep me engaged. I did learn; but I'm still glad it was free. I disagree with a lot of her judgements and philosophy but if Spanish peoples fascinate you, or you like travel books, go for it. Me, I'd prefer a good novel (yes, maybe Northanger Abbey).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2